Floating Homes

in Pinmapplelast month

I am a solo-female traveler with an extremely minimal budget and limited days. So, I am eager to inspire females to travel and want to help with all sorts of information from my experience to make it easier for you. This time I will be writing about my solo trip to Vietnam. If you have any questions, do feel free to ask.

I tend to spend very little money on stays, to be precise comfort while travelling! To me, I would just stay in a corner (as long as it is safe of course, as a female that's a constant concern!) and save the money to spend on some other fun thing! As I have to keep saving up for a long time little by little to make a trip plan, budgeting has become my forte!
As a part of that habit, I never stayed at a hotel as long as there is hostels/dorms are available in that area, which is just the right place for a solo traveller. Certainly, not always things goes by as you expects about the hostels/dorms, yet I keep the expectation low to begin with!
I mean, regardless what booking.com or other apps shows, it’s better to compare your expectations with how much you are paying.

Perhaps for that, I have always been content with wherever I stayed!
And even rewarded with so much goodness, overwhelming satisfied with the service like this "Phu Quoc Backpackers" hostel in Phu Quoc island of Vietnam, the one I particularly wanna express my gratitude to!

When I arrived at the hostel, the owner welcomed me with a big smile! It was not very crowded because perhaps except me everyone there was on luxury trip! Also, Vietnam is devastatingly cheap of Dollars/Euro users unlike us Asians due to the currency differences!
Anyhow, the 2nd amazing thing happened right after was getting a cold beer after a long journey! And so on...

1000015315.jpg

I expected a hostel/dorm type place, and that's what I got.

[ N.B. As I mentioned before, Vietnam does not have much public transport. They say, Vietnam has more motorbikes than its population and that's true. Perhaps, except kids, everyone rides their own bikes. I didn’t know how to ride one, nor had the knowledge before I went!]

Nana, the hostel owner, went her way out to actually drop me and pick me up when I needed to go out and return to the hostel.
With no charge!

The place is peaceful. It is her home, and she treats you like a guest as you appear. There isn’t probably anything that she doesn’t know or cannot help on the island.

She can also help you with snorkelling, fishing, and other activities you wanna do there. She will also help you with the fare/prices of things if you are unsure about the right cost.

So, ultimately there was nothing I can say I disliked. It is a backpacking hostel on an expensive island.
So, you cannot just book hostel and expect it to be a hotel room!

I am sad that I didn’t get to spend a few more days there and wish to go back again sometime soon.
And amidst all the chaos she deals in her life, I hope she finds love, care and affection for her hard-working self. She deserves so much more.

1000016902.jpg

I mean, I am gonna just sleep here only anyway, roaming around all day and even night! So why rent something expensive when you are gonna stay all day and half the night outside!
1000015188.jpg

Though there was this funny thing I experienced, the roofless open shower/bathroom, which made me a little paranoid 😆 but decided to trust the travelers' good nature of respecting privacy!

And last but not the least, for Asians, I would say girls, due to the currency differences, we ought to save a lot more than other countries. So, in Vietnam, hostels everywhere I found quite safe and comfortable, you can trust on that. Also, bargain everywhere 😆 you’ll be surprised with how much difference does that make!
Well, that is all for today!

All the contents are mine, until mentioned otherwise.

Sort:  

I enjoy these low-budget trips, too. You often enjoy it more than a luxury hotel.👍

I am telling you, that's more fun. You get to have a closer experience and find out amazing things that cannot be experienced in hotels!

How brave you are to travel in solo. @fahmidamou

Hahaha! I think it’s not too tough once you step on the road, but certainly until you do it does seem full of uncertainty!