You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EuroVelo 7 - Haarboelle to Feddet 60 km

in Worldmappin2 years ago

It's really sad to me that Warmshowers.org died...a very kind older couple took me in when I was on my first ever tour, cycling with zero prep/plan/sense on the Isle of Mull in Scotland back in 2015.

There is a significant chance that had they NOT seen that I was shivering in the rain, wolfing down a cake at a little tavern off the road and was showing signs of extreme exhaustion...there honestly is a chance I wouldn't be typing to you right now.

Those folks were angels to me and there are MANY angels out there waiting, hoping to help fellow travelers, especially bike tourers (who are a pretty awesome group generally I'd like to think).

Warmshowers migrated I guess to https://www.trustroots.org/?circle=cyclists now so I just wanted to throw that in here if you ever wanted to check them out.

Your tour makes me feel so nostalgic for my last one which was my first one haha back in 2015. Your pics are beautiful. FOLLOWING.

Do we have a bike touring community here on Hive yet? We really should.

peace and tusend tak!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story, there are good lessons to be learned from you. Indeed I've met some good people on the road that expanded my perception of human kindness and offered their help in some difficult moments for nothing in return for which I will always be very grateful. Didn't knew about Trustroots, thank you for that! Hope you'll find some inspiration here for your second bike tour :)