Bastia and Licciana Nardi - Picsonbike Day

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)


All Rights Reserved.
All the images contained in this post are taken and post processed by me. All the contents in this post are copyright-protected. All the uses of the contents - and their derivatives - are strictly prohibited without the explicit consent of the author.



cover.jpg


hello.jpg

Today I decided to create a post about a new bike trip completed last week. During my bike rides, I happen to snap some photos and I started indexing these photos a handful of years ago with the hashtag #picsonbike. This behavior has become characteristic, so much so that I have decided to indicate these days as "Picsonbike Day" in my posts.


This time towards Licciana Nardi

I left in the morning, a hot day, exactly like the last ones of this period. Clear sky, the road not too clear, but fortunately just warm. I met a former training partner I hadn't seen for some time, and I said goodbye as I turned towards Sarzana. From there, I followed the Via Aurelia for a short distance and then continued along the South Cisa road. I crossed Santo Stefano Magra and biked near the unfortunate Albiano's Bridge, still sore after the complete break-up of more than a year ago. When I arrived in Aulla I tried to get supplies from a fountain, but I realized that it was temporarily out of order. So I continued along the road along the Taverone River, from which the first meters of steady climb began. Before arriving in Licciana Nardi, I looked for a fountain near Monti: the only success was the photo of a monument inside a little park. I leave that below to show you.

01.jpg

Returning to the road to Licciana Nardi, I decided to stop in the town, looking - this time with success - for a local fountain and eating the second half of little tart of the day. At that point the fun began: a short uphill stretch in the direction of Agnino, to then turn left and welcome the first real uphill ramps. A climb that I had never faced before, the one that goes towards Bastia, Paretola and Cisigliana. I passed the first country without stopping, deciding that I would have passed later. It is useless to hide, the climb is quite hard, especially in the first sections, where it continues at a constant average climbing gradient of 7-8-9% and almost entirely under the sun. Fortunately, something changed before the junction for Paretola, from where I continued towards Cisigliana. At the entrance to the town, a sign indicated a very rough road that directed towards Prada di Cisigliana. I tried to go from there, and I resisted for several dirt sections, except for a couple where I set foot on the ground so as not to slip on the raw rocks. Unfortunately, I didn't reach the top, I stopped halfway due to the multitude of insects that had surrounded me.

I, therefore, decided to return to Cisigliana and there I took a break, taking some pictures of what I had around me. There was not a living soul, both the church and the small square were invaded by silence, only broken by a few faint winds and by the singing of some animals nearby. In the photo, I have portrayed a small mosaic nailed to a wall in the square.

06.jpg

In the photos you can see the church, and the path that led to it, seen with your back to the church.

03.jpg

05.jpg

Towards Bastia

But the journey didn't end here. As mentioned, I also intended to stop in Bastia, so I went back facing the descent and following the short tear that led to the pillar of the village, a monument clearly visible from the main road: a beautiful castle.

I didn't know Bastia as a small village, but I found some photos that portrayed the castle and I must say that the outside really deserves your attention. It looks well maintained, and I also noticed a house number, for which I assume the domicile of a caretaker who keeps it looking so good. The road makes a 360° turn around the castle, allowing you to admire a small church closed by a metal fence. Below, you can see a short roundup of photos of the church and castle from various angles.

10.jpg

02.jpg

07.jpg

09.jpg

08.jpg


Finally

As always, to end my journey, it is necessary to retrace the reverse route and return home. This case was no exception, and I closed the day by hitting the 100-kilometer mark for the first time for several years. I took care of my during-ride-diet and integrated it with 2 packs of mineral salts: apparently, it was enough to counter the heat and the muggy that reign supreme in this period in the areas where I live in.

And nothing, that's all. I hope not to have bored you, and I give you an appointment for a next post. If you want, you can search for further information on the web about Licciana Nardi, Bastia and Cisigliana.

A greeting!


picsonbike.jpg

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1297.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much, I wish you a nice work :)


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

@tipu curate

Thank you very much, Nina :D !BEER


Hey @ninahaskin, here is a little bit of BEER from @davidesimoncini for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Interesting place. These and similar photos from your travels would fit into the #aroundtheworld competition, which I announce every Friday :-)
!LUV

I enjoy to know it, thank you. I'll take a look to the competition soon :) !LUV 1