My RE&E Journey in Auz & Te Waipounamu: Day 24, Glow Worms and Pancakes

in Pinmapple6 months ago

There was far more to see in the Hokitika area than time allowed, but I did manage to work in a couple of spots before beginning my drive to Christchurch.

IMG_4990.jpeg

The first is Pancake Rocks, an area of coastal formations north of town. The drive there is hearalded and one of the most scenic roads in New Zealand, and it didn't disappoint. It's a microcosm of features the country is known for, with many points along the way to wander and picnic.

IMG_4985.jpeg

The rocks and formations themselves are a curiosity. They were formed million of years ago from minute fragments of dead marine creatures and plants landed below the seabed surface. Immense water pressure and gradually seismic action lifted the limestone above the seabed, and acidic rain, wind and seawater sculpted the bizarre shapes.

I see them more as crepes than pancakes, but crepe rocks just doesn't have the same pop to it. The pathways at Punakaiki are perfect for all age levels and abilities.

IMG_5031.jpeg

The drive back at sunset didn't disappoint. I feel like every day in New Zealand is filled with inspiration, searing memories of adventure and discovery into my memory. I'll certainly never forget this amazing country and the people along the way.

IMG_5082.jpeg

Before tucking in for the night, I walked across the road to visit Glowworm Dell. The worms are bioluminescent insects that lure their prey in with their eerie glow. I'd seen them in a north island cave during a previous visit, but here they were along a darkened path. Flash was not an option during my nighttime visit, but I hope you can appreciate the Milky Way-like splash of twinkle I saw in the shrubs. I did as I dreamt of more worlds and peoples to venture into.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

These pics are a precious pearl. Thank you so much. I'm from Italy, but I grew up with my grandfather telling me wonderful things about Oceania, after living 21 years in Australia and New Zealand.
I'll definitely need to recover all the episodes of your adventure.
Hugs from Italy! ✌️

Alessandro

Very kind of you. Yes, it's fun to come across parts of the world that trigger good memories.

Posted via D.Buzz

Congratulations @bobbyb58! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2064.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I also believe that the rock formations there were from dead marine creatures and plants and sculpted with these extraordinary shapes. What a great rock formation I am really curious about this place. How I wish I could visit here one day. Have a nice time!