Tour de Slovenia - Heart between vineyards - 18 photos

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Hi fellow hiveans,

Hope you are doing well.
It is quite hot here in Ljubljana, Slovenia these days. How is the weather like at your hometown?

I shared some details from my last weekend trip to Styria few days ago and now it is time for next part. I was there for three nights, so I could say it is time for day 3, as on day 4 we departed back to Ljubljana.
Well in my opinion this day was the nicest, at least for photography. We went all the way to Austrian border to the place called Špičnik where one of the nicest roads on Earth is located. At least lovers will say so… Why? Hmmm you will see on the photo below.
I wanted to visit that place for a long time now as it is getting more and more popular in Slovenia and also out of our borders. It has to be something special if France and Croatia stole it from us to promote their country in one of the articles. Funny story, but we are now used to similar things as we are considered as a small country, so even mistake at playing other national anthem when our sportsmen are winning is not surprising anymore.
But that is a reason why I am here on Hive to promote our country as it should be promoted. Well I am a total amateur, but let’s say the beauty is promoting by itself and we have plenty of that one in Slovenia. I am getting very positive response at my Tour de Slovenia series and those posts are usually my biggest positive surprise.

So now I can tell you what is so special about that small place Špičnik and its road. It is located between vineyards and it is made in the shape of heart. I read an interview with the owner of the farm Dreisiebner, who actually have premises on the best viewpoint over the heart. He said that road was not planned in the shape of heart, but when they were building the road, his father said make a turn here and here as it is located on a hill and not to be to steep, he wanted to rounded a bit.
It turned out as one of Slovenian’s most known viewpoints and promotional locations. Also when I was visiting this place there was a lot of tourists, especially from Austria. I was not expected that many of them in this Covid times.
Many of them also have a glass of wine when they enjoy in the view as this region is know to have one of the best wines in Slovenia. I am not a wine expert, but I like Slovenian wines. When I am speaking to some other tourists, I often hear compliments for our wine as well.

Now let me see if there will be any compliments for my photos :)
Probably not much as I didn’t have my “real” equipment with me, only smartphone as trip was family connecting based first.

20200710_115451.jpg

20200710_115426.jpg

20200710_115536.jpg

20200710_115228.jpg

20200710_115352.jpg

20200710_115410.jpg

20200710_115329.jpg

20200710_115630.jpg

20200705_162343.jpg

20200705_162252.jpg

We also stopped at Maribor that day, which is second largest Slovenian city. To give you an example what that means; population a little less than 100.000 people :) You are probably laughing right now if you are from the bigger countries as this is size of a village in some other countries :)
Well I have to admit that I visited Maribor for the first time. I have driven through couple of times before, but this was my first actual stop there and it lasted just few hours. We went to the city park and its ponds. We had blanket with us and just laid back in the shadow hearing birds singing. Peaceful and relaxing. There was really not a lot of people that day in Maribor and I was totally OK with it.
I am adding few landscape photos which were also made on that day while driving on Pohorje (place where we stayed) and just stopping by and doing some clicks. Well there were quite a few additional opportunities to take good shots, but my kid fell asleep in the car and some of the parents will know how it is if you stop the car with the sleeping baby. Soon you will have a crying baby and you don’t want to have that :)

20200710_115747.jpg

20200705_134518.jpg

20200710_115830.jpg

20200710_115850.jpg

20200710_115909.jpg

20200710_115922.jpg

20200710_115941.jpg

20200710_120001.jpg

Let that be all for today from my side. Hope you enjoyed my travel story at Styria. This part of Slovenia is also nice so if you haven’t been there, you have to go there. Well even if you have been, you can definitely go again :)

Have a great Friday and weekend!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #905.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That is really pretty! The viniards look very healthy, too. Slovinian wine isn't something I've had the pleasure of tasting. Maybe some day...

Thank you for stopping by!
I am not a vineyard expert, so I know only they look nice :)
Hope that we will be able to host you one day and offer you a glass of wine...