You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where the Magpies Roam

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hey, that place looks a bit familiar! Lol, you're braver than I, when I was there it was in the 50s and I thought that was too cold. Looks even better with the snow though.

I'm kinda jealous, didn't get to see any magpies on my visit. Was there very many people on the island while you were there?

Sort:  

It was suuuper cold and windy. Hence the underwear sticking out from under Pilot's coat. I wound up spending a billion dollars on winter wear before that trip, but it was worth it, even if I'm eating beans and rice for the next month until I pay off the credit card bill.

I think the magpies found me because I have crazy crow lady vibes that radiate out for hundreds of miles in all directions. Pretty easy to home in on. You probably didn't see them because campground corvids like to wait until after the camper leaves the site to raid it. But I spread out the picnic blanket and invited them over.

Hardly anyone there at the campground, and only a few people hiking on the trails except in that one touristy spot on Christmas. I'm sure the warmer months are much more crowded. Winter camping is kind of the shit if it stays dry.