You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Follow me to: Mount Chambers Gorge

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Yep, petroglyphs. These ones are several thousand years old apparently. There's a sign nearby, I just never get around to taking a photo of it. The sign translates the meaning of the carvings.

It's a pretty nice spot all around though, and one that draws me back every so often. It's nice and peaceful, sort of spooky at night though. Maybe spirits of people now long gone?

I'm happy with my camera however do your research as it may not be right for your needs. (That's a disclaimer.)

Sort:  

I'm happy with my camera however do your research as it may not be right for your needs. (That's a disclaimer.)

You just have no idea how deliberate I can be when it comes to parting with filthy lucre. Research hardly covers the subject. I buy stuff to KEEP.

There are places I don't stay. Is it spirits? I've no real idea, but there is a soft little voice inside of me that I generally pay attention to. Particularly the farther I get from civilization.

I have one favored camping spot that I tend to go to whenever I'm in the area (say 200 miles-it's that good) that gave me quite a fright one night. I heard the forest service gate squeak open during the really dark part of the night. I laid there on full awareness and I heard it again. I made sure my pistola was at hand and slid my boots on.

It was a yearling elk that didn't know how or when to bugle for a female in the rut. It was a pretty pathetic noise. But he was practicing up for next year, I think.

Forest Service land around here is generally open to camp on, and depending on fire restrictions, you can gather dead fall wood for a campfire. Wood supply is one of the requirements for really good camping for me.

There is a forest (scrubland of around 120x80km) in outback New South Wales, a place called The Pilliga, that is reputed to have a ghost that people see at night...This bag lady used to live in the scrub. One night she was hit by a truck and killed. Now people swear they see her at night sometimes, her ghost. I've driven through a few times, day time and night, and it's a bit spooky. Day time is ok night time just leaves me with a weird feeling.

I don't know if it's because I know the story or because there's something odd there. All I know is that I would not want to get a flat tyre or break down there at night.

When I first started coming here there was an old Mexican crone called 'the Goat Lady' living up the big wash here. She was a pretty mystical person that raised goats and apparently her entire living came from them.

In '80 an F-5 crashed very near her place. The do gooders got involved and got her placed in a nursing home where she died shortly after. There's a funny spot in the wash to this day (it's surrounded by a golf course now). It just feels funky when Sam and I walk through. I can tell you for a fact that he stays closer than normal for a ways...

We bought a house where the owner was born and died 92 years later. We had a friend that swore that she saw her. I know that we shared our plans with her and used what we thought would be her wishes as we renovated. I had no problem with her.

I have a few supernatural stories I could tell also, although I'm not sure hive is the right place. Maybe someday. It all makes me feel pretty uncomfortable, but it's something I live with so I sort of used to it. Not sure it's something I'll share though.