You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Luang Prabang, Laos - City to City Tour 056

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Thank you! I thought the Lao and Thai people would be similar because they are so close. But it was a whole different vibe in Laos. In Laos I got the feeling that most people believed "If I ignore him, he will go away". It was nice to be left alone usually, but sometimes at restaurants I felt like I was missing an important cultural custom. I would always have to get up and find the food server and ask for things like my check. Some stores and places would literally just pretend like I wasn't there if I asked them something. Very different from Thailand.

Sort:  

Wow that's sounds very wierd. Wouldn't expect it to be like that at all but have never been that side for any length of time. Cultural difference can be very strange can't they!