Taking a Glass Lift into Nature in Graskop, Mpumalanga, South Africa: Walking in a Forrest and Seeing Another Waterfall

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Have you ever wanted to take a lift and when the doors open you enter a magical forest with waterfalls and trees thousands of years old? Have you ever had, let us call it, this Narnian dream? Well, in Graskop, Mpumalanga, you can have this for the low price of $10! You can then take a glass lift and when the doors open at the bottom, you enter a magical place, an enchanted forest with the most incredible waterfall. All jokes aside, this is one of those once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Not because it is dangerous and an adrenaline-chasing activity, but because of its beauty.

So please let me take you on this virtual journey on which I will show you the lift, the stunning views when you decide to grab a snack, some of the "wood art" exhibited at the information center, and the stunning waterfall at the bottom of the lift.

Going Down With the Lift

From the road, you cannot see the place. It was by accident that we arrived here. I needed to take an important call and this was the only place that had a signal. We then saw, through the parking lot, the lift and we decided to give it a go.

A small building with a high walkway. The lift occupies this strange liminal space between society and the concrete jungle and the untamed forest. As soon as the doors open, you arrive. The state of nature. You smell the fresh air and you get this nostalgic feeling of "I belong here".

Here is a short video of us going down. Sorry for the poor quality in terms of the windows shining. It was early morning and the sun was still bad.

The views you get from inside are insane. Here is a photo I took standing on the side of the lift just before we went down:

From the bottom, you look up. It did not feel that high, you tell yourself. But then you see how small the lift looks.

You then realize how lucky you are to be able to do this. I mean, think just 50 or so years back. You would not have been able to visit the forest down there. No one would have seen the waterfall unless you intimately knew the forest and you lived down there in the gorge. But we modern humans, conquering all and everything, built something special so that we can bask in nature's absolute beauty.

As the lift doors open, you are met with the most intense smell of forest and nature. You close your eyes and take everything in. Then you read these wonderful words:

Profound words. But then you need to move, onwards to the waterfall and forest!

Pathway to the Waterfall

The amount of work they put in to make this possible is stunning. They made beautiful wooden bridges and walkways so that you can enjoy the beauty of this forest.

I know it is sad that we chop down forest space so that we can walk there and pay for the conglomerates. But it is what it is. We can enjoy the immense beauty of nature. It is what it is.

It's a mantra. It is what it is. Alas.

One can also sit down and meditate about the beauty and take in the fresh air. If I could stay down there, I would never go back up.

The Waterfall from All Angles

The waterfall is something out of this world. I wish I could bathe in the water and lay in the pool. I wish I could wash away everything bad about myself in the magical waters.

But the rocks are slippery, it is off the pathway, and we modern humans from the concrete jungle cannot really cope with the pressure of not exploiting the beauty.

As you go up with the lift again, you begin the see how tall and big the waterfall is. From where the water actually begins to fall. In hindsight, the water falling at the bottom would probably hurt you if you were about to take a shower.

But yet again, imagine walking in the gorge and stumbling upon this awesome waterfall before the time of the internet and modern technology.

There is something truly magical about these amounts of water falling from the tops, almost looking like perpetual rains.

From the top, as you get out of the lift, you appreciate anew the immense scale of this waterfall and gorge.

Grabbing a Snack with a View

Getting to the top, you start to feel the need to eat something and to yet again appreciate the view. You see the restaurant that looks out over the gorge:

Inside, you are met with a stunning place that serves awesome food at a reasonable price. In fact, the food was some of the best I have ever had at places like this. The view just makes it better, and the interior is like the cherry on top.

The Wood Art

And when you walk out of the restaurant, there is some stunning wood art exhibited on the walls. I really hope these are sustainably sourced, but I know this is unlikely. The yellowwood tree is in trouble due to all of the trees being cut down in the olden days. But I think it is a protected species now. But see how creative they got with these:

Postscriptum, or Alas, Everything Ends

Sadly, everything needs to come to an end. I hope you enjoyed this virtual journey with me about a strange but awesome thing in the middle of a forest. It is really stunning to experience and I hope that you might experience it as well!

All of the images are my own, taken with my iPhone. The video as well. The musings are also my own. I hope you have some nice travels coming up, but stay safe. Happy travels!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @shiftrox ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow the place looks magical. The waterfall belongs to an exquisite paradise. That wood tree is mind blowing. I'm just curious who made it?

It is amazing, right? Such a wonderful place and I wish I could go back.

I am not sure, to be honest, sorry about that! Maybe it was made by the people who built the lift? That would be my best guess.

Thanks for your answer☺️
I'm really impressed with the place.

Thank you also for your comment! I was too. Have a splendid week further.

You're welcome.☺️ Stay safe and enjoy your day.🥰

Have you ever wanted to take a lift and when the doors open you enter a magical forest with waterfalls and trees thousands of years old? Have you ever had, let us call it, this Narnian dream? Well, in Graskop, Mpumalanga, you can have this for the low price of $10!

Amazing!!

Look at those views, they look unreal and I love the art with the tree trunks, so cool, I might try to make something similar.

And then you should post it here on hive for us all to see it! It also got my creative mind flowing, as I have a workshop full of wood that needs to be transformed into something soon!

Always good to stay in touch with the creative side of our brains

True hey, it is funny how one's mind can kind of go crazy when you do not express yourself. Or at least in my case!

I love waterfalls, so the waterfall you photographed, I understand, is impressive, the whole place is extremely beautiful.

Thank you so much! It is indeed. Such a beautiful place. I wish I could make it my backyard. Stay safe.

Wow what an amazing place to visit, and than the views. And the wood inside.
Thanks a lot for sharing this with us.
Have a great Sunday! 👋🏻😊

Thank you so much for taking the journey with me! Such a wonderful experience. Have a great week as well! Time flies when you are working!

You are welcome, happy to join you 😉😊
Thank you so much, indeed the time goes so fast…

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1690.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh wow, thank you so much! I really appreciate it. Thank you for all the trouble @choogirl it really makes one's day!

Wow.. Those cliffs are awesome.. Can't wait to hike soon..

It makes one crave those hikes, right? I want to hike as well, but I am stuck busy writing my dissertation! Sad life. But soon, I will!

I want to..but no company.. My friend is always working even on weekend lol

Oh that is a bummer. Maybe I am that friend to my friends with me being so busy... Oops! haha

Hi.. Nice to see a fellow South African on Hive.

Ive been to Graskop on a school tour.. But that was mamy years ago. I was in grade six at the time.. So needless to say it wasn't as beautiful as seeing it now! Definitely will make a plan to re-visit that wonderful part of our country!!

Always nice to meet fellow South Africans on here!

Yes, that is a long time ago! Things change so quickly these days. It is indeed a re-visit worth, except for the roads. You need a 4x4 to travel in Mpumalanga. But isn't that the problem everywhere in this country! Stay safe, my friend.

That is generally the case for most of South Africa 😂😂🌍... However we gotta make the best of what we have😂

!PIZZA

We have to right! And we have a stunning country that necessitates exploration.

What a wonderful accident, stumbling upon that place :) I could definitely see it becoming a favorite place for weekends, lunch, etc!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

I wish I was nearer but it is on the other side of the country for me. So a weekend drive is a little far! But for sure, I would have loved to have gone there every weekend, or just to walk there to relax and clean the head. Thank you so much!

Into the forest I go!! Yeeaaahhh! Wonderful place , thank you for sharing :)

That was my same expression! Thank you so much. It is indeed a wonderful place I wish I could go to more often. Stay well.

Wow! These mountains are amazing... A visit to South Africa should be added to my bucket list... Nice pictures by the way,

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it. Yes, you should totally do it if you ever get the opportunity to come to this side! Safe travels.