Central Luzon Escapade: Part 1

in Pinmapple2 months ago (edited)

authentic leather.jpg

I know that Lenten season is fast approaching in the Philippines and as a Catholic, my family has made specific preparations for which churches we will visit. Last year, my partner and I visited destinations in Central part of Luzon. I'd never been to the north, except for Baguio, so I was excited to see what sites I'd discover. I hope you can find something on my blog.


Cabanatuan, Nueva Ecija
Aside from Baguio, this was the first area I had visited, and believe me, it was a nice suburban region to reside in. My partner was boarding here while finishing her nursing degree. She highlighted many affordable restaurants and what the city had to offer.

Ponceng
If you are passing through Cabanatuan City, it is best to stop and eat at the famous Ponceng, which can only be found here. Ponceng restaurant serves a unique version of lechon. What separates Ponceng is the lechon skin, which is not overly salty and extremely crispy. Their recipes also feature lechon as a key ingredient, which they serve hot. They generously serve rice and offer free soup. You only need to get here before lunchtime because it gets crowded about 12pm and before dinner time around 6pm.

3.jpg

Images from Ponceng fb page


Lamarang Restaurant
This was the first restaurant we visited in Cabanatuan City, and it has always been one of my favorites. It is initially a restaurant at the Lamarang Hotel & Resort, but walk-ins are welcome. We ordered their signature Lamarang rice, lechon kawali, gising-gising, and calamansi juice. I honestly enjoyed my lunch because they served it hot and were very generous with the servings. Our orders were more than enough for two people, and the calamansi juice was very refreshing, and the fruits they used were from their own farm. How cool is that? So I ordered one bottle of calamansi juice to go, and the waitress handed us a free tub of ube halaya. The staff's claim was that they realized I was not from the area and told me that I needed to try their signature. And they did not disappoint me or my taste buds. The ube was not overly sweet, rather milky, and melted in my tongue. So if you need a restaurant to eat for lunch or dinner, this is a must try!

4.jpg

Images from Lamarang fb page


Kart City Tarlac (KCT)

10.jpg

If you prefer spontaneous dating, you should definitely try this. KCT is a go kart track in Tarlac City, near SM City Tarlac. We arrived about 4 p.m. after traveling for an hour and a half from Cabanatuan. They have a large parking lot and a big area to explore. When we arrived, the kart track was closed and will reopen at 5pm. Because we were hungry, there is a restaurant in the area. They serve rice dishes, sandwiches, drinks, and refreshments such as smoothies. They also have karaoke rooms and can accommodate large groups and special occasions such as birthday parties. I heard rainfall on the roof as we walked back to buy our tickets (about 300 php each adult). That upset me because I was already looking forward to seeing the karts; it would be my first time riding and racing. It became sunny within 30 minutes, quickly drying out the course. While we waited for the safety personnel to give the go signal, we attended their required short seminar on kart and track safety. I felt great after the 15-minute race, and we safely returned home. For me, it is safe for young ages and adults.

11.jpg


Gasera de Liwliwa, Zambales
This is also my first time visiting one of the beaches in the central area, or "the North" as we call it in the city. I drove from Makati to San Felipe, Zambales with my sister and her friends, and it took us four hours. We were simply a little confused on our way to our accommodation because the location seemed so remote that you'd believe there was a camping site there. When we arrived, the atmosphere was superb. Every accommodation/campsite had enough parking, making it easier for us to secure one. I must admit that I was impressed by the accommodations; we are eight people in a second-floor Nipa hut style. Everything is provided, including cooking equipment, extra mattresses, a restroom, and your own grilling station.


13.jpg

The campsite also provides beach activities such as banana boat and ATV rentals, as well as island and waterfall hopping. What offered the place was its stunning sunset. I was in awe when people began to sit and watch the sunset over the horizon, my feet in the sand, and the mellow dance of the waves; the beauty of nature.


I returned to the campsite just in time to sit, eat, and to have a conversation. The campsite also hosts live band performances, however that time they just play beautiful music that matched the beauty of the night and the warm lights emanating from the lamps.

12.jpg

I would absolutely recommend Gasera de Liwliwa to anyone looking to visit Zambales.


For my five day trip in Dingalan, Aurora and Infanta Province, I will be releasing it as my part two. Thank you and til’ the next blog.

Banner made in Canva
All images and videoclips are mine unless stated otherwise

Sort:  

You had so much fun!! I am looking forward to your next blog

Thank you so much! It was my pleasure. 😇

Congratulations @coach-p! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Yahoo! Thank you @hivebuzz 😎

All good @coach-p! You are a true inspiration for Hive! Keep going and reach your new target!

Kart City must’ve been a blast! I’ll try this in the future. I’ve only been to the Gasera de Liwliwa among the places you mentioned 😄 Thanks for sharing these places!

!PIZZA

Thank you, C. I bet you'll enjoy KCT. 😁

Waaa seems like you had loads of fun. I just wish I could try them all! But I don't think I'll ever visit Central Luzon unless I need to. I haven't been to Cabanatuan City, Tarlac and Zambales. Wahuhu

Maybe with your friends, I bet it would be more fun. Nevertheless, I appreciate your comment and I am enjoying your blogs as well.😇

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you @pinmapple 😇

Thank you for the tour! I like the idea of visiting uncommon places in the Philippines. Looking forward to more! :)

Thank you and appreciate your blog as well. 😁

Amazing spots in Philippines.❤️

Thank you for appreciating my blog and my country. I appreciate your comment too.😇

Now that's what I call a complete experience for an escapade! Plenty of things to see, along with good food and activities either for relaxing or feeling the adrenaline pumping in your veins. I should try go-kart racing one day too!

YAS, you must! Thank you for commenting, great pleasure for me.😇

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2160.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

YEAH! Thank you so much for always surprising me with your comment. Grateful for being one of your honorable mentions. I really appreciate you a lot!💞