My Solo 3-day Backpacking Trip in Ha Giang - The Northernmost Point of The Country

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hello guys, how are you today?
I have just completed my solo 3-day backpacking trip in the beautiful land of Ha Giang, the northernmost province of Vietnam, so I would like to share with you my experience of this trip.

Ảnh đại diện.png

First, to explain why I chose Ha Giang for this trip, let me introduce it a little bit. Ha Giang is the northernmost province of Vietnam sharing the border with China. It is where the milestone Km0 is located, and it was also chosen to place the northernmost landmark of the country and Lung Cu Flag Tower to mark the country's territory. Besides, Ha Giang is also famous for its majestic beauty of mountains, valleys, terraced fields, Dong Van rock plateau, Ma Pi Leng pass, Nho Que river and poetic winding mountain passes. In addition, when I came here, I also learned a lot about the simple life, costumes, and interesting customs and cultures of the ethnic minorities here such as the H'mong, Lo Lo, Dao, etc. ...All of which inspired me to make this trip. And when I found out about this place, I was told about Ha Giang Loop, a beautiful road connecting famous attractions in Ha Giang. So I decided to do this trip alone so that I could explore my own abilities and also take the time to enjoy the beauty of this place to the fullest. And on a recommendation of a local here, I did this trip for 3 days. Okay, sit tight behind my motorbike and let's start the ride together.


DAY 1: Ha Giang City - Milestone Km0 - Quan Ba ​​- Yen Minh - Lo Lo Chai Village

From Da Nang city, I flew to Noi Bai airport of Hanoi, then I took the Bang Phan sleeper bus to Ha Giang city. This bus runs at night, so it will arrive in Ha Giang city early in the morning. Tell the driver to drop you off at Giang Son homestay. There, I rented a motorbike to start my trip. Even though it was my first time doing this trip and I especially went alone, I felt quite confident because Ms. Giang, the owner of Giang Son homestay, was very enthusiastic in giving me some tips about the trip. Okay let's start the trip.

IMG_1786.jpg

This sleeper bus is also quite spacious and comfortable, right? People call it the royal bus.

From Giang Son homestay, I went to check the milestone Km0 right in the center of Ha Giang city.

IMG_1835.jpg

IMG_1834.jpg

IMG_1832.jpg

After that, I stopped at Pho Nga Cong restaurant to eat a full breakfast before the long journey ahead. I have eaten chicken pho in many places, but I must say that the chicken pho in Ha Giang has a very special taste.

I don't know why the chicken here is so crispy.

After having a full breakfast, following Highway 4C, I rode the motorbike on beautiful and winding roads to come to Quan Ba ​​where I stopped, rested and enjoyed the scenery at Quan Ba ​​heaven gate.

6M8A6016.jpg

6M8A5998.jpg

View from Quan Ba heaven gate.

The time I went to Ha Giang was during the buckwheat flower season, so I saw them everywhere.

Binh An Linh Tu Temple is hidden in the mountains.

Then I continued my journey to Yen Minh town. The road still leads continuously through poetic winding passes with small villages and rolling hills in the distance. After that, I stopped in Yen Minh town and had lunch at a restaurant named Dat Beo because it looked pretty crowded 😁.

6M8A6042.jpg

6M8A6000.jpg

6M8A6032.jpg

6M8A6041.jpg

After lunch and a short rest, I continued my journey on beautiful roads to reach the final destination of the first day, Lo Lo Chai Village. On that road, I stopped at many beautiful places to take pictures, such as Tham Ma slope, the famous house in the movie "Pao's Story", and the house of the H'mong King.

Tham Ma Slope

6M8A6139.jpg

The famous house in the movie "Pao's Story"

6M8A6171.jpg

The house of the H'mong King

And the last destination of the first day was Lo Lo Chai Village where I stayed at Lo Lo Eco House. Lo Lo Chai village is a small village of the Lo Lo people, located right next to Lung Cu Flag Tower, and it is the northernmost village of Vietnam bordering China.

Lo Lo Chai Village

Lo Lo Eco House

Although I was the only guest at Lo Lo Eco House at that time, I had a wonderful time there living with the locals and learned a lot of interesting things about their history, culture and customs.

6M8A6303.jpg

6M8A6267.jpg


DAY 2: Lo Lo Chai Village - The Northernmost Point - Lung Cu Flag Tower - Dong Van Town - Ma Pi Leng Pass - Nho Que River - Clay House Homestay

The second day was probably the hardest day of my 3 day trip because there were so many beautiful destinations to explore. After a wonderful night and delicious breakfast at Lo Lo Eco House, I took time to explore around Lo Lo Chai Village to learn about the people's lives there and drink coffee at Cuc Bac cafe which is opened by a Japanese couple.

6M8A6541.jpg

6M8A6518.jpg

After that, I went to check the northernmost landmark of the country where I could see with my own eyes the border between Vietnam and China.

6M8A6629.jpg

One interesting thing is that when you arrive here, the clock in your phone will automatically be an hour faster due to the time zone change.

Say "Hello" to China.

After that, I continued to check Lung Cu Flag Tower where I felt very proud of my country upon arrival.

6M8A6661.jpg

6M8A6665.jpg

6M8A6668.jpg

After that, I continued on the beautiful winding road to Dong Van town where I stopped to explore Dong Van old quarter and stopped for lunch at a restaurant named Hai Beo. Again, I stopped there because it looked popular 😁.

6M8A6244.jpg

6M8A6250.jpg

6M8A6159.jpg

After lunch, I left Dong Van district to head towards Meo Vac district where the legendary Ma Pi Leng pass and Nho Que river are located. And just like what I have heard, these are beautiful destinations that you must not miss when coming to Ha Giang.

6M8A6705.jpg

6M8A6711.jpg

6M8A6771.jpg

6M8A6801.jpg

After I finished checking Ma Pi Leng pass and Nho Que river, it was already dark. Then I stopped and stayed at Clay House Homestay in the H'mong community cultural tourism village in Pa Vi commune, Meo Vac district where I had a comfortable stay and delicious meals.

6M8A7029.jpg

6M8A7025.jpg

The H'mong community cultural tourism village in Pa Vi commune, Meo Vac district


DAY 3: Clay House Homestay - M-shaped slope - Yen Minh - Thuan Hoa Road - Ha Giang city

The third day was supposed to be the easiest day, but it turned out to be the hardest day for me. It started to rain when I left Clay House Homestay. You know I'm nearsighted, so it's very difficult for me to ride a motorbike in the rain, especially on winding mountain roads. And when I reached the top of the pass, I could barely see because of the thick fog. The only thing I could do was turn on my motorcycle lights, go slow, and stop often to clean my eyeglasses. But then I finally completed the hard road to the legendary M-shaped slope.

It started to rain when I left Clay House Homestay.

6M8A7058.jpg

The legendary M-shaped slope

After stopping to rest and take pictures at the M-shaped slope, I continued my journey to return to Yen Minh town and had lunch again at Dat Beo restaurant. The owner of the restaurant was quite surprised when I returned and still served me a delicious lunch. After lunch I heard the locals talk about a new and more beautiful road called Thuan Hoa to return to Ha Giang city, so I decided to take that route. At the time I did this trip, this road was not yet visible on google map, so you should ask the locals about it. And just like what the locals say, this road is really beautiful and worth checking out.

6M8A7136.jpg

6M8A7143.jpg

6M8A7110.jpg

6M8A7101.jpg

I went back to Ha Giang city and 5pm after a wonderful 3 day solo trip. I was very satisfied with the trip because I discovered a lot of beautiful places and learned a lot of cool things. I also feel quite proud of myself for conquering this rather tough trip alone. I will definitely come back to this beautiful land in spring or summer to admire its beauty in cherry blossom season and ripe rice season. And I hope that you have had an enjoyable trip with me through the photos I have taken. If you guys want to take that trip and have any questions, don't hesitate to ask me.

6M8A6063.jpg

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and have a great day!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Đẹp xĩu anh ạ :) Anh bảo mỗi mùa có nét đẹp riêng mà 😂

Vẻ đẹp đó anh đã may mắn chiêm ngưỡng, nhưng a k muốn mọi người cũng được trải nghiệm 😁

Đẹp quá đi ạ 😍

Thanks Hiệp.

Cứu thế này cướp việc của các y bác sĩ quá a

Thật ra a cũng đã loại bỏ rất nhiều tấm khác. 😁

Thank you for this amazing post 👍

Thank you very much friend @mintrawa

Wow!!! Thanks for sharing your adventurous trip! I love solo trips 😃
I can't help smiling with your discovery of the time zone adjustment on smart phones, good one! 👏

Yeah it is interesting, right. I was excited to find out that too.
Thanks @nguyenthaonguyen

I love the food and your photography, have a nice day ahead.

Thank you very much friend @afterglow

You're welcome (^_^)

Thấy đi mà phát thèm 😀

Thanks @kydg
pack your backpack and go!

Wow what a great trip Do Do. Those mountains are stunning! Looks like a must see place in Vietnam.

Thanks Sara, that's a must see place in Vietnam. Don't miss it if you travel to Vietnam. I'm sure there are many things to explore over there.

Now that´s a big one. Both, the trip and the post :) Thanks for sharing it with us, the photos look awesone :)

Thank you very much @phortun
I had a great trip despite of bad weather. I will defintely go back there again in a better season.

đẹp quá anh ơi, quá đỉnh, thời tiết không cho phép nhưng mà anh lại chụp quá đỉnh 👍

Thanks em nhé.

Hi,
Amazing places and the post are really attractive.
Cheers!

Thank you very much friend @triplug
I'm happy that you liked the post.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1419.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much for your great support @lizanomadsoul

Cảnh đẹp mê luôn. Nhưng không chụp hình cô gái Hà Giang nào hả a 😁 hay anh chụp mà a k đăng.

😁 They will be on very soon!

Love the pictures from the montains in the distance and the stream across the rocks. Thanks for sharing. Vietnam seems like a really picturesque travel destination. 😀

Thank you very much friend @timoremoti
Yeah you should come to visit Vietnam. There are many things to see and explore.

Xịn qá a ơi. E đi 2 lần vẫn chưa đi đc Hẻm Tu Sản. Nhất định quay lại lần 3 để đc đi chỗ đó. Amazing trip!!!!

Anh thì gặp thời tiết xấu quá mưa + sương mù, hẹn vào một mùa đẹp hơn.

đang tính hỏi sao a ko chỉnh ảnh thì chợt nhớ ra ooiiii thời tiết 😂 anyway, it's still amazing when tralling solo 😍

Đợt a đi thời tiết xấu quá em ạ, k cứu được, chúng tôi đã cố gắng hết sức.

ui may sao tuần đó em đi lên Hòa Bình sáng hơi âm u tí mà chiều nắng đẹp thôi rồi luôn, cùng ngày với a luôn đó😁

Buồn thiệt chớ, a lên là âm u luôn.

Lần sau đi HB đi a, đẹp ná thở luôn asaaaa, Ba Khan-chỗ đc ví như Vịnh Hạ Long trên cạn í😍

Wow! You have had a very cool and amazing journey. And you wrote a very wonderful photo report about this adventure.
I am delighted!

Thank you very much friend @apnigrich
I'm happy that you liked the post.
And yeah I'm very happy with the trip.

I see that you have made a wonderful journey. And this, in contrast to our snow, looks even more wonderful.
What kind of camera do you use on your journey? Which lens? Your photos look very wonderful.

Thank you for stopping by friend @alechi
I'm happy that you liked the post.
I use canon 5D Mark III and two lenses 16-35 II and 85mm.

Thank you very much for the answer, @dodovietnam
I will continue to observe your travels

This is an amazing and fun trip, thanks for sharing. These pictures are lovely too.

Thank you very much for stopping by @queenb33 and have a nice day!

You are welcome.

Ù ôi Hà Giang vẫn đẹp vẫn khiến lòng người nôn nao mỗi khi nhắc tới. Trên đó bữa nay chắc cũng vắng hả a?

Uhm nay vắng lắm em ạ, ở đâu cũng vắng, tận dụng đợt này đi hợp lý e nhé.

Dạ anh 😍 thấy ac tung tăng khắp nơi mà cũng háo hức quá 😆

just pack your backpack and go!

xịn ghê á anh

Thanks e nhé 😁

Congratulations @dodovietnam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 6000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 7000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!