Beer, Beach, Book | Getting Drunk at Bantayan Island

in Pinmapplelast year


Sunrise


Now we continue with my solo trip to Bantayan Island. If you haven't read the first part, click here.

Day Two was as beautiful as Day One. The weather was summer-like despite my trip being in the middle of December. I was staying at this garden resort and they had this lovely patio in front of their rooms. I was staying on the second floor and I had a good view of the entire yard. I could've stayed there and relaxed for the whole day if it weren't for the beach a few meters behind the resort.

IMG_20191215_074155.jpg

IMG_20191215_074526.jpg

The photos above show the sun shining brightly already but I've been awake quite early. I knew I wanted to witness the sunrise by the beach. So, I got up around 5 in the morning and walked to the beach. The sun was rising from the horizon and coming out of the clouds. It was low tide and the water receded very far back to the sea, so I had to walk further to see the sun shining against the water. I dropped low on the ground capturing some small waves illuminated by the orange glow of the early morning sun.

IMG_20191215_060754.jpg

IMG_20191215_060717.jpg

IMG_20191215_061005.jpg

IMG_20191215_061007.jpg

IMG_20191215_061226.jpg

IMG_20191215_060838.jpg

IMG_20191215_061156.jpg

I always make time to witness a sunrise or a sunset when I'm at the beach. I live in the city, so I don't get to see a lot of beach sunrises or sunsets. For some, it might not be as beautiful anymore, but for me, witnessing the sun along the horizon brings a sense of peace and awe.

IMG_20191215_061417.jpg

IMG_20191215_061443.jpg

I stayed by the beach until the sun shined brighter and stronger. The low tide created interesting patterns on the sand. Nature was painting mercurial masterpieces that could only be enjoyed until the water or people erased them.

IMG_20191215_060822.jpg

IMG_20191215_060827.jpg


Supercut


I returned to my resort to have breakfast and get ready for my day. I only had one thing on my mind for that day: beer by the beach.

I don't drink as much as before, but I was aware of the power of alcohol to numb myself and temporarily erase my inhibitions. I won't deny that I drank a lot a few years back. It was one of the (unhealthy) ways I coped with stress.

IMG_20191215_074737.jpg

Changing into my beach attire, which was just a pair of shorts, I returned to the beach. The tide was still low and the entire beach was practically a highway of sand. The sun was scorching hot and I was half naked.

IMG_20191215_074741.jpg

IMG_20191215_074912.jpg

IMG_20191215_080124.jpg

IMG_20191215_080855.jpg

I passed by Sugar Beach, which was a resort full of coconut trees. This resort would be full of tents and campers during the peak season. But as I passed by it, it looked deserted and quite lonely. It's also one of the places that held some memories I wished to be replaced.

IMG_20191215_075044.jpg

IMG_20191215_081812.jpg

As I walked by the coconut trees, only flashes of the past came up. It was like looking at a supercut of a movie, short and quick. It'd been over a year since my previous relationship and I was in a new one. So much had changed and all that pain was gone. I had new worries, bigger dreams, greater love, and stronger faith. I was on Bantayan Island to celebrate them.

IMG_20191215_230027.jpg

IMG_20191215_082243.jpg


IMG_20191215_081200.jpg

IMG_20191215_081203.jpg


Here is a poem I wrote from this trip:

I learned how it feels to have your heart shattered before you.

And I learned how to pick up the pieces one by one and build myself whole again.

I learned how to move forward and leave people behind.

And I learned how to listen to the people whose belief in me was unwavering.

I learned how to drown away my problems with distractions.

And I learned how to take care of my body.

I learned how to give up a promising (yet stressful) career opportunity.

And I learned how to sacrifice many good things to reach for my dreams.

I learned how to surrender everything to Him.

And I learned how a wretch like me is still worth saving.

I learned how to find love again.

And I learned how you need to love yourself first to truly love others.

I learned how to be excited about the future.

And I learned how this life and this world have so much more in store for me.


Scorched


I reached Kota Beach and decided to walk further ahead. The water was slowly rising and the sun was shining even brighter. I was now heading toward the port. Only a handful of people were around, which was understandable because of the scorching heat and the low tide. I knew nothing waited for me up ahead but I didn't want to stop walking. I walked under the heat and the blinding sun.

IMG_20191215_082030.jpg

IMG_20191215_082138.jpg

IMG_20191215_085155.jpg

IMG_20191215_085201.jpg

IMG_20191215_085350-PANO.jpg

IMG_20191215_085401.jpg

IMG_20191215_085424.jpg


IMG_20191215_085430.jpg

IMG_20191215_090355.jpg

Suddenly, I could hear waves. I looked out into the sea and saw a boat. I walked toward the sea but the water was still too shallow for a swim. I eventually accepted that there was nothing for me there. I had to return and look for shade.

IMG_20191215_091931.jpg

IMG_20191215_085939.jpg

IMG_20191215_085944.jpg

IMG_20191215_090001.jpg


Spinning


I went back to Kota Beach and went inside a nearby store. There, I ordered a big bottle of beer, faced the growing sea, and attempted to read a few pages of my book. I turned on my Bluetooth speaker and poured a glass.

IMG_20191215_093223.jpg

IMG_20191215_093348.jpg

Beer. Beach. Book. I was in the moment.

By the time I finished the entire bottle, I was feeling tipsy and restless. I ordered another bottle and decided to drink it under the sun. I went out of the shade of the store and sunbathed while my head started spinning from the alcohol.

IMG_20191215_101903.jpg

The water had become deep enough for a swim, so I went out for a dip, but it didn't help me wash off the drunkenness. I finished almost three bottles before I decided that I had enough. I also had to return to my resort to check out. Everything was a blur after this. I was so drunk that I couldn't remember exactly how I made it back to the resort, checked out, and headed to the port to catch the boat to Cebu. Flashes of puking in bathrooms and dizzying visions come up when I try to recall what happened during that time.

I sobered up when the boat reached Hagnaya Port in Cebu. I was a bit confused and disoriented about how I made it to the mainland. I got on a bus and I was laughing internally about the stupidity of what I did. I got myself dangerously drunk in the middle of the day! It was fun, but I definitely wouldn't do it again.

That's it! Solo trips are always fun and exciting. I think what made this particular trip special was the recklessness it involved. I'm usually more cautious now when I travel. I guess that's normal when you get older. You hold more responsibilities and you become more aware of your importance to the people in your life. However, there are still some 'stupid things' I did on my next solo trips. Of course, I'll share them with you in my future blogs.

See you then. Cheers!


PP.png

Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He's also a bit melodramatic. It must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he's trying to learn and improve (personal development, writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article, please give it an upvote, and if for some reason you're interested in more future content, please don't hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I'm thinking of having a solo trip too, but that never happened. Especially now that I'm married and have a little one. Haha, anyways good thing you came back home safe after that drinking session. Lol. That's dangerous.

I know! 😅
Now, it's just a story to tell and a tale of caution. 😂

Hello,

Sunsets and sunrise are one of the things I love about nature. I love beach areas so much, maybe because I grew up close to one. I have a lot of fond memories associated with sunsets and sunrise. I met my husband when I was watching the sunrise 10 years ago. Your post just brought back all the memories like it was yesterday!

The poem you wrote is very inspiring, encouraging and it resonated with me. Lovely and beautiful pictures! I am happy this solo trip was self evaluating for you. It's a pleasure reading from you 😊

Meeting your partner while watching a sunrise. That's so romantic!

Thank you for your comment. Have a lovely day! 😁


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @bigabigail ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow @glecerioberto friend, this photo has a very high visual impact... In fact, I think it's one of the best I've seen today in #Hive (and believe me, I usually look at hundreds of photos daily)... Congratulations!...

image.png

Beautiful post, wonderful pictures... The ones of the sand also enchanted me... Thank you very much for sharing and Cheers my friend...

!VSC

!discovery 35

Wow! Thank you for your words. I really like that shot too. 😁
Cheers!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I've only been in Bantayan twice. Maybe I should visit soon and see it's beautiful sunrise and sunset.
P.S. love the poem you wrote. ✨

A very amazing view that you display
I was very interested in the atmosphere that surrounded him.
A very stunning 😊😊 shot

It's been ages that I woke up for sunrise 🙂 you were lucky with a pretty one.

I love the patterns in the sand. It looks like paintings.

Great photos as usually! 🙂 Thank you for sharing

Kota Beach is my favorite tambayan. A walking distance from my cousin's house. Chill lang gyud kaayo.