A Return to the Caves | Camotes Island, Cebu

in Pinmapplelast year


Hello, Hive!

March has just rolled in as if February didn't happen. The previous weeks have flown by so quickly. I'm still reeling from everything that's happened since the start of this year. I dream of the ability to pause everything and sit down to process everything. And of course, also to write my blog entries for everything that's happened lately. But alas, such abilities can only be dreamed of. So, here I am, writing my past experiences one blog at a time.

In my previous Liketu post, I shared my return to Camotes Island with my colleagues. Our first destination was Mangodlong Rock Resort, where we saw a giant Octopus water slide. For the rest of our trip, a major part was visiting the caves in Camotes and swimming in their cave pools. One of my first posts in Hive was actually my visit to the caves of Camotes way back. You can check it out here.

I am always up to visiting places I've been to before.

I like reading books I've read before. I enjoy watching movies I've seen before. I rejoice in traveling to places I've traveled to before. There's always something different the second, the third, the fourth time you experience something. It's different every time. You're different every time.



Don't touch the stalactites!


Our destination after Mangodlong Rock was Amazing Island Cave. We went there on a Sunday and that was my first time to be there because the cave is closed on Saturdays. The cave was quite far from the main road and we had to drive through rough roads to get there. I thought the name of the cave was a bit strange because the cave wasn't on a separate island. It was still part of Camotes.

IMG_20210314_095128.jpg

The entire name of the property was actually Amazing Island Cave and Beach Resort. It was spacious with a lot of trees and rooms. And up ahead, there was a beach area. But we weren't after the beach. We wanted the cave.

IMG_20210314_095144.jpg

IMG_20210314_095351.jpg

We walked to the entrance of the cave, and a guide told us that the water inside the cave was deep and we had to wear life jackets to enter. I was worried because I had just come from a somewhat traumatic water activity a few months back and didn't want to get into deep waters.

IMG_0361.jpg

IMG_0362.jpg

But there was no turning back. We donned our life jackets and went in. The cave was well-lit. There were a lot of lights installed inside and I wondered if we could get electrocuted by the wires of the lights. The water was indeed deep. If it weren't for my anxiety, I could easily swim through that deep section of the cave. At the end of it, we entered another part of the cave which had shallower water but a lower ceiling. It was a cave pool.

IMG_0420.jpg

IMG_0421.jpg

I took off my life jacket and enjoyed the cold and fresh water in the security of knee-deep water. Our guide told us that we weren't allowed to touch the "live" stalactites and stalagmites. I reached for the ceiling during our picture-taking, and suddenly remembered I wasn't supposed to do that. I pulled back my hands and kept quiet about my mischief. I know I didn't do a lot of damage though, so the cave should be fine.

IMG_0422.jpg

IMG_0463.jpg


Some peace in paradise


Our next cave destination was Paraiso Cave. I've been to this cave a lot of times. I've practically memorized the whole place. A giant bird statue welcomes you when you go in. What's good about Paraiso Cave is that you really get a feel of "Paradise" when you're still outside the cave. There's a beautiful garden with so many plants and flowers. The place looked 'alive' and well-maintained despite just over the year after the start of the pandemic.

IMG_20210314_110821.jpg

IMG_20210314_112959.jpg

The cave is small. You go down the stairs and after a dozen steps or so, you see the cave pool at the bottom. Another thing I really like about Paraiso Cave is how blue the water of the pool is. It's a bit small which can get too crowded when there are a lot of tourists but during our visit, we had it all to ourselves.

IMG_20210314_111000.jpg

IMG_20210314_111815.jpg

Again, the cave is illuminated by installed lights. They even had underwater lights that shined yellow which complemented the blue hue of the water. We stayed at Paraiso Cave for quite some time because it was so relaxing and peaceful. It wasn't scary and the temperature and depth of the water were just right.

IMG_20210314_111753.jpg

IMG_20210314_111927.jpg

IMG_0468.jpg

IMG_0471.jpg


Healing cave waters?


Another cave we visited was Bukilat Cave which is probably the most popular cave in Camotes. It's huge and has some history to it. During the Japanese occupation of the Philippines, the cave served as a safe house for some Filipinos. It's the only cave I visited that let in natural light because the ceiling was open for sunlight to go in.

IMG_20210315_151132.jpg

You go down a flight of stairs and immediately, you see the cathedral-like structure of the cave. The ceiling is high and the inside is so spacious. The cave is much larger but tourists aren't allowed to go in further because of safety issues. We could see passages in pitch black with signs telling us not to go in. I thought the darkness was warning enough not to go in.

IMG_20210315_151202.jpg

IMG_20210315_151215.jpg


IMG_20210315_151320.jpg

IMG_20210315_151648.jpg


During high tide, the floor of the cave is filled with water which also has a blue hue to it. My camera is not the best at taking low-light and night-mode shots, so my photos don't give justice to the majestic scene inside Bukilat Cave.

IMG_20210315_151714.jpg

Bukilat Cave was our final stop before going home, so we couldn't stay long inside. We were also in our "going home" clothes, so we didn't go in the water for a swim. There are legends about the healing waters of the cave. Some people take baths inside in the hopes of curing their affliction. We didn't have any afflictions we were desperate to be cured, so we gladly stayed dry and out of the water.

IMG_20210315_151806.jpg

IMG_20210315_151845.jpg

IMG_20210315_152540.jpg

IMG_20210315_152510.jpg

There was actually another cave we visited but I didn't take pictures of it anymore because I was so tired when we were there and I didn't bring my phone because the water was so deep and the cave was poorly lit. Anyway, I'll share about that cave on my next return to Camotes.

That's it! Do you like caves? I hope I got you interested in the caves of Camotes. If you're looking for a destination here in the Philippines and in Cebu, please add Camotes Island to your list.

This travel blog is not yet over. I'll share with you the rest of our destinations in my next posts. See you then. Cheers!


PP.png

Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He's also a bit melodramatic. It must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he's trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article, please give it an upvote, and if for some reason you're interested in more future content, please don't hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, I just know that Camotes Island has a lot of beautiful caves. If I just know earlier maybe I did suggest it to my colleagues during our team building. Therefore we have one teammate who is from there but unfortunately, she never mentioned any of these nice caves before. Thanks for sharing @glecerioberto maybe one day I could visit one of these at a time.

Maybe your teammate is tired of the caves already! 😅 But usually, locals don't get very excited about the tourist spots in their own area.

Yeah, right. I was not excited too when they decided to have a trip to Moalboal as well 🤦‍♀️. Hahaha

What a wonderful place, although it looks great it makes me a little nervous about the caves 😀

Going into the caves is scary the first time but once you enjoy it inside, it's quite enjoyable. 😁

Wow! Amazing cave! Doesn't look scary at all.

Yes! The lights really help with making the caves look friendly.

how gorgeous! You have to see that nature is majestic 😍😍 places like this transmit a beautiful magic

This views are so special, nice blog!

Totally, an amazing exploration! Nice to see you back. Of course, if I measure the water might be deeper than my whole body because I am not that tall. However with the life jacket it might you won't fall, Bukilat cave should be the place to empress everybody especially the explorer.

Only the water at the Amazing Island Cave was deep. I'm sure you can enjoy the other cave pools. They were pretty shallow. 😅

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1807.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

It's not easy to explore caves that are underwater like that, the air is limited by the gas in the cave. I've always been afraid to go into caves, but you seem very happy. Seeing the water so blue and so clear, a very exciting experience of course!

It's not my first time to visit the caves, and I think that helped a lot. There was this other cave also in Camotes that was quite deep and had a sign at the entrance that people who were asthmatic and had breathing problems were discouraged from going in because the air was a bit thin inside. It's the scariest cave in the island, imo.

That was a nice place

Must be so interesting to take a bath inside a cave! Like swimming in a pool offered by nature!

There are other cave pools on the island that are not open to tourists, and they're just in someone's backyard. So, they have their own private underground pools. 😅

Wuuuut?! That's crazy and cool at the same time, lol!

Woow this is awesome Glebert!
I enjoyed reading your blog as we did not have cave hopping during our camotes trip : https://peakd.com/hive-163772/@thestrollingmind/camotes-island-of-the-philippines-a-birthday-destination

At least, I still have seen the beauty of the other caves that I planned to visit (maybe on the next time :) )

Wow! I see that you also had a wonderful time on the island. You should visit again and go to the caves. 😁

maybe someday, some another time :)

But what a wonderful experience, that feeling of being in the sea inside a cave is fantastic, I love those pictures full of life and color, a fantastic tour. Thank you for sharing it

Gimingaw kog camotes island. One of a kind beaches jud ni sa cebu oest. I miss pinas ❤️❤️

Wow, visiting caves is such an amazing but creepy experience. Thanks for sharing this beautiful pics @glecerioberto. I
By the way, in theory, the people who installed the lighting in the cave anticipated that the current would not kill people, right? why can't you touch stalactites😅?

Amazing place!
Thanks for sharing

Hi @glecerioberto, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON