Discovering Iloilo City's Historic Gems; Molo Church and Molo Mansion

in Pinmapple2 months ago

Hello, Hive friends!

Here's another blog post, recounting another memorable travel experience!

Two years ago, I had the opportunity to visit Iloilo City and join in celebrating my niece's 2nd birthday. The trip was with my mom and sister. Our purpose was to visit our eldest sister quite spontaneous; originally, I hadn't planned to go due to my class schedule. However, my sister insisted that I accompany them, so I managed to rearrange things and join them on their journey to the city.

IloIlo is a province located in the center of the Philippine archipelago. It comprises the southeastern part of Panay Island, with the island-province of Guimaras just off its coast. The capital city, also named Iloilo, is one of the major urban centers in the Philippines and is often referred to as "the Heart of the Philippines." The name "Iloilo" is derived from "Irong-Irong," the former name of the city, which refers to a protruding landmass resembling a nose at the southern bank of the Iloilo River.


From Bogo City, we boarded a bus to Mandaue City, with the fare ranging from PHP 160 to PHP 180. Upon reaching Mandaue Pacific Mall, we opted for a taxi ride to Mactan-Cebu International Airport, which was approximately 6km away. I recall the taxi fare being less than PHP 200. Regarding the plane tickets, I'm uncertain of the cost as my sister handled the booking and payment.


Upon our arrival at Iloilo International Airport in Cabatuan, I was struck by the vast and spacious landing area. Hastily, we snapped a few photos before hurrying to catch up with my mother, who was already walking ahead. After exiting the airport, my sister and I indulged in some photo-taking with our mother acting as our photographer. Shortly after, we were greeted by our eldest sister and her daughter, who had come to pick us up. During the drive, we excitedly discussed the places we planned to visit.

Given the city's reputation for its European and American-inspired architecture, including stately mansions, century-old churches, and heritage commercial buildings, we decided to explore the Molo Mansion and Molo Church, both conveniently located near my sister's house.

MOLO MANSION

The Yusay-Consing Mansion, originally known as the Lacson-Yusay Mansion and now popularly referred to as the Molo Mansion, stands as a significant heritage house situated in the district of Molo, Iloilo City, Philippines. Positioned in front of the Molo Plaza and Molo Church, this architectural gem was constructed in 1926, boasting neoclassical and subtle art deco features. It remains one of the most distinguished historical homes not only in Iloilo but also in the Philippines.


Personally, I found great pleasure in leisurely exploring the interior of the mansion, marveling at the talent and creativity of Filipinos. From the indigenous products showcased within, it became evident to me the purity and richness of our culture, something we should undoubtedly take pride in. I couldn't let the moment pass without capturing it through photographs, knowing that these memories would hold significance for me in the future.

Moreover, the mansion's second floor serves as an art gallery and wellness venue, hosting yoga sessions and other activities. Its spacious grounds often accommodate musical events and outdoor art exhibits.

Additionally, visitors can indulge in various culinary delights at the food stalls and cafes scattered throughout the expansive garden, either before or after their tour of the mansion.

MOLO CHURCH

Molo Church stands adjacent to Molo Plaza, just across from the iconic Molo Mansion, serving as the central landmark in Molo District.


This renowned Spanish-colonial church and heritage site is distinguished by its striking red spires adorning tall bell towers. Often referred to as "the feminist church," it boasts a unique feature: 16 statues of female saints grace the aisle pillars. Constructed in the neo-Gothic style, the church has become one of Iloilo City's most recognizable landmarks and a premier tourist attraction.

Oh, and there's my mom, along with my niece who wanted me to snap a picture of them. Too cute.

If you're in Iloilo City or planning a visit and have a passion for historical sites boasting neoclassical and subtle Art Deco features, you simply must visit Molo Church, Molo Plaza, and Molo Mansion. These three attractions are conveniently located near each other, making them easily accessible for an enriching exploration of the city's heritage.

Let's see if I can write more about my exploration of Iloilo in the coming days, hehe. Send motivation!

That’s it for now, Hivers.
Always remember to enjoy and explore life!

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hello there! I'm Danah, a Marketing Services Associate by profession. I'm an adventurous person, always seeking to discover new experiences and extract valuable life lessons from each of them. I'm passionate about dancing and performing on stages in front of the crowd. I thrive on exploring the great outdoors and capturing memories.

Join me on my adventures by reading and supporting my blogs. Don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to share your thoughts. Get in touch through my PeakD, YouTube, or Instagram. 🤍

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Iloilo is on my list of places I want to visit locally.😍

Nice! Yes, u should go there😊

I was fascinated with the architecture of the external facade of the Molo Mansion, it is too beautiful.

Yeah, too beautiful not to share it here, so i did😊

Congratulations @danahnatalie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2151.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Manifesting maka Iloilo and visit Molo Mansion soon 🫰💛