Our vacation in Lisbon and visiting the Sintra castle

in Pinmapple2 years ago
I turned 30 years old 13th October, and it is also Norways autumn break. It's really nice to travel this week, because Norway are rainy and cold at this time.

We visited Sintra, the MAAT (Modern Art Museum), Sao Jorge and Pink street and other cool places. If you want to visit Lisbon, just have in mind to bring some great sneakers and prepare yourself for a lot of stairs and walking.

Our hotel was in the middle of everything. We usually only walked 5 min to get to a restaurant or a bar. It was perfect!

Me at the Pink Street!


We started our first day with a trip to Sintra. This is a very popular place, and there was a lot of castles near by too, but we needed two days to visit everything and we couldn't do that. We chose Sintra and the creepy (because of the fog) and beautiful woods that was placed near by. It was sooo many turists, even tho it was in October. We hate typical tourist places, but this was worth it in the end.

Sintra photobomb:

975D43C6-1BA7-4BDE-B2E2-F476289E3DE7.jpeg

BA04CFEA-D082-4D71-BC98-B06F017AA6FE.jpeg

9E7776B9-FD18-41F7-BD70-3337F038C22C.jpeg

2231678C-2493-4057-8F3B-1D28ACB9FCA0.jpeg

B10F2723-975D-4B52-8C39-5F0CB68D5170.jpeg

7F608A11-198A-4EF1-A517-73047BCCA318.jpeg

CF513005-6B13-429F-94DD-18DA91D55C02.jpeg

D24D5EFB-9BB6-4801-A471-35518173DEA0.jpeg

From the woods by Sintra


Our view from the hotel was so pretty. I can't remember having this beautiful view from any of the hotels I have stayed on.

77B067E5-A7F3-45AE-BF44-8BB8A7533A1E.jpeg


Of course there was a lot of bar's and restaurants in Lisbon. We didn't go to any good restaurants the first days, it was typical to only have some meat and some mixed vegetables on the side. A little bit boring. It's that kind of food we make at home when we are lazy to make anything.

But there was a lot of great bars. Many of the bartenders actually could make the drink as we like it. This isn't a normal thing in Norway, or any other places I have been to. And this was a normal thing in Lisbon.

D7CD2C89-D776-4760-B685-C3DC0ED775B6.jpeg


Lisbon is maybe one of the prettiest cities I have ever been to.

We walked a lot around everywhere, and there was so much great and beautiful buildings there. Here i Norway it's normal to build to only earn money. Some of the newest buildings doesn't have much good plan solutions, and the buildings look so much alike. I must say that some of the buildings have some nice location (for example there we are moving to). But Lisbon have really kept the great and old look all over the city. And keeping the traditional alive.

Here are some more pictures from popular places in Lisbon.

The one thing I loved about Lisbon is the architecture.

The peacock at Sao-Jorge castle was very social and some of them came to say hello when we sat down to eat.

The view from Sao-Jorge

At the Estatua de D. José. It's also the Commerce Square.

Me almost everywhere we went

@Pusen and me can recommend Lisbon. He also bought some new fun glasses!


We didn't have so much planned on my birthday because we had done everything we wanted to do before that day.

To go to MAAT wasn't that much prioritized because it didn't have much art that we like, even tho it was modern. Cause modern art can be reeeeaaaaally weird. But we took a TukTuk to the place, and I loved to try that out. And the place by MAAT was amazing:

30788C36-27A1-4815-86DE-6623D23ED6EF.jpeg

@Pusen inside of MAAT

If you are going to MAAT and you like Sushi I hiiiighly recommend you to go and visit Café In.

This was on my 30th birthday, so I didn't care much about what it costs. BUT, Norway are in general very expensive and the four plates of sushi we got here, costs almost the same as in Norway.

I loved that I could order A GLASS of champagne. I'm not used to that. I haven't been to any restaurant where I have seen they sold champagne on a glass, only bottle. And for a wine lover, this was just amazing. The glass of champagne was also cheep. I went to Stand up, after the prices in Norway went sky high, and I payed 24$ for one glass of a basic house white wine there, in Norway! And I payed 21$ for a glass of Champagne on Cafe In!

4676D2E3-5A52-49CD-B692-DEEEA81779F2.jpeg


We stayed in Lisbon for 4-5 days, and I don't regret to chose this city as our destination. We had the prettiest sunset back home at our flight.

E0C587AF-FDDB-4749-8E42-738326A4735B.jpeg

Thank you so much for reading!

I hope my time off Hive is over, and I'm back in the game! There have not been much fun things to write about, and that may be my problem. I haven't played much the Sims either, so I didn't had much content on that either.

The pictures of me are taken by @Pusen.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hey, first of all, Happy Birthday! Hehe.. You guys have very well deserved that trip, it's the best present we can give each other. I can tell you had a great time and visited amazing places. Blessings!

Thank you so much! We really loved it, we didn't regret the choice traveling to Lisbon. It's highly recommended to go there if you got the opportunity.

Happy birthday 🎉🥳 That's an epic vacation you guys had! 🤍✨🍾🥂

Thank you so much! We really loved it, it was so amazing :D

I hope you really enjoyed your vacation in this castle.

It was really nice in Lisbon and visiting the Sintra castle. We loved it!

Happy birthday. It's been a really nice trip for the two of you. Lisbon looks like a very clean and beautiful city. I especially loved the Sindra castle. It really is a great castle.

Tank you so much! It was a really beautiful city and I don't regret that choice. Highly recommended to travel there

Congratulations @emuse! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 90 posts.
Your next target is to reach 100 posts.
You received more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Happy belated birthday! My wife and I traveled to Lisbon, took a day trip to Sintra in 2017 and just fell in love with the town. It was one of the highlights of our week there. Your pictures bring back so many memories.

Thank you so much! Lisbon is a really beautiful city, and when we did a research on what to do Sintra was number one. We don't regret it at all, even tho there was a long queue the first 1-2 hours.