Simala Shrine: A Spiritual Family Escape

in Pinmapple7 months ago (edited)
Hello, my dear hive friends! I hope you had a great weekend because I certainly did.


Today, I'll be sharing with you my family's religious weekend getaway to Simala Shrine.

Simala Shrine, also known as The Monastery of the Holy Eucharist, is situated in Barangay Lindogon, Sibonga, Cebu, and is celebrated as one of the most revered religious sites in the Philippines. The monastery is both constructed and overseen by the Marian Monks of Eucharistic Adoration (MMEA), who serve as its custodians. Its popularity soared around 1997, attracting throngs of people who sought to offer prayers and wishes to the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Simala Trip 2021

Simala Trip 2022

Just to provide some background, we have a large family on my father's side, and we're quite close-knit. Whenever possible, we make an annual trip to Simala, and starting from 2021, we've been consistent in visiting for our devotions. It's primarily my grandparents who initiate and contribute financially to the trip. I believe it's their way of nurturing family bonds and ensuring that all their sons, daughters, and grandchildren partake in this religious tradition, as my parents have always been deeply religious.


The weekend (Sunday) has arrived, the day my family decided to visit Simala again in the year 2023. Since my family is from Bogo City, my sister and I had to catch up with them at Plaza Independencia, Cebu City. As early as 4:20 AM, they were picked up by the two rented van for 6,500 pesos each van - already a good deal for a whole day trip. My sister and I arrived at Plaza Independencia at 7 AM to wait for them. They were able to pick us up around 7:30.

On our way to the southern part of Cebu, everyone decided to make a stop in Carcar to have breakfast. Each family brought their own food, and shared it with everyone.

One hour later from our previous stop, we arrived in the Simala parking lot. Before getting out of the vehicle, we freshened up and assisted our elder sister with her two kids. I asked my younger sister to rent three umbrellas for 30 pesos each because the sun was scorching.


As we entered the church, there were security guards who approached me, saying that my dress was above the knee. I had to rent a large scarf for 20 pesos to cover my legs.


The line to see the miraculous Virgin Mary and saints was extremely long, something we couldn't endure due to the scorching sun and the fact that we had kids with us. Instead, we proceeded directly to the church where we could have our 'Pamisa'. Pamisa is a Catholic tradition where a Mass is dedicated to a particular intention, often for the deceased. It serves as a means to offer prayers for the souls of the departed and implore God's mercy and blessings upon them.


We went to the souvenir store inside the church and bought first some colored candles (candles come in various colors that correspond to a specific need). We lighted the candles and silently said our prayers and wishes. Afterwards we went back to the store and looked for souvenirs. There are several items sold in the shop such as images of the Virgin Mary, saints and angels, crucifix, bibles, rosaries, and prayer guides, etc.. As for us siblings, we bought rosary bracelets. Unfortunately, we forgot to take a picture of the bracelets we bought.


Before heading out from the church, we took photos and videos and enjoyed the church's scenery with my siblings and nieces.

When we returned to the parking lot, we headed straight to a space that my aunt had rented for us to have our lunch. It cost 400 pesos. After enjoying our lunch, everyone engaged in chitchats with other family members. As for me, I was busy talking about life with my cousin, Angela, who is now a college student in Cebu City. We hadn't interacted much since I started working, so it was quite a long talk.

Around 2 PM, everyone decided to pack up and travel back to the North since they were planning to have a side trip to Buwakan ni Alejandra, in Balamban. Since I had work the next day, and my younger sister also had a class, we were dropped off somewhere in Naga. They decided to take an alternate route to Balamban, avoiding the main road to avoid traffic.


So we just took a bus from Naga to the Cebu South Bus terminal with a fare of 35 pesos each. When we arrived, we walked all the way to the back of Elizabeth Mall to catch a public utility jeepney to General Maxilom, where my sister and I have a boarding house. When we were already back at our boarding house, our family was still at Buwakan ni Alejandra, enjoying the view and having dinner there as well. They arrived home in Bogo City around 9 PM.

I'm filled with gratitude for my grandparents, my Lolo and Lola. They have not only been exceptional parents to our own parents but also wonderful grandparents to us, their grandchildren. They have laid a solid foundation for our family, ensuring that no matter what challenges life presents, their wisdom and guidance help us conquer them. I always pray for their good health and a long, happy life.

Let's always remember to cherish the people who unconditionally love and support us. They are like precious gems in our lives, and life is too short not to express love in this world.

Keep loving, everyone!

Till my next blog!

Sort:  

I'd never have guessed that Simala Shrine is a monastery and not one of those Asian temples, lol. It looks quite different from what I've seen by now, so for some reason it took me into a completely different direction when seeing the pictures. But it looks stunning!

Haha, I totally get what you mean! Simala Shrine does have a unique and stunning design that sets it apart from typical Asian temples. It's a monastery, but its architecture can be quite surprising at first glance.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Niceee. I have only gone to Simala once since I started living in Cebu. That was long time 😅 To more happy family trip to you guys!

Murag very long ago njud na ba. Na busy ug katkat HAHAHAH thank you, ate salve!

Congratulations @danahnatalie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2039.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Kadaghan na sa nabag o sa Simala Shrine. Last time na nakabisita ko, constructed pa ang ubang part sa Shrine. Karon nice na kaayo tan awon.