Presque Isle Park: Marquette, MI

in Pinmapple10 months ago

IMG20230712124239.jpg


Just North West of the town of Marquette, MI is a small peninsula called Presque Isle. This was actually our second attempt to access this peninsula and thankfully, this time we were successful.

The first time we were up this way they had the road closed off so we just had to look at the fantastic sights longingly from a distance.

If you want some more information on the park itself, you can see it here. We had just made a trip to a local sculpture park (I'll post about that later), and we decided to drive out to Presque Isle to check out the view.

20230712_122516.jpg


As we were making the drive from the sculpture park back to Marquette, we noticed this freighter sitting out Lake Superior. It was actually a good sign for us because we were lucky enough to see a freighter being filled at the ore dock.

20230712_122557.jpg


If you look really closely, you can see the ore dock just beyond the clump of bushes in this photo. Just beyond the ore dock is Presque Isle. This photo was taken approaching the park from the East after travelling through the heart of downtown Marquette.

20230712_123002.jpg


As far as I know, this is one of the oldest ore docks in the state of Michigan that is still operating. You can see it looming large in the background of this photo. There is another one down near downtown Marquette that is no longer in operation.

20230712_125243.jpg


@mrsbozz was good enough to grab these shots for me. This was another freighter that was sitting at the ore dock. The freighter from the earlier photo was sitting out at the mouth of the bay waiting for it's turn to come and get filled up.

As you can see, the freighter is almost as long the entire ore dock.

20230712_125426.jpg


In this photo, you cans one of the chutes being lowered from the front of the ore dock (about seven in from the right). The ore is then dumped down the chute into the freighter.

Despite the natural wonder of Presque Isle park, you could sit for hours and appreciate the man made views that this area provides. I have a feeling many people just come here to watch the freighters come and go.

IMG20230712123736.jpg


Moving along, we took the slow drive around the perimeter of the Presque Isle peninsula. There are a couple major points of interest during the drive. They also have spots at various locations where you can pull your car aside and park so you can enjoy the nature of the area.

If I had to do it again I would probably take my bike and ride my bike around Presque Isle so I could stop anytime I wanted and walk into the woods and then back out again quickly.

IMG20230712123748.jpg


This area is called sunset point and it offers some beautiful views when the sun is setting. I've actually seen several people get married in this area and have special occasion pictures taken here.

IMG20230712124210.jpg


Just a little south east of Sunset Point is another area called Black Rocks. This area is probably the most famous part of Presque Isle. On a hot day in the summer, you will see people all over the rocks in the photos above.

The climb the rocks and then jump into Lake Superior before moving back onto shore and doing it all over again.

IMG20230712124223.jpg


Here is another view.

IMG20230712124333.jpg


I think what impresses me the most about this area is just how clear the water is. You can kind of see what I am talking about in the photo above. It is just stunning and the different colored rocks make it amazing. I could sit and look at this water all day.

IMG20230712124345.jpg


Before we left Presque Isle, we stopped back at the parking area and we walked out on the break wall that protects the bay from the fury that is Lake Superior. I am going to share the remainder of my photos from that.

IMG20230712130424.jpg

IMG20230712130429.jpg


This whole area is just stunning. I think that is pretty clear from the photos, but you honestly have to see it to believe it. It's just amazing. Out at the tip of the break wall is a light house but after a certain point, the path out to it is a bit treacherous. You have to jump across large rocks to get to it. We decided to take the soft route and turn back after walking down the easy part.

We did have a couple of kids with us after all.

I've still got a few more posts to share with you from Marquette. I'm looking forward to sharing them with you. I hope you end up loving this area as much as I do.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Sort:  

Looks interesting, definitely different from Presque Island, PA. I generally stop there on my way to Chicago and go running. You should check out the other Presque Island Maine as well.

It's possible I have been close to the one in Maine. We took a trip out that way when I was a kid. There are actually a few locations in Michigan that carry some connection to the presque isle name.

These photographs are absolutely breathtaking! I am sure that your captured the warmth and beauty of the town is just amazing. And that water! Wow! It's so clear that I can practically see the stones beneath the surface. Marquette seems like such a natural and unique place to visit.

Thanks for sharing this great environment with us.

Thanks for the great words! Yes, the water was absolutely pristine! It's amazing how beautiful this part of the world is!

I really liked the photos, and Im very happy that the government didn't privatize the little place there and turn it into a paid beach, water looks so clear :)

For sure! It's. Not even a state park, so you can access it no matter what!

Demasiado hermoso sin palabras.

Stunning place!😍

Those are some great pictures, and you're right that water is remarkably clear. A beautiful place, I don't think I've ever been to Lake Superior before. I'll have to put it on the to do list. What kind mining do they do out there? Those barges are pretty big!

This part of our state used to be really well known for copper and iron mining. They don't really do copper mining as much anymore, but they still do some other mining. It's an amazing place.

I must say that I prefer the nature of this place to the freighter but I must also admit that I've seen a few in The Netherlands and I couldn't stop watching it for a few minutes. It was fascinating!

Have a lovely day!

It's pretty amazing how it all works. I've never seen them loading one.

I love such views

Thank you

Great picture 😍

Never seen a freighter before but I appreciate the pictures that show so many details, that's a long thing!

It totally is!

All the pictures you took are so lovely
I love them and you have got a wonderful view
I have noticed that you love to visit beautiful places...

Thank you!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1949.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like a really nice area!

You can see and feel it is an enchanting place. Look at that view of the water. Impressive, without a doubt, I think these are the beauties that are worth everything.

From the photos you can tell how amazing it is☺️