Wednesday Walking 'round Urquhart!

in Pinmapplelast year

The day had started with a drive through the snow - REAL snow!

We had seen some dusting on the hills before, but we actually had to pull over so that @penderis could experience snow for the first time! @samsmith1971 caught a few shots of our snowball fight, but I chose to showcase the little snowman who represented the fun of our day! hehehe He's a lover, not a fighter! LOL

We caught our first glimpse of the Loch Ness! Even though @tengolotodo kept telling me that we wouldn't see Nessie this early in the season, as she had gone down south for the winter - I refused to believe! I knew that with a little DreemIe Magic - we would see her for sure! So... I kept my eyes peeled for her! hehee

And even though SOMEONE WHO SHALL NOT BE NAMED was hating all the selfies we were taking... hehehehe HE still smiled for this picture with me and Sam with the Loch Ness behind us! I love this picture of us, don't you Sam?!?! It was the PERFECT kind of weather for taking pictures - chilly, but not too cold and the perfect white light! I'm really pleased with how all the shots of the day came out!

As we came out of the gift shop and down the stairs, here was our first glimpse of Castle Urquhart! I know that its not as majestic as some of the other castles that are still intact, but there was just something special about seeing it here with Loch Ness behind it and that beautiful fog! Doesn't it just seem like you'd be pulled into another time if you stepped just one foot more? hehehe Come - let's see if you feel the magic with me!

I love when they put little signs up with info and sometimes drawings of what it "would have looked like" . This sign has a bit of writing that only @tengolotodo can read for me! hehehe I missed his show yesterday! But next time, I'll have to drop this picture into the discord and have him read it for me with his lovely accent! hehehe well - not next week, because I'll be dropping hints for "Where the heck is Dreemie - but the following week for sure!" hehe

NOW are you feeling the magic??? Just take a look at this gorgeous shot!
The green grass, the beautiful ruins, the loch, the mist - It's straight out of a fairytale! Let's get closer!

I loved getting close to this and seeing the detail in the weaponry! It always amazes me - the way the human mind is able to capture and idea and build a machine with such skill! It's sad that often, these machines are used in battles and wars to destroy such beautiful creations such as Urquhart- but such is life, I suppose.

For a little perspective on the size of the arch - I took a shot of my two traveling buddies! hehehe Such cute little tourists! LOL

This almost reminds me of playing with a dollhouse! You know how the one side is completely intact, but then the other side is open to let you play with the dolls on each floor? Maybe that's a NICE way of looking at Castle Urquhart? hehehe Instead of a once-beautiful castle that is now in ruins - we can just pretend that it's OPEN on one side for us to see easily inside! lol Now let's walk inside, so we can be the dolls. hehe

And walking inside that portion - you can climb the stairs and peek out the window - yes - the window! hehehe not QUITE what we are used to, but hey - it did bring light inside! LOL

Another shot of walking round the ruins, and I loved how it was set up so that you could actually see where rooms and quarters and such used to be. We even saw a little place that was like a massive outdoor oven! It was really hard to capture the image since it was dark - but being there was fun to imagine that you were standing inside a place where food used to be cooked on a mass scale!

And outer wall, simple and yet elegant. Even though these are simple rocks stacked on top of each other in random sizes, shapes, and patterns, they have still stood the test of time. Of course, they are showing plenty of signs of wear and tear- but my goodness, this was finished being built in the 1500's! I know of some bulidings that haven't even stood for 100 years because of shoddy workmanship! LOL So I'd say the old girl is still doing pretty well, if you ask me! 😄

We walked down to the banks of Loch Ness and tried to skip a few stones. I'm absolutely terrible at it. hahaha I think I MIGHT have gotten two hops. But to be fair, Pen isn't so bad at it and I think he could only get 4 hops - max! so hey!! not so bad - BUT LOOK AT THE PICTURE. Now, I know what Tengo said, but I can SPY with my DREEMIE EYE something causing a tiny wave in the water. And nope nope nope - you can say all you want that it's nothing but I KNOW what it is! or rather - WHO it is. It's still cold, so she just sent up a tiny little part of her fin to part that water - but she is DEFINITELY coming to say hi to Dreemie! LOLOL (yes. YES. don't rain on my Nessie parade!!! LOL)

Almost time to go, but I had to get one last panoramic shot of these beautiful grounds! Well? Were you caught in its spell with me? Think you'd like to come walk these grounds with me next time? hehehe

And one of my FAVORITE things to do after traipsing all around castle ruins? PICNIC time!!! hehehe We packed a picnic lunch of chicken salad sandwiches and chips (well, tofu salad sandwich for Sam! hehe) and had a nice time eating and chatting in the parking lot! There is just something special about bringing your lunch with you to eat on location!


I truly loved this day - and really can't wait to come back again when Nessie is feeling a bit warmer and less shy! Then she will probably jump out of the water and wave to me. What do you think? hehehe



This post hit SEVERAL communities at once! hehehe You have to love when you can write one post and shine on lots of communities with some love! hehehe

First - of course it's Wednesday and you know that means we're walking on Wednesday for @tattoodjay and his WednesdayWalk community! If you have never been - please do consider joining in! It's a great place to showcase your part of the world and JJ is one of the coolest cats on the chain, and you can tell him I told you so! hehehe

Second, (and third!) It's our @pinmapple challenge this month for DreemPort Challenge! THIS is one you don't want to miss! Pinmapple is SO MUCH FUN to use! Head over to 👉this post👈 to get details on how to use Pinmapple.com for the DreemPort Challenge this week - and DON'T FORGET - after you write your post - SUBMIT YOUR URL to DreemPort TOMORROW. (not today- Thursday! hehe) and do it by 5pm PST - or else the site will close without ye! hehehe Join in the fun! and... don't forget to play "where the heck is Dreemie" next week! LOL should be lots of fun to collect clues and be the first to pin my location down to win 25 HSBI 🤑





Thanks to @shadowspub, @penderis, @bluefinstudios, @kenechukwu97, @kemmyb, @wesphilbin, @mypathtofire, @melinda010100, @samsmith1971 @silversaver888 and @dreemsteem for making the @dreemport voting power go farther! ❤️


All images and dividers are mine ❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

thank you so much @pinmapple!!! hehehe i hope that we get some more dreemers submitting!!! I've seen about 17 of their posts coming through DreemPort already - so yay!!! hehehe

The Gangs all there!

hehehehe yes!!!

someday ALL the dreemer gang there! that's my biggest dreem hehehehe

sigh... you make me homesick for the two of you hehehe 💗
I do love seeing all these pics... but... aah the memories... brings a mix of feelings 🤗
Enough already !LOLZ !LUV

How about that countdown then? Are we due an update, Ms. Dreems? 🧐😜

What did the Golden Gate bridge say to the Golden Gate river when they broke up?
I'm over you.

Credit: reddit
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971

(3/4)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

hahaha yes - we are due for a countdown update - but... how about I do it when I get back - then i can focus on the other countdown now hahahahahahaha

and yes- yes... the mix of feelings.

I got all caught up in looking at other pictures today and just giggled and sighed. mmmmm can't wait for october hehehe

oh definitely... you focus on your special countdown for now... 💕

hehe... you just made me sigh thinking about January...

!LUV

me too - i've been sighing all day.

I just saw another pic- and i thought this was only 6 weeks ago!?!?!?!? how?!?!?!?

it feels so much longer!!! like a lifetime ago almost hahahaha

and its good feelings but i need more - much more hehehe

i jsut realized that i might have sent a comment as joe before - but you'll know its me hahaha

Dreeeemmmyyyyyyyyy, this looks like such a cool adventure and I love that Ocean.

Really love the photos in this post they look amazing and it looks like the group had tons of fun.

Glad to see you wrapping up warm 🙂

BATMANNNNNNNNNNNNNNN!!!! hehehehe it was so fun!!! this was back in January hehehehe we had a blast coming through - i want to come back for sure cuz I have to see more of Scotland!

next time - you up for a visit???? hehehehehe i need a hug from you! LOL

love you batman!

Dreeemmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! well, it seems you had a great time and it is so good to hear you want to do it again, I must admit ever since visiting some local towns and traveling to Barcelona, Spain last summer I now love traveling and exploring.

Scotland is very far for me as I live far east of the UK level with London sort of. I recently watched a cool video by A local Youtuber who recently got on A sleeper train from London to Scotland which was cool, for sure maybe one day I can do it! and even better see you!

Love you dreemy!

right?!?!? traveling - once you get bitten by that bug - its just - its impossible to get a cure for it hehehehe

and we were in London!!!

cuz Sam lives there - so even if we end up in Scotland - maybe we still can see you! hahahaha
depends on where we fly into i guess LOL

but we can make it happen - i would love to see you! hehehehe and HUG YOU AND NEVER LET GO hahahah

You will be shocked but I am yet to ever visit London! it has been on my list for A while but I am waiting for warmer weather and a cheap hotel for 1-2 nights so I can explore and do many things in London without feeling rushed.

that is so cool you have been and me too dreemyyyyyy I won't let go either lot of hugs and by the time we let go, it will be home time hehe.

Or Nessie would just be so friendly as to want to take you home with her...😃
I think I saw that ruin in a video once and perhaps with Nessie tangled around it. I'm sure it's photoshopped (because Nessie's manager was under the weather) but it looked real enough...lol.

I'd literally do anything for a burger right now...

ROFLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL yes Nessie LOLOl so many photoshopped pics of her hahaha

but in my picture - that is a real ripple (and a real imagination that its her causing the ripple) hahahahahahaha

mmmm burger. oh i would really like a burger now too. see what you started?? hahahahah

I told you Nessie was away. You really did have a great time and the plaque haha we shall see!

hahahahaha no no no - i tell you she came to see me!!! there is a tiny fin under the water there - she is wayyyy down deep but she sent up a fin to ripple the water ahahahaha

hehe you think huh 😁

That's quite a day leaving good memories inscribed in our minds.

The pictures are all nice also... I wish to someday visit some cool places also😅

there is nothing that sets my soul on fire more than traveling to different places with my sweet friends! hehehehe i love all the hugs the most LOL i can't get enough of them hehehehe

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

thank you @bhattg!!!! hehehehehe and thank you @indiaunited :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

thank you @innerblocks :) and thank you @wesphilbin

A great walk indeed. I cannot believe Pen is just seeing the snow for the first time. Doesn´t it fall at his place?
I would want to experience the snow too... Olawalium is such a lucky man to see the snow and even touch it, he posted on his status some days ago and I want to 🙈

You guys are always having fun together and it´s always amazing to see you going on that trip together and enjoying the moment.

hehehe no - Pen lives in South Africa - he has never seen the snow hehehe

yessss Ola Cola Zola !!! hehehe but maybe he is like - finished with seeing it now. once you see it - then you realize how cold it has to be to keep it- and then you want the sun back hahahahahahaha

and yes - i really loved that trip so much - but you know i long for a bigger one with more dreemers hehehe

So much history there - and even more magic :) ... I did see the dark object that disturbed the water, but can't tell what it is!

Can I please use one of the pictures of the ruins in an episode of Stacia's Blank Canvas?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

of course you know that is Nessie that disturbed the water! LOLOLOL

just use your imagination! hahaha

and OF COURSE you can use any picture you want!!! :) and if I don't ever get these messages soon enough - know that you always have permission and just tell me later hahahahaha

thank you so much for thinking one of the pics is worthy of a feature in your story! hehehe

Such a deep body of water, anything is possible!

It'll be perfect, thanks so much ♥️ I'll tag you when I get a chance to write the story :) I FINALLY posted the last few episodes of the Goddess of Darkness series!!!

!PIZZA

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @princessbusayo.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thank you sweet @princessbusayo and @ecency!! :)

The place is truly majestic. Never been to this kind of ruins. Wish I could visit one in the future. The whole place reminds me of some movies I saw about wars and battles of kingdoms.

I wonder what/who Nessie is.😁

hahahaha you don't know Nessie???

its the Loch Ness Monster that lives in the water.. hehehe go google up the myth of her

but know - that it is not a myth LOL for I too have seen her - hahahahahahahaha

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the post - and yes - battles,kingdoms, fairy tales - wonder! hehehehe love it!!! heheh

what a beautiful area for a walk, a great photo of the three of you and the greens ohh i love them and it brings back memories of when I visited there, I did not get to see Nessie, maybe she was on vacation somewhere warmer at the time lOL

Thanks for joining the Wednesday, its always fun for me to visit the walks from all around the world, getting a feel for communities where people live and what they see on their daily walks

hey weretwin! hehehehe - right??? the green!!! the lovely gorgeous green - its calls to me! hehehehe so beautiful!!!

LOLOL and Nessie - shhh don't listen to Tengo - she was there in my picture - right after I took the shot - she jumped up in the water and did a flip -but you know.. I was too slow to capture it on film hahahahahahahahahaha

people often say the UK had horrible summers always raining, but on my visits there i always got lucky with beautiful weather
Nessie is so hard to capture she moves and flops so so quickly lOL

Hehe!!! I'm sure if anyone is able to see Nessie in that lake, it's you LOLOL.

I love the walk. I love to see the three of you enjoying that excursion. And I love picnics, they remind me of my father and how he loved those plans of going to explore someplace surrounded by nature and have a picnic.

I'm in for the #dreemportchallenge with pinmapple ;)

yes yes - as I told Tattoodjay - hehehe right after i took the picture of her little ripple - she JUMPED UP out of the water and flipped and splashed me

and right before she went back into the water - she winked -because she knew no one would ever believe mee hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

and yes - picnics - they are the thing to do!!! so so important to spend those times with good home-made meals hehehee

did you get your pinmapple post into DreemPort today?? quick - you still have an hour before it closes hahahaha

So you found yourself at Castle Urquhart at Loch Ness...? If I am not mistaken, that means you were on the doorstep of @littlebee4!

Maybe Nessie made that little wave when she came up to see what on earth was going on when you made the stones skip over the water...lol!

I'm glad you've had such a good time, @dreemsteem!

At that point she visited I was still in transit… on our road trip 😉 and not living there yet. Think we were at the in-laws in England wayyyy down the country.
If… we would have met up. 😎

Ah okay...so my timeline was a little bit out...lol!

That makes sense😉👍!

Just a little bit 😉👋🏻😊
Happy Friday!

Oops😅!

Happy Friday to you too👍!

Thanks a lot 👋🏻😊☀️

I loved the 4th picture where you got the green of the grass overlooking the blue water and fog covered hills! A perfect snap if there ever was any!

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community