#TravelTuesdays: The Magical Autumn of Yamanashi

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Welcome to #TravelTuesdays! This will feature my travel updates every Tuesday of the week. This is to give my Explorer soul an opportunity to not only share places of interests, but also my travel diaries. Enjoy fresh travel scoops weekly! For now, #TravelTuesdays will feature my Japan Travel Series. I hope you enjoy my Japan travel diaries weekly!


Yamanashi is one place in Japan that I’ll definitely go back to over and over again. I had one look at it over the Internet and I knew that I had to visit this prefecture once every season because it offers various picturesque views as the season changes.

In my journey to discovering Yamanashi, first on the list is visiting it on Autumn, and that is what’s in our story today. If we talk about Autumn in Yamanashi, you definitely want to direct your focus to Fujikawaguchiko. This town will definitely let you bask on the Autumn experience that you’re looking for! I spent a day in Fujikawaguchiko last November 15, 2020 and this is how my day went. Read ahead!

PeakD Thumbnails.png

Same as the neighboring provinces, Yamanashi is famed for its picturesque angles of Mt. Fuji. After all, Yamanash is one of the 4 provinces surrounding the popular jewel of Japan. Many postcards of Japan and famous shots of Mt. Fuji were taken from Yamanashi, just like the famous Autumn angle shot above. I might’ve taken that shot using my phone camera, but when we search for Japan Autumn in the Internet, this popular angle of Mt. Fuji will definitely pop up.

Spending a day in Yamanashi during Autumn means walking around the whole day in Fujikawaguchiko. Of the countless activities and places to visit in the area, I chose to visit 4 places that caught my eye. What are those 4 locations? Check them out below!

The Ethereal Kawaguchi Asama Shrine

image.png

“Who am I to say that my truth is superior than theirs?” That’s what always pops out my mind when I witness a zealous display of faith such as the ethereal Kawaguchi Asama Shrine.

Tenku no Torii is a Torii gate built as a place of worship at Kawaguchi Asama Shrine. Monks bow their heads to the great Mt. Fuji at this very altar.

image.png

The beautiful scene above is located 30 minutes up the entrance of Kawaguchi Asama Shrine, and this is only one part of the shrine. From the very entrance of the shrine, you can already marvel at the beauty and culture that this World Heritage site offers.

image.png

Location:
Kawaguchi Asama Shrine (河口浅間神社)

1 Kawaguchi, 富士河口湖町 Fujikawaguchiko, Minamitsuru District, Yamanashi 401-0304

How to get there: Bus from Mt. Fuji Station to any Bus Stop near the shrine for ¥410.

Entrance Fee: None, except if you are a professional photographer and you would like to take your time taking pictures at Tenku no Torii, you will have to pay ¥500.

A Walk around Maple Corridor

image.png

The Maple Corridor of Fujikawaguchiko is one of the most famous Autumn viewing spots in Japan, and for good reasons. This place is heaven!

I definitely came a little early, but I think the sight is still magnificent. I’ve always loved looking at the colors green, yellow, orange, and red mixed together compared to the full red bloom of the Autumn peak.

image.png

During Autumn, they usually hold an Autumn Festival near the Maple Corridor because they know that the place will usually attract tourists from all over the world. With that, the location is great for family get-togethers. There will be a lot of festival stores around the place, with locals selling traditional delicacies and products. I had my lunch there, marveling over my Karaage bought for ¥600 from the small local store at the festival.

image.png

The corridor stretches to 150 meters of red and gold maple leaves. Being there means seeing colorful leaves, not only on the trees but also on the ground. Colorful leaves blowing passed your faces definitely feels like in the movies.

They also hold illuminations at night. I no longer went there at night, but if you check out pictures of their illuminations, it definitely looks pretty.

image.png

Location:
Maple Corridor (河口湖もみじ回廊)

Kawaguchi, Fujikawaguchiko, Minamitsuru District, Yamanashi 401-0304

How to get there?
If you searched it up in Google Maps, you will definitely be told to ride 2 buses to get to the location. As for me, since I went to Kawaguchi Asama Shrine, I just walked for around 20 minutes to the Maple Corridor. I suggest you do the same. Aside from you will enjoy the walk to the location, you will also save up money! Buses in the provinces are expensive, you know!

Entrance Fee: None.

Oishi Parkー What are those plants?

If you want to see something amazingly weird, go to Oishi Park!

image.png

Oishi Park showcases a 350 meters long road of Flowers. They exhibit all types of plants, and one of my favorites is that one in the picture. I don’t know what it’s called, but when you search it up in the internet, you’ll see that it’s supposed to look red. However, I think I went to the location late, that’s why they already turned old and brown. Nonetheless, they were still very pretty.

Aside from the Flower exhibit, Oishi Park also has a cafe in the middle of it. They have many seats and tables. With that, you can just easily spend an hour or two there eating ice cream with your family while enjoying the view of Lake Kawaguchi, the plants, and of Mt. Fuji at the Background.

image.png

I’m definitely coming back here during Winter because they will hold their Winter Illumination called Niagara Fall by the lights.

Location:
Oishi Park (大石公園)

2525番地の11先 Oishi, Fujikawaguchiko, Minamitsuru District, Yamanashi 401-0305

How to get there?
From the Maple Corridor, walk to Oishi Park

Entrance Fee: None.

Lake Kawaguchi

image.png

I went to Oishi Park from Maple Corridor by foot because that’s how you do it if you’re in this location! Why? Because that’s how you’ll get great angles and pictures of Mt. Fuji and Lake Kawaguchi together! Here are my snaps as I strolled beside the Lake Kawaguchi on my way to Oishi Park from Maple Corridor.

The ducks, the Autumn plants, Lake Kawaguchi, and of course, Mt. Fuji.

image.png

And of course, the famous postcard photo! As you walk by Lake Kawaguchi, you will encounter 2 lone Maple trees on your way. That’s the only location where you can take this unique shot, so make sure you walk to Oishi Park!

Where to stay in Fujiyoshida?

I initially didn’t plan to include this here, but knowing how good of a location this hostel is, I’m sharing this to all of you! This hostel is near Mt. Fuji Station, which is very accessible to transport and food. The most important thing is, their rooftop has a terrific view of Mt. Fuji! An advice? Eat your breakfast at the rooftop the following morning and enjoy the view!

image.png

Hostel 1889
2 Chome-6-3 Kamiyoshida, Fujiyoshida, Yamanashi 403-0005
Capsule Fee: ¥2,500 per night

Expenses, Expenses!

Total: ¥10,760
There were no entrance fees in the locations that I went to, but the transpo is definitely more expensive in Yamanashi and I obviously ate a lot. So if you worked your way around the things that I splurged into, you will definitely yield a cheaper travel cost. However, since it’s Japan, a travel cost of around ¥10,000 for 1 night and 1 day is definitely reasonable. Therefore, Yamanashi is absolutely not an expensive place to travel to given the beauty it offers.

  • Food (4 meals): ¥3,500
  • Transpo: ¥4,760
    Katahama Sta. ⇒ Gotemba Sta. Train: ¥510
    Gotemba Sta. ⇒ Mt. Fuji Station Bus: ¥1,340
    Mt. Fuji Sta. ⇒ near Kawaguchi Asama Shrine Bus: ¥410
    Near Oishi Park ⇒ Mt. Fuji Sta. Bus: ¥610
    Near Hostel 1889 ⇒ Gotemba Sta. Bus: ¥1,340
    Gotemba Sta. ⇒ Numazu Sta. Train: ¥420
    Numazu Sta. ⇒ Lala Port Bus Sta.: ¥130
  • Accommodation: ¥2,500

image.png

That’s my 1-day Autumn Tour in Yamanashi!

I know there were still a lot of places that I missed to go such as the famous Fuji-Q Highland and the Sengen Shrine, but I’m leaving them out the list for now because I’m planning to visit those in Spring! I know they would look better on that season. So follow my blog because I will definitely publish an article for that!

I hope you enjoyed my Autumn day tour in Yamanashi! Till next season!

image.png

Yours,
Post Signatures 1.png

Sort:  

Ang gandaaaaaaaaaa 😍😍😍

Thank you for dropping by dito, @labanez! 🍁🍂

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @danaperez! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP