MAITUM BATO and Its Serene Life.

in Pinmapple18 days ago (edited)

Seeing the marker “To Maitum Bato” which means Black Rock in English sparks curiosity and mystery in my mind. Is it a location filled with Black rocks, a hidden tourist attraction? A thriving community which I’ve only heard now? Or both? One thing is for sure this Maitum Bato is calling me and this is where I am heading in today's discovery.

Neutral Minimalist Travel Vlog YouTube Thumbnail (2).png

So comm’n and join me, Lezzgo! Taraa!

For a poetry lover like me who happens to love symbolism too, thousands of pictures have come across my mind as I imagine what Maitum Bato would be. “Maitum” or Black put various colors in my imagination at that time, though black connotes negative meaning, I wished for Irony at that time.

IMG20240403172237.jpg

It was once on one of my random road trips, that I reached the corner of the beautiful town of Bogo. The two-wheeled vehicle brought me from a two-way concrete road to narrow rough roads, instead of turning back, I’d choose to follow the path and see where that ends. The view of the horizon already gave me a hint that the coast of Bogo is a dead-end. With excitement, I pushed through until I passed the sign “To Maitum Bato” which made my excitement spike up even more! Eheh.

IMG20240403170337.jpg

Maitum Bato is a Shore!Serene. Beautiful Shore!

MAITUM BATO

After approximately 20 minutes of walking along green trees and a small path, I finally saw a sign that I was nearing my destination – the hidden shore of Maitum Bato.

IMG20240403171742.jpg

The serenity, the silence, the peace, and the rawness of the whole place were what embraced me, and the only words I uttered were a “s.l.o.w W.O.W.” Its peacefulness hits me. Its beauty is not the kind of beauty that would fill your eyes first, but a beauty that will fill your lungs and then your heart, and then your soul as it will give you a sense of instant inner peace.

IMG20240403172342.jpg

IMG20240403172051.jpg

IMG20240403172807 (1).jpg

IMG20240403172215.jpg

Maitum Batu is a small village of fishermen tucked on the remote coast of Bogo. If my count was right, this village on the shore only has 4 houses. The back part of the shore is covered with Palm Trees while its front faces the beautiful open sea of Camotes Island.

IMG20240403172225.jpg

Like the other beaches of the northeast part of the province of Cebu, Maitum Batu also has these big grains of sand mixed with corals and shells. If you are a person who is a fan of fine white sand, you might not appreciate the beauty of this place, however, if you are like me who appreciate the rawness, untouched, and laidback of a place, then this Maitum Bato will also have a place in your heart.

IMG20240403172322 (1).jpg

IMG20240403171919.jpg

Waaah! I screamed when I almost stepped on this sea snake! Thank goodness the poor thing is dead!

The peaceful life.

The shore is covered with various seaweed washed by the waves to the shore. It never looked like trash to me, instead, it reflects and shows the authenticity and the day-to-day real-life this village has. Furthermore, the fishing boats lined up on the shore added vibrance to this small village in the shore.

IMG20240403172533 (1).jpg

IMG20240403171828.jpg

IMG20240403172231.jpg

Though I discovered the place late in the afternoon, there was no late in witnessing the life of the village. I was able to see the fishermen who were about to leave to catch some fish. Fishing was their only livelihood and the only support they had to send their children to school. Meanwhile, if they want to eat meat and vegetables, they sell their catch to the market and buy meat and veges for their meals!

IMG20240403172100.jpg

IMG20240403174823.jpg

IMG20240403174754.jpg

IMG20240403174744.jpg

Everything there was so simple. The houses are small and made of light raw materials like palm leaves and bamboo. You can see the clothes hanging outside. It’s a happy view of kids freely playing along the shore and a villager tending her domesticated pig.

IMG20240403172158.jpg

IMG20240403173029.jpg

IMG20240403172834 (1).jpg

IMG20240403172819 (1).jpg

I had a small talk with the locals who were surprised and curious to see a stranger who set foot in their haven. Hehe. I bought some snacks to connect with them. Yes, they have a small sari-sari store.!

The beautiful shore.

After a chitchat, I asked permission (as my respect to the villagers) if I could stroll around which they warmly agreed. I was hoping to discover the origin of the interesting name Maitum Bato, and I think I found it.

IMG20240403173428.jpg

Maitum Bato has a group of Big Rocks near the shore that appears like an islet. The views of these islets made the shore simply stunning on its own. The cliff and the emerald green color of the sea kissing the shore is what completes this small hidden paradise.

IMG20240403171824.jpg

IMG20240403172239.jpg

IMG20240403172454 (1).jpg

IMG20240403172521.jpg

IMG20240403173403.jpg

See that black rock near the shore? That is why the villagers call this place Maitum Bato or the "Black Rock" in English.

IMG20240403173412.jpg

I soo love the simplicity and the rawness of Maitum Bato and how friendly the villagers are, not to mention that unique accent when they speak. I love how simple life there is and how everything appears so slowly. I envy the villagers of Maitum Bato for owning this paradise.

IMG20240403174735.jpg

My wish is that this place remained simple, untouched, and hidden from the public. It’s a preserved paradise I wish to come back and stay longer, maybe camp on the shore and try fishing too! Someday Maitum Bato. Someday.

IMG20240403172556 (1).jpg

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR READING!


1705734669528.jpg

🖊️@callmesmile

📚She is a public school Teacher on weekdays, a Jill of all trades on weekends, outdoorsy on holidays, a mother, and a blogger in between. 😉

🍃She's in love with nature and the simple life of the countryside. As a lifelong learner, as she is, she is attracted to learning opportunities and growth.

❤️Join her as she shares life's simple joy and its beauty through traveling, exploring nature, the wonders of creating things through some of her DIY, the good things about countryside life, a glimpse of being a Public School Teacher, and more!

If her content makes your heart smile, please leave an upvote, comment, or reblog.🤗

"TOGETHER LET US MAKE LIFE MORE BEAUTIFUL.
SPREAD KINDNESS AND SMILE MORE OFTEN.
🥰"

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Good thing the snake was dead! I believe it is a snake season now here because of the heat index. I so love the serene view and that stone structure at the water looked so extraordinary. Great place to explore! I love the place too!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2179.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @callmesmile! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge