Slow Travel.

in Pinmapple23 days ago (edited)

Sometimes it takes a couple of weeks to get into the groove of how I want to live and travel away from home. This is the travel log of how I got there.

It is a funny thing to visit your homelands and not really feel at home there anymore. Since 2016 I have been living outside of the United States and since 2010 outside of my birthstate of California. I never felt that I fit in with the California state of mind and the multitudes of people that live here.

The landscapes however are so dear to my heart. Now as a 30 something when I visit California I try to spend as much time in the Oak woodlands that I so enjoy.

But, in an effort to keep in touch with friends and family trips to the cities are required. Flying, taking trains, and navegating the city streets is not very comfortable for me. Sleeping in a loud city and adapting to life with very little nature leaves me feeling like a fish out of water and not like myself at all.

One thing that helps me feel better adjusted is by getting involved in gardening projects, even if the garden is a small backyard or a balcony.

Another thing that helps me feel like "me" is to travel light, with useful items that I love. Inside my travel backpack are a few of my favorite outfits that can be rearranged and mixed together.

Each step along the way I take time to clean & reorganize the contents of my travel pack. Tucking packets of sweet smelling herbs and magical notes between the clothes for good vibes.

Visiting the cities is an opportunity to catch up with family as well as gather books & art supplies. But really the best way to feel like myself is to escape to the woods, a body of water, or even a public park.

Sort:  

Absolutely understand that feeling of being a fish out of the water when away from Nature, but at least you know where you're going and why you're doing it ;)

Being around the more domesticated variety of humans drives me absolutely bonkers. Good to see that you are able to get out in the woods a wee bit!

Glad to hear I am not the only one who struggles with the domestic humans. It has certainly be a challenge!! But i am trying to see the positive and enjoy being with humans as much as possible. Soon I will be back in the woods alone for a week or so and i am really looking forward to it.

I had much the same thoughts after reading your post and the reply @fenngen made! I was like: Well there are at least two others!

Glad that you can enjoy it. I get so frigging tired by it all. I can work like crazy all day and not feel as fatigued afterwards as spending a half hour around the more domesticated humans. It just gets exhausting.

Congratulations @calendulacraft! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024