You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rock, Sausage and Lingonberries

So wood is supplied for you to cook things and don't have to forage yourself. I wish other places would do that. Learning about what are good and bad mushrooms is something you should do as there is nothing better than having a basket of fresh mushrooms to cook with. I only know a few but there must be so many in the forest and who knows maybe truffles.

Sort:  

Yeah, they supply cut wood and often additional wood and an axe. I have no idea who actually does it, but the council organise it. Unfortunately, one of the places we go yearly for this kind of trip and is very close, got burned down by vandals. It is rare, but I have a feeling becoming more common.

I have no idea about truffles here at all. Never heard of people going truffling, but there must be, right?

I just looked up truffle hunting in Finland and yes it is big over there. Farmers get about $350 per kg right now and it is expanding. Need a dog though and is on my bucket list for retirement days.

Oh cool. Perhaps I can train Smallsteps :D

Possibly but she is smart enough to sell them to you so maybe viable getting a dog that is already trained. Hive and truffle hunting could be a good thing to pursue lol.