Chasing Sunshine on a Naga City Year-End Hike

in Pinmapple β€’ 6 months ago (edited)
Hello, hive friends! It's me again, going to share another wonderful hiking experience that will probably be my year-ender hike, with my go-to hiking buddies.


Days ago, I shared here my hiking experience, that caused my skin to burn because of the tormenting sun. Now, I'll be sharing with you another sun-filled hike experience somewhere in Naga City that happened just last weekend, but this time I didn't have sunburns since I wore a hiking jacket (keeping my promise from my last post, and this was the best decision ever! Hahaha).

Alton, the hike recruiter of the group hahaha, dropped a message on my messenger with the possible route for the planned hike on the weekend. I made sure that I would make it since I missed a lot of hikes last month due to some priorities. And that made me kinda sad, seeing the places they had been to. But this time, I made it! Yey!

Last November 26, 2023 (Sunday), I arrived at IT Park terminal where everyone met up around 4:20 AM. When all my hiking friends (Alton, @mariasalve , @katiemeow , Spencer, Kuya James, Kuya Kevin) who would be joining had arrived, we immediately rode a modern jeepney heading to Naga City with a fare of Php 60. Since it was still early, there was no traffic, and we made it to Naga at 6:10 AM.


Before starting the journey of the day, we looked for a water vending machine first and filled up all our water bottles, making sure that we had enough water supply until we reached the next store along the trails. As we started walking on the cemented areas, I could already feel the heat of Mr. Sun, and there wasn't much air; my friends can also attest to that. We had just started, but I could already hear my inner core catching my breath, Hahaha.

When we finished the slight ascent in the cemented area, we could already see the beautiful view of Naga featuring the shining, shimmering morning sun. This boosted my excitement to hike farther and discover more stunning overlooking views.


We had to endure the sun's heat in these open areas until we reached the next road in Brgy. Naalad. Taking short breaks, we rushed to get to the road where the shade of the trees provided relief. As we approached the lamp post, my feet were eager to take faster steps, reaching the road immediately.


From Brgy. Naalad to Brgy. Magdooc, I was amazed by the mountains I saw from afar; they were so beautiful and perfect. It was my first time seeing such mountain ranges here in Cebu. Ate Salve even took a silhouette picture on the other side where the view showcased the beautiful sea. There were also some stores where others bought cold cokes to satisfy their cravings due to the heat.

Moments later, we proceeded to our next destination, letting Kuya Alton and Kuya James lead the way. After minutes of walking, we took a rest before ascending and had a quick photoshoot with Ate Salve under these beautiful trees, while the boys were engaged in chitchat, patiently waiting for us.


As we began the ascent, we took numerous stops to rest in between before finally reaching the top of the mountain. The trail was so tiring, even with the man-made steps; it felt like a never-ending ascent, and I could already feel my weakened knees and legs. I took deep breaths and a sip of water before taking another step towards the top.


The tiredness I felt lessened as soon as I saw the breathtaking panoramic view from the summit. Without wasting a moment, I kindly asked Ate Salve to take a picture of me because I knew I would regret it if I didn't.

Continuing the hike, we passed through an open area with overgrown grass. The sun was still at its peak, and as they decided on the next route, we consistently suggested ones not too far and with fewer open areas.


We saw the Cebu Expressway as we descended. When we were about to reach the road, we encountered a huge crack that split the road into different levels. Hoping to find cold soft drinks, we approached a house beside the road, but unfortunately, they didn't have any. So, we took a rest there, patiently waiting for the sun to be kinder.

Fortunately, we found a store along the road, where we rewarded ourselves with soft drinks. After finishing them, we proceeded, and a few meters away, we stumbled upon another store selling ice creams. While my friends enjoyed ice cream, I decided not to eat.

After about 20 minutes of resting, we continued our hike heading to Sitio Pangilatan in Brgy. Inayagan. Finally, we took the mountain trails instead of the road. It felt hotter on the road, but in the mountains, numerous trees provided us with shade. Eventually, we made it to this beautiful peak.


We took quite a lot of pictures here AHAHAHA. We couldn't miss capturing this beautiful view, right? We spent our time enjoying the scenery while having a conversation. This area is perfect for camping, although it might be hot during the day with not many trees. However, it's undoubtedly perfect at night.


Descending, fortunately, we found a store selling food for lunch because we were all literally starving. They didn't have rice, but it's fine; they had pancakes, which would do. We indulged in fried chicken intestines (isaw), tempura, hotcakes, lumpia, and of course, cold soft drinks. After our delicious snacks/meal, we rested for quite a while because it was still early. We chatted about silly things and teased each other, Hahahaha.

After probably 2 hours, we decided to continue descending until we reached the Naga National Highway, where we could catch a jeepney heading to Colon, Cebu City. Following the cemented trail, we descended until we reached the Brgy. Hall of Inayagan, marking the end of our hike for the day. Everyone stopped their Strava and posted it before searching for a jeepney.

Although our hike had ended, our day was far from over! Since we missed having rice during lunchtime, we were eager to fill up our stomachs. We all agreed to head to the Food Night Market and treat ourselves to delicious food as a well-deserved reward.

I'm thrilled that I could wrap up the year with a hike alongside my go-to hiking friends. Excited for the new adventures awaiting me next year. Manifesting a major climb 🀞

That's it for now, Hivers!

Always remember to enjoy and explore life!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hello there! I'm Danah, a Marketing Services Associate by profession. I'm an adventurous person, always seeking to discover new experiences and extract valuable life lessons from each of them. I'm passionate about dancing and performing on stages in front of the crowd. I thrive on exploring the great outdoors and capturing memories.

Join me on my adventures by reading and supporting my blogs. Don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to share your thoughts. Get in touch through my PeakD, YouTube, or Instagram. 🀍

Sort: Β 

Amazing landscape! The water and that beautiful green next to it is everything! Thanks for sharing!

Yeah, a perfect view! Thank you, @belug !πŸ₯³πŸ€

I've been to Pangilatan Peak twice but I always take the easier trail hahaha but honestly, this is more challenging and brings more thrill! I might take this route on my third climb, hmm πŸ€”

You had a camp there??
Yes, u can try this route but maybe not on a sunny season hehe😁

No, it wasn't for camp. The first time was that we had a picnic with friends. The second time, I and another friend went up to do outdoor painting hehe. The place is just a town away from my hometown, that's why πŸ˜…

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @danahnatalie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Feedback from the December Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - November 2023 Winners List
Β 6 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

Beautiful landscapes for walking.
But even more important than the beauty of the nature you are walking on is that you have excellent company. And we see that your team is great. Thanks for sharing.