You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Africa in Our Backyards: Visiting a Game Reserve Outside of Town, Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa

in Worldmappin2 months ago

First of all, thank you so much for the long comment! I will take some care to reply it.

Is it all about money, attracting tourists? ... animals that aren't indigenous land up in a centre that cares for injured animals?

I am not 100% what they are running there, and why there are so many non-indigenous animals. Maybe they do take care of injured animals, but then again, why 10,000 km away from their natural habitat? Maybe some elements of money are present, there were a lot of cars that day and so many people. But at least the animals look healthy as you said.

They had just been fed, and were lazing in the sun. I was still nervous though!

I guess when the belly is full, even a fresh piece of meat does not look appetising! What a wonderful prize you won, that is amazing though. My family always tells me to submit my photographs to these magazines, people win incredible prizes. Maybe I should just submit something for once! I would love a 12 day game drive experience!

Are they 'domesticating' wild animals?

By the looks of things, these animals are domesticated. We made a joke (in hindsight a bit depressing) about them having a clock on their wrists because they knew exactly when the people fed them.

I share your sentiments, but do not believe interacting closely with wildlife is good.

For sure! I agree 100% with you. I am always so saddened by the fact that there are no real "wild" spaces left, places without roads, without humans interacting with nature in any way shape or form. I always think about what I would do if I were a billionaire, I would buy property and "re-wild" them. What I meant in the post was a bit selfish in some sense. I love to photograph these animals and I love to get really close (in a car, even though I know it is still not 100% safe). But this is only a selfish thing from my side as a photographer. Deep down inside of my, there is always this strange sadness when I drive through, for example, the kruger national. I always think of how it would have been if we did not interfered. But I also know that our (neo-) capitalism and current mindset is that if it does not make money, we should destroy it and build a mall over it so that it can be profitable. Such a sad era to live in. Everything should and must make money, should and must be commodified...

Anyways, thank you so much for the lovely comment and somewhat depressing theme. But you in KZN is lucky with all the wildlife. Even if sometimes a nuisance (especially when you want to grow something).

Sort:  

You really should enter your photographs, they are stunning!

That Giraffe attack was shocking though, and very rare. I don't think there's anything wrong with getting close to the animals as long as we stay in our cars.

It was so sad when the magazines disappeared during and after Covid. I see more and more are re-appearing on the shelves again. Of course, there are always online contests as well.

That prize was at 6 different destinations from the Guvon Group, 2 nights in each, only some offered game drives. I checked now to see if the group survived Covid lockdowns, and yes they still are there except Askari no longer is part of their hotels.
These contests of course are just marketing, but the prizes are not shabby at all.

I do believe our game reserves play a vital role in preserving wildlife, and really did not mean to turn it into a depressing subject.
One often hears of bored wealthy people who keep exotic animals. but what do they do when they tire of them? Likely that's how they end up in centres like that.

Those pesky monkeys are a problem though, so fruit and veggies get taken often before it's ripe, but that's life in KZN!

Have a great day further @fermentedphil.

Most things today are kind of depressing when you think too long about them, but I guess that is just part of the society we are living in. Capitalism and all its progress rely on some really shady things. But we should not ponder it too much. But I guess, in the same breath, that there has never been a truly "utopian" period in human history, if we think about it. That alone should make our current predicament a little bit better? haha.

So true, I did not think about that. They cannot send these animals back to their natural habitat probably out of fear for diseases and due to the animals' being domesticated. Rather than euthanise them, put them in animal centres.

So true, so much has changed after lockdowns. It is such a shame, and it makes one furious. I almost opened a bakery just before lockdowns, and I would have definitely lost the business/money if I opened it. Luckily, I did not.

Thanks so much! I really need to check it out. The old camera is also on the edge of dying. So, I need to make a plan to replace it, but it is so expensive these days.

Keep well, thank you so much for the insightful comments!