My travel story: Texas, Day 5 - Dallas (Reunion tower)

in Pinmapple ā€¢ 2 years ago

Hello bees!

How are you doing? I am well and active. You see? I told you, I will get better šŸ˜Š
Not only that I post more often, but I managed to publish two parts of my travel story less than two weeks apart. I will have to slow down, otherwise it will end too soon! Haha. Or second possibility, which I like much more, is to continue posting travel story parts, but continue travelling soon too! Well, there might be something on schedule, but not so fast. More towards the end of the year and still nothing to confirm, but there is a magnet in Africa and it is pulling towards there. So we will see, I will keep you posting, but if all turn out well, it should be an amazing travel.
Until then, let us continue with my Texas journey! Dallas Mavericks, ended this season but my story goes on. They did really well this year and I am proud to watch and support 2021/22 Mavericks live. I am sure front office can do good work this offseason and when Luka and company return next year, I am expecting about the same achievement or even a step forward, which would be just awesome.
Lets go to my next part which will be day 5 of my Texas travel. This day was the most anticipated and biggest reason for my visit on a first place. Back in December 2021, I have read an article about how Dallas Mavericks will host Slovenian evening event in one of the home games of early March in local sports media. I begin to monitor that, but there was nothing official and Covid was still very much present, so I didnā€™t have any big and realistic plans for travel to be honest. But in January, about one month after the initial announcement, I saw that news again and that time on social media of some small touristic agency which is very popular in our country. They were organising a trip. I am not that much for a group travel, but I started to do planning by myself. At the end it really all came through and day 5 was game day. It was a Slovenian evening vs. Sacramento Kings. What was special about that game? Slovenian themed music, Slovenian colours (we are known for green as we have a lot of nature/forest), also some Slovenian words and half time show was hosted by our famous Dunking Devils which is an amazing group doing all kind of tricks jumping around with the ball. They were also giving I feel sLOVEnia scarfs among spectators, but I already brought one with me from the homeland. There was not that much of a cheering as I would think will be. There were only about maybe up to a hundred Slovenians and we were not there as a group, so didnā€™t cheer like we know with singing songs, etc. Anyway there was a good atmosphere due to game was going in that direction, as we were trying to come back from behind and actually made it at the end with a win. All Slovenians came on the game 99% because of Luka Dončič, but he didnā€™t play that game, which was a bit pity. Many came only for one game and made a trip to US all the way from Slovenia and didnā€™t even see him play. Well I had three games and watched his masterpiece playing on other two games. He was kind of injured, khmmmm ā€“ resting ā€“
At the end of the game it was promised to us, Slovenian fans that we will be able to hang out with him, take photos, etc. So I was very excited when game ended and were on the meeting point. We waited for maybe about 5 minutes and he really arrived. Just the problem is, that my interpretation was wrong. We did photography, but only one on a group with Luka being close to us and it was taken by Dallas media team. The very next moment, he was out of there! All lasted about 30 seconds, so that was quite disappointing. I really wish he would take a bit more of a time for his supporters who travelled half of the World, just to watch him play, which he didnā€™t at the end. I believe players have strict restrictions with how many autographs they can give out, and about all the other media/fan related things. Anyway, I wish they would appreciate more, us coming that far.
That was about my Slovenian evening game experience, but donā€™t worry. I have also some travel related stuff and some great pics!

If you read my previous travel post, you know I went to Houston for one day to watch a rodeo and to see this biggest city in Texas. Next morning we already departed back towards Dallas in order to catch before mention game. After a couple of hours drive, we went to eat at Slow Bone BBQ which is another delicious restaurant in Texas that we were able to taste. After lunch, we went to the Reunion tower, which is famous building in Dallas and serves as a panoramic viewing point. It is very popular touristic point and a lot of locals also go there to catch some of the breath-taking views.
I have to say it is very well worth to go up and catch the view. I mean just how big this city is? Endlessā€¦ I werenā€™t able to see where is the end of urban area. Never seen anything like this. Well, I am coming from Slovenia which have more than 5 million population LESS than Dallas metro area since we only have about 2.000.000. And views are really amazing. We planned our visit like that we go on the deck during daytime and later at the evening after the game as well. Their ticket is designed like that as well and it was a great experience to see the difference, I prefer night version, and you feel free to share your favourite.
In the meantime we walked to the American Airlines Centre to watch the game. To there we had to pass JFK museum as well. We didnā€™t do the tour, but we clearly view where that event from the history took place. It was also a good walk to catch some of the city pulse and I have to admit that it is nothing special. San Antonio is much nicer if you are taking into account the city atmosphere. After the game, we returned for night Dallas skyline view from Reunion tower. It really is totally different at night. I liked it very much and I made quite a few shots and some of then, I am sharing now with you. I am considering these as some of my best night cityscape photos, I ever made and giving credit to Dallas being such a nice and photogenic city, plus Reunion tower being a nice place to give opportunity to catch that on my camera.
Hope you like my work and see you around soon again as my travel did not end yet.
Have a great day!

DSC05290.JPG
DSC05287.JPG

DSC05293.JPG

DSC05291.JPG

DSC05292.JPG

DSC05296.JPG

DSC05299 (2).JPG

DSC05309.JPG

DSC05306.JPG

DSC05310.JPG

DSC05317.JPG

DSC05327.JPG

DSC05337.JPG

DSC05343.JPG

DSC05348.JPG

DSC05346.JPG

DSC05347.JPG

Sort: Ā 


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@xoxois) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ā 2 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Man, IĀ“m really sorry Luka didnĀ“t (couldnĀ“t) spend more time with you guys who, as you said, traveled halfway around the world to support him and his team. That must have felt like a big disappointment :(

Amazing photos of Dallas though!

@tipu curate 4

Well, hard to tell I was not dissapointed, but what can we do. Life goes on and I am sure there will be other opportunities for that kind of socializing.

Thank you for your appreciation of photos and huge boost!

Have a great Tuesday!

How are you dear friend @crazy-andy good afternoon
I'm glad you're thinking of Africa on your next visit, I think you'll do some amazing shooting there.
Your travel chronicle is incredible, you know very well how to present what you experience on your vacation
What beautiful images you have here, I love the reflections and the vivid colors of the lighting
I really appreciate that you shared this beautiful collection of images
have a prosperous week

Hello @jlufer

I would really love Africa on my menu one more time. Well, not just one more time, but one more time soon ;)

I am glad you like my travel story. I will do my best to keep delivering.
These photos are my best shots from Dallas. Reunion tower, really offers some nice views and it is a bit different from what I know as I am more used to nature views.

Have a great week ahead as well...

It is always a real pleasure to visit and enjoy your publications.
Have a beautiful afternoon

but there is a magnet in Africa and it is pulling towards there

They say that when Africa is in your blood it never leaves. as it will always pull you back.
Great night Photos Andy and what was your camera settings?

!BEER

Africa always good.. So much to see and so many nice small towns. Living in Kzn St Lucia now for almost 16 years..

Great that you are also a Saffer and yes, we certainly live in a lovely country as I have been to St Lucia.
It is also a lovely place.

I don't know for others, but your words match with my experience!

Camera settings were:
F4,0 1/50s 41,00mm ISO 12800
I am glad you like my work!

Great to hear that you agree my friend and thank you for the settings.
Maybe now I could take some better night shots.

Your work is always very good.

!BEER


Hey @crazy-andy, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Nice night cityscape photos of the tower. Glad you got to see your home boy, Luka Dončič, play, even if not that long.

Thank you for stopping by!

It must've been nice to be at the top and see all these skyscrapers šŸ˜

It is quite awesome yes. We don't have that many and that big ones here in Ljubljana, so it is special for me. Plus view is great from above.

Ā 2 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Such incredible architect. Each building is worth the time. The lights that keep the city awake looks equally pretty.

They constructed a nice city there in US.
Have a good one!

Ā 2 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

With no doubt!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you, appreciate it!

Omg those pictures are amazing šŸ˜.. Well done.. Need to check all your posts.. I like this one a lot

Thanks! You have a lot of reading and watching to do :)

It's my pleasure šŸ˜.. I liked first post I saw. I'll like the others to šŸ¤—

Awesome!
Are you somehow connected with Slovenia, since your name Anita Horvat could be 100% Slovene?

Nope.. Hahah I'm Croatian šŸ˜ but.. Close enough

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! šŸŽ‰šŸ„³šŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1578.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much, it is an honour to be selected!


Hey @crazy-andy, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

very, very beautiful big city at night, hopefully on another occasion friends can visit Aceh and we are very happy with your arrival.