Escape to Playita Siboney! [eng-esp]

in Pinmapple10 days ago

A trip to the beach is exciting in itself, but I think that doing it during a school week added that slight touch of adventure that I needed. In my family, things are like that, we throw a party when you least expect it, and if you don't join in, you miss out.

Personally, I didn't want to miss it. I've been preparing for university entrance exams and I needed something to help me disconnect. Also, yesterday, April 23rd, was World Book Day, so I felt obligated to celebrate it.

Un viaje a la playa es emocionante per se, pero creo que el hecho de hacerlo en una semana escolar le añadió ese ligero toque de aventura que necesitaba. En mi familia las cosas son así, armamos fiesta cuando uno menos se lo espera, y si no te sumas, te lo pierdes.
En lo personal, yo no quería perdérmelo. Me he estado preparando para los exámenes de admisión a la universidad y necesitaba algo que me ayudase a desconectar. Además, ayer, 23 de abril, fue el día mundial del libro, por lo que me sentí en el deber de festejarlo.

I know no one would give me a book or a rose, as is popular custom on this date, so I took a book to Playita Siboney and romanticized my reading experience. Because as Miley Cyrus said, "I can buy my own books" (or something like that).

Sé que nadie me regalaría ni un libro ni una rosa, como es costumbre popular en esta fecha, así que me llevé un libro para la Playita Siboney y romanticé mi experiencia de lectura. Porque como dijo Miley Cyrus, "Yo puedo comprarme mis propios libros" (¿o cómo era?).

I barely took photos of the landscape, or of myself, and as I wrote this post, I realized that I didn't take any of the family. Truth be told, we were all there to enjoy. The air, the sound of the waves, the breeze, everything captivates you and prevents you from diverting your attention from the present.

Among other things, I had to spend a good time watching over my little sister, who was playing at the shore. And I also got A LOT of sun. I don't understand people who go to the beach and want to avoid the sun. Clearly there comes a point when it's harmful, but I think many exaggerate. Now my skin has an interesting color similar to that of a brick, and just thinking about it makes me laugh (I'm a little crazy).

A duras penas tomé fotos del paisaje, o de mí mismo, y mientras redactaba este post me dí cuenta de que no tomé ninguna de la familia. La verdad sea dicha, todos estábamos allí para disfrutar. El aire, el sonido de las olas, la brisa, todo te atrapa y te impide desviar tu atención del presente.
Entre otras cosas, tuve que pasar buen rato vigilando a mi hermana pequeña, que se encontraba jugando en la orilla. Y también cogí MUCHO sol. No entiendo a las personas que van a la playa y quieren evitar el sol. Claramente llega un momento en que es dañino, pero pienso que muchos exageran. Ahora mi piel tiene un interesante color semejante al de un ladrillo, y de solo pensarlo me da por reírme (estoy un poco loco).

Before returning home, we visited the monument that stands in that area. It contains a plaque dedicated to the memory of the Americans who fought during the Yankee military intervention in the Spanish-American-Cuban War at the end of the 19th century and who precisely landed there. That made me think about the History exam that I will have to face in a few weeks... In short, it was a wonderful experience, perfect for renewing energy and returning to school with strength to continue studying.

Antes de regresar a casa, visitamos el monumento que se erige en esa zona. Contiene una tarja dedicada a la memoria de los estadounidenses que lucharon durante la intervención militar yanqui en la guerra hispano-cubano-norteamericana a finales del siglo XIX, y que precisamente desembarcaron por allí. Eso me hizo pensar en el examen de Historia al que tendré que enfrentarme en unas semanas... En resumen, fue una experiencia maravillosa, óptima para renovar energías y regresar a la escuela con fuerzas para seguir estudiando.

And that's all for today's post. I hope you liked it. What did you do on April 23rd? Let me know in the comments! All photos used are my property.

Until next time!

Y esto fue todo por el post de hoy. Espero que les haya gustado. ¿Ustedes qué hicieron este 23 de abril? ¡Déjame saber en los comentarios! Todas las fotos usadas son de mi propiedad.

¡Hasta la próxima!

Sort:  

Congratulations @claudiocruz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP