The Gardens That Dominate The Sea

in Pinmapple4 years ago

The sea is a passion. At least for me and my family plus some good friends. Because friends need to be similar and share common passions. Of course, it is not mandatory but it is desirable!

Well, what's next is about the sea but it has nothing to do with friends.

When I first visited this place, more than ten years ago, I was surprised to see a Botanical Garden near the sea. It seemed to me that it was not a possible association. Sea, salt water and sand ... I didn't think there was too much room for trees, plants and flowers.

The Botanical Garden of Balchik, Bulgaria changed my impression. The surprise was total and very pleasant.

IMG_7665.png

This blog is part of a series dedicated to the Baltic city of Bulgaria. Black Sea resort. Travel impressions and historical information have a chronology and order. For those who want to know more, these are the posts...

Why I'm sorry I'll die in the next ten years ... Anytime!

Balchik Castle - The Lonely Nest

A Three-Day Vacation

The fourth part is dedicated to parts of the gardens of the Palace of Queen Maria of Romania and of the Botanical Garden.

The Botanical Garden was also arranged at the request of Queen Maria, as soon as the construction of the Balchik Palace was completed. The gardener of Tsar Nikolai II, the Swiss Jules Janine, made sure that this garden was in accordance with the wish of a crowned head ... and he succeeded! The garden covers an area of over 16 hectares and consists of several terraces (actually 6 terraces, one for each child of the queen) which descend to the sea.

Initially I wanted to make a presentation as a walk through these gardens but in the end I chose to show, at random, parts that I liked more ...

IMG_7796.png

After finishing the visit to the Castle of Queen Maria I left, at random, on the alleys of the garden.

I wanted to see the Queen's marble chair. One of the guides of our previous visits said that this marble armchair is brought from Italy and that it dates from the time of the Roman Empire.

IMG_20200819_092302 3.png

Now it has become an attraction for tourists, almost everyone wants to take pictures sitting on this armchair.

IMG_20200819_095319 11 11.png

As in any place where many tourists gather daily and in these gardens there are small souvenir shops and local art. My eye was immediately drawn to the very nice lady who took care of those objects.

IMG_20200819_095327 1.png

I could hardly look at the goods but I had to look for something for our house, a small painting or a bas-relief made of ceramic.

IMG_20200819_095444.png

IMG_20200819_095528.png

I almost forgot that I have to focus on the garden and flowers. But I have to remember that this botanical garden is by the sea and beyond all the attractions, the biggest is the sea. The sea seen from the height of the garden! Yes, in the foreground the gardens and then the sea. Now I understand why our Queen loved this place!

IMG_7678.png

The gardens I'm talking about now are on the highest plateau.

IMG_7612.png

It is the plateau where the famous cactus garden is located. It must be the highest plateau because it must be the warmest and most arid. So that these cacti that are not specific to the Baltic climate can survive the winter outside.

IMG_7622.png

IMG_7634.png

img_7637.png

These were indoor cacti, greenhouse cacti. The real attraction and I saw that all visitors were looking for this, the cacti in the garden. Cacti that grow in tropical and desert climates. They were well cared for and acclimatized.

img_7642.png

img_7643.png

img_7650.png

img_7654.png

I'm not a fan of cacti. I'm not particularly attracted but I noticed that others appreciate them. I like cypresses much more. First of all because they are Mediterranean trees. Then because they have a very sad legend and because they are planted especially in cemeteries.

Next to the cacti are planted cypresses, my favorites. They are very photogenic.

img_7657.png

img_7656.png

img_7665_1_.png

As you well know, the most admired and sought after women are those who do not let too much of them be seen. It must always remain a part of the mystery.

Even with these gardens, I have shown a very small part here, in the hope that future blogs will remain attractive and will arouse your interest.

Even if I tried to focus as much as possible on the botanical side and the beauty of the gardens, I can't forget the sea. In fact, this is the great passion.

img_7680.png

img_7615.png

Balchik, a small town that cannot be described in dozens of posts. Fortunately! It leaves me with the pleasure of memory. I leave the pleasure of new blogs to show that it is a place worth visiting. Of course by those who live nearby. Those from abroad may be satisfied with what they see here.

img_7536_1_.png

A flower at the end together with my thanks to those who had the patience and curiosity to get here.

Decorative_borders_4490 1.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #959.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I like very much! You can see this here #HiveCommunities - Communities Discovery Initiative - My three.
Thank you because you chose me again for a mention.

This is a great post @bluemoon, I especially like the one image:
image.png
Is she even wearing any panties? ha ha ha

Upvoted and reblogged my friend

Maybe the short dress is a sales tactic. Men everywhere "hmmm suddenly I feel compelled to buy a hat" Lol

🤣 🤓 😜

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing pictures friend, thanks for sharing with us

With pleasure!

Great post. The cactus garden is really neat. I don't see many of those where I'm at.

Thank you! I'm glad I managed to bring the cactus garden close to you.