How I've spent 24 hours in Armenia's thriving capital Yerevan.

in Pinmapple6 months ago

Why would anybody travel to Armenia you might ask? Especially nowadays when they are in some form of a war with their neighbor Azerbaijan... The answer is quite simple - cheap flights from Bulgaria.

And not only that, Armenia is an old nation with tons of historical monuments and places to visit. My visit was however very short as I have had things to do in Georgia and so I didn't waste too much time to research Armenia. Because of this I will probably have to come back and see more, but for now let me take you to the up and coming Armenian capital Yerevan.

My flight departed from Sofia, Bulgaria and I couldn't have been luckier with the freely allocated seat. Right next to the window I was able to enjoy the view and take photos and videos. Great deal WizzAir, thank you!

Border control was smooth as butter and if I remember correctly my passport was stamped by a girl - so happy days and off I was to my mission to get cash and find a bus to the city center. I have met a fellow traveler from Peru - Luis. Only because he had his Nikon camera out and about and mine was an older version of the same model. We have started a conversation and shared the ride in local minivan to the center. And that quite literary as my friend didn't withdraw any money and I had to cover his ticket. We have settled that later of course when ventured out to find some food.

Before that however we have checked to our different hostels and both had a story or two to say about our lucky or unlucky booking choice.

I have found a decent place ran by Iranians, which are plentiful in Armenia at the moment. They are some of the nicest people in the world if you ask me. I got a cup of tea (cay in most non-English speaking countries) and all the information I needed. On the contrary when I've visited the balcony to enjoy my cay, there were bunch of drunken Russians trying to corrupt me to drink with them. There was also an Armenian guy was sharing food and vodka with them. When I told him I am off to Georgia the next day - he said ''Fuck Georgia'' at that time I had enough of such low life company. Luckily I had an excuse to make and reason to leave this bunch. I was meeting Louis again.

After the long travel from very early hours, it was around two o'clock and it was time for lunch. For some reason it took me and Louis more than an hour to find a place to eat. Just imagine, center of Yerevan and no food around. We must have been taking every turn wrong for a long time. Finally after two or three restaurants that looked just stupidly overpriced we have settled for a kebab place. It was again different style than anywhere else, so our cultural and culinary experience was well worth it.

If you have just one afternoon for this otherwise beautiful city, you have to visit the famous Yerevan's cascade. Everyday people gather here to enjoy sunset and awesome views.

After this spectacular sunset Louis had to join some online meeting and so our ways separated. I have spent the rest of Armenian currency on some food for the next day's trip to Georgian capital Tbilisi, went to bed early and saw this picture in the hostel's reception the next day.

This was a reminder that I should come back one day and discover some of the beauties of rural Armenia as well. After all - how can you say you have been to a country if it was only for one day. So, yes I have two new stamps in my passport, but I don't feel like I have been to Armenia yet. And that is a great thing. I got myself a trailer for what it can be like when I'll come back next time. Hopefully with more time to make the most out of it!

Peace.

Global Local


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Your enthusiasm for travel is contagious, and it's fantastic to see how you embrace different cultures and places

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

!PIZZA !wine !LUV

Congratulations @globallocal! Your post made the TravelFeed team happy so we have sent you our big smile. Keep up the good job. 😃

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

clearly you do not anything slow down your love of travel even going into a potential war zone

So cool to see the area

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)