Is this the coolest beach town in Ecuador?

in Pinmapple8 months ago


I have finally find balls to make a decision to leave Quito. Trust me a month there felt like home and I didn't want to go anywhere really. Got too much into my comfort zone, but it was time to get up and move on again. I just didn't know where to... Constant bombardment from media on how dangerous Ecuador is at the moment I had many doubts. Specially the region Esmeraldas stands out on top of the list.

So taking off and getting the bus exactly to this destination felt rather weird and irresponsible. But the very reason I have actually bought a flight to Ecuador at some point was one hostel in Mompiche. A place that just has tents on the terrace and charges 4 dollars per night...

The journey starts with Uber ride to the bus station South in Quito. I am not used to big cities and here it make sense to take a taxi for five dollars and save maybe an hour of stress in public transport. It end up being a double decker ride all the way to Esmeraldas and the seats were decent. Typical south american bus sellers were present here as well and the time was passing quick.

It was some eight hours drive in the first bus. More than advertised of course... Changed for a smaller but neither less comfortable one in Esmeraldas and the coastal ride began. First couple of kilometers were in fact really following the coast and I have seen the Ecuadorian ocean for the first time. Than the bus quickly disappeared in the jungle and we were rushing through green walls of forest to Mompiche. Arrived after solid 12 hours from my departure.

We have hence arrived after the dawn and adrenaline was pumping. I had to make it to the hostel rather quick not to get robbed somewhere. Hostel Sin Fronteras is a cool place. Also rather empty as for the first two days I was the only tourist. But there is a little funny cat that makes for a great company and accompanies me while writing.

The next day I was curious on where did I actually landed and ventured out to the village. Mompiche is a small fishing town surrounded by jungle. The northern coast of Ecuador is known for being in the green belt. The feeling is therefore very lush and comfortable.

The beach is like on the most of the Pacific coast black volcanic sand. It gives the whole are rather gray feeling. With the cloud cover present for most of my stay so far the place has a lazy feeling to it.

Infrastructure in town is small but not non present. Few stores and restaurants provide with everything one needs for a simple existence. And by simple I mean do not expect even fresh bananas everyday - and we are in the country famous for bananas...

So far Mompiche receives a positive rating from me and I am curious what I will discover in the next days to come.

All the best,

Global Local


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, what great photographs 😊Thank you for sharing with us 😊