You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Burlington, VT: The good, the bad, and the ugly part 1

in Pinmapple7 months ago

Sounds like a pretty nice city!

Boy the bathroom thing is no joke. In Japan we get stalls surrounded by doors that close completely, stall walls that go all the way to the floor, a nice ledge for any baggage (also a nice ledge for baggage on the wall behind the urinals), and the rooms are visited by the cleaning lady every hour so they are spotless. I'm always a bit horrified and feel reverse culture shock the most when I come back home and use a public restroom. If the ones in that city are even slightly better than the normal American standard, that is awesome!

Did the bicycle lanes look safe? I love biking, but my main complaint is biking lanes are usually too narrow so the cars get uncomfortably close as you ride in one. Also, people tend to park in the bicycle lanes, which should be illegal, but cops rarely care about something like that. Same in Japan, same in Indiana. Was it better up there?

Sort:  

I would say the biking lanes were a good three feet across which realistically should be enough room. I can't recall if anyone were parking in them, but we saw several parking enforcement people out, so I have a feeling they would have ticketed them. Those bathrooms sound awesome! Like my dream come true. I was in a dive bar a while ago and the door to the stall didn't lock and it was literally only five feet high, so anyone standing on the other side could literally look over into the stall. My wife said the women's bathroom was the same.