Celebrating my 30th Birthday at the highest building in Thailand

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Hey Hive! A couple of days ago I joined the 30s club and me and Nat celebrated in a place I wanted to visit for quite a long while - MahaNakhon Tower. I always found the building itself very interesting ever since I first visited Bangkok almost 5 years ago but never really went inside. Nat decided to surprise me with a birthday dinner this time around and it was something quite memorable

MahaNakhon Sky Bar

382bd7a9-6ed4-43e1-b17a-3f5402a8b3ff.jpg
I didn't really take any pictures of the building outside.. also had no camera on me so exuse me for the lack of photos today. :)

The sky bar is on the 76th floor overlooking all of Bangkok. The place is pretty luxurious and prices are a bit steep but it was well worth it. The view and service were top notch, while the food was incredibly tasty and unlike most places of this class - portions were quite big.

b28aa385-d3ba-47ed-8fae-e7bd2ec794aa.jpg

They offer 3 course and 4 course set menus as well the normal menu you can pick and choose anything from. We were quite hungry and since the 4 course set’s selection seemed better we decided to both get that. We should’ve asked how big portions are because I think the sets were meant for 2.. and well by eating standards we are 1 and a half. Needless to say I was rolling out of the place after eating so much.

8eb2e03b-572a-4b6c-989d-c98504068b4f.jpg
Salmon Rillettes were our appetizer. I'd say this was plenty for me to get full since Nat couldn't finish hers and I had to.. 3 more coarses to go.. 😀

5b019faf-2427-442a-888c-ecd842fb4058.jpg
Our second plate was amazing. This is a Pan seared Foie Gras and I could eat it all day if you let me.

b7d7ff43-d815-4e63-9ed3-bc2e57923e36.jpg
Our main coarse was Larb Ped - Spicy Grilled Duck Salad. The way you eat this dish is a bit extraordinary. You take the rice cake and put the duck, salad and cabage on it (kind of like a sandwich) and eat the whole thing that way. It was very tasty but I was at my limits here and I knew there was also dessert. Fortunately the staff saw us struggling and offered us a takeaway option for whatever we couldn't finish. Wish they mentioned that earlier but we ended up bringing some of the duck back home.

73c7c4f9-a61c-4751-9596-99e8e94af886.jpg
For dessert we had this amazing chocolate delight. I cannot recall the name of it but it was very similar to the dessert we had in Zoom Bar. It had gelato made of cherries and chocolate bit with cream and more cherries inside. It was a great finish!

cadee841-4822-41c7-a5ef-806bf55056b8.jpg
They did have a complimentary mocktail surprise for me as well at the end which was quite sweet of them.

Skywalk

PHOTO-2021-10-14-19-52-55.jpg

On the rooftop of the building is the infamous skywalk and roof bar. You can see Bangkok in all directions from the highest point in the city. At the very edge there is a glass floor that you can walk on and see everything underneath. (Quite scary if you ask me but I’ve always had a fright from heights)

b82334de-d1f9-4da8-a81f-5ddc18825472.jpg

09e33258-a107-4be9-aa66-9fdc75e036cc.jpg

82efa167-9a43-4c08-9c1b-61a12f943432.jpg

8396f929-2936-4c25-816c-2924fa52bf20.jpg

ddcc6a2f-4db2-41b9-a1eb-ee4ada6f08ad.jpg

The view from the top is quite something. We came right before sunset but couldn't see much because of the massive rain that poured on us on the way there and after. Bangkok's night lights are also quite mesmerizing so I can't complain at all.

Reflecting Upon Turning 30

1975a078-039f-45f1-8001-211e662bc03a.jpg

Well i’m still assimilating it all and I’m not entirely sure if it’s time to feel old yet. 😄 People certainly have stopped saying how young I am and 30 seems like a serious threshold. I haven’t really changed much in the past years.. I’m a bit less outgoing and social but that may be because I don’t know many people in the country I live in. I still feel young at least mentally, maybe a bit smarter than I was 10 years ago. I certainly feel like years go by a lot quicker as of late for some reason.. Just hope the whole covid madness ends soon so we can all enjoy our years better and not locked at home for months. 😄

Anyways thanks for reading through my rant on getting old. The MahaKhon tower is definitely a place to visit even if it’s just for the skywalk. There are many rooftop bars and restaurants in Bangkok but I don’t think there are any I’ve seen so far that beat the view from here. Got a few travels booked for next month so I hope to have some nice photos to share with you again soon.

Sort:  

That's some amazing view of the nightlife there, that's brave for someone who is scared of heights, still happy birthday and welcome to the 30s club.

Hehe thank you! As long as I feel safe I don't really mind the heights.. didn't go ontop of the glass flooring though. :)

The life is still in front of you and you have so much more to see and experience.
Enjoy every day and moment, follow your dreams, be happy!
Nat had thought so well about this dinner, fantastic menu and what a view!
❤❤❤

Happy Belated Birthday.
Nice touch on the mocktail serving tray.
Hope I get to check out this place when I get to chance to go BKK again.

Thank you! It is a must see place for sure! :)

Happy birthday man! What a place to celebrate, wow :)

@tipu curate

Thank you so much! ^^

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

First of all, let me greet you Happy Birthday, may you have more birthdays to come. The foods that you shared look tempting and sumptuous, you must have a hearty meal with all the food that you shared. Greetings from the Philippines!

Thank you very much! :)

Happy Birthday!!!
Bangkok is very pretty!
Magnificent views.

Thank you so much!

hahahhaha 30 is not old. I'm 30 and I don't feel old. hahhahahaha

Happy Birthday! That's a very fancy way to celebrate your birthday. You deserve it!

Thank you! :)

Happy birthday! Many happy returns!
What a fantastic place to celebrate your birthday!!
Best wishes.

Thank you very much! :)

Awesome place to have 30th birthday celebration!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thank you so much! I'll definitely go back with a camera. :)

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment