Following The Paulines' History

in Pinmapple2 years ago

At the beginning of the month, I had the pleasure to see an amazing collection of books, objects, remains and artifacts, belonging to the Paulines order. The exhibition is a permanent one in one of the museums in Budapest, but it was brought to Transylvania and set up in Targu Mures for 3 months. I wanted to see the exhibition because to be honest, I didn't know much about the order, so it's always good to learn and what better way then seeing what's left of the past with your own eyes.

Following The Paulines' History.jpg

If you've missed the first par of my adventure at the museum and want to learn more about the Paulines and see some old and amazing books, you can check out my previous posts, here and here.

20220901_120819a.jpg

This is handwritten journal, kind of a diary, in which they were noting what was happening. It is written in Hungarian and the date is June 1950, at Pentecost and after. There were typewriters then, but it seems like they preferred handwritten journals. This is written with ink, obviously as there were no ball point pens back then.

20220901_120826(0)a.jpg

Another interesting journal. I can't figure out what it is, there are names, dates in it and it is really old. Imagine relying on such analog data, turning the pages till you find what you're looking for :)

20220901_120834a.jpg

The rosary of Father Miklós Homonnai, from Pécs, Hungary, made of electric wire. I must confess, I've never seen a rosary before. I'm a reformed christian, we don't have rosary or cross, I've only seen such thing in the movies.

20220901_121030(0)a.jpg

Memorial document on the Pauline monks sentenced during the communist regime. Unfortunately, where there's communism, there can't be religion. How many people have been jailed, persecuted and tortured because of their religious believes.

20220901_121115a.jpg

This is a foundation stone, with the inscription of OSOP. I don't know about you, but I find it amazing. Look at that work! Historians are still trying to figure out what OSOP means.

20220901_121157a.jpg

20220901_121301(0)a.jpg

Those of you who are following me know, I've been posting about books lately, especially old books and the more books I see, the more I realize how much I miss them. This is from 1611, which makes it 411 years old. It's from Alba-Iulia, where there was (I guess there's still is) a theological seminary.

20220901_121341(0)a.jpg

A sad scene, in which Matthias Fuhrmann, the artist illustrated (in 1732) how the Ottomans destroyed the tomb of St. Paul.

20220901_121410a.jpg

Different objects, fragments of stones found during excavations.

20220901_121623a.jpg

After getting familiar with the medieval period of the Paulines, seeing different artifacts, objects, stones, books and documents, I stepped in a different, more interesting room. It was semi dark again, so I had to work magics to be able to capture what was displayed in a way to be ale to show you some half decent photos. So please go easy on me as it wasn't my fault 😂

20220901_121646a.jpg

Painting of Benedek Virág, by János Donát, from 1815. This was a bit strange and Virág means flower and it is a female name today.

20220901_121707a.jpg

20220901_121733a.jpg

20220901_121742a.jpg

This is another interesting clock, that would fit in my imaginary vintage room 😀 They sure knew how to decorate things back then and those who could afford such a work of art certainly had room for these beauties.

20220901_121752a.jpg

If the clock wasn't beautiful enough, here's another wonderful piece, a gorgeous fireplace.

20220901_121803a.jpg

Vestment depicting King Saint Stephen of Hungary, from 1930. Imagine how valuable this is.

20220901_121826a.jpg

Depiction of the statue in Sasvár on a wooden coat of arms shield, 1748.

20220901_121901a.jpg

The Blessed Virgin Mary in Sasvár. Oil painting on canvas, 1748.

20220901_121921a.jpg

Depiction of the statue of Virgin Mary on a wooden coat of arms, 1748.

20220901_122117a.jpg

Pál Széchényi, by unknown artist, 18th century. Unfortunately there was not enough light to take a good photo and flash is never allowed, where there's paintings. But even if it would be allowed, flash on oil painting is the worst idea. Regardless, you can see the quality of the painting and the talent of the artist. I wish I could paint like that.

The last part of the exhibition is of a different type and I'm going to show you something that you may never seen before.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

Tbh I am not really that kind of a bookie person not sure why, my bad! But sometimes just the thought of these artifacts kind of makes me wonder how miniature I am lol. 400, 500 and even thousand years. But sometimes it gives me chills across the spine by just thinking about the history and all the things that our ancestors have done and been through.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Lol the painting of Benedek Virág looks like the female version of the Mona Lisa painting. It also looks like a picture I vaguely recall of some very popular scientist. Or maybe it’s because the people from those times all dressed the same.

I love everything. It would be nice to see them in person.

Whoa, I fee like I am teleported in the past for a second there. These are really a valuable things from the past, how I wish I can see them in flesh. I can also imagine that I am in a fantasy world with that clock it looks beautiful.

Why are you snooping through @livinguktaiwan 's history?

And hiddie 😂😂😂

untitled.gif

Thanks to you, I'm not snooping anymore as my cover is blown now 😳🙁 😏