Medellin through the lens of my compact camera.

in Pinmapple7 months ago


When it comes to photography I hate using my phone. It is however very handy sometimes and I will use a few in today's post. Specially for wide angle shots I don't have an alternative yet.

So before I will share any photos let me give you short background. Following my decision to book flights back to Europe - I had about two reasonable options. Try to make it to Mexico finally for a short layover (wasn't so keen on after being rejected at their border two months ago) or actually transiting through Cuba. Wow. What a mission I thought and booked this route instead. So I am now already on this rather rare travel marathon. Four days in Colombia  first.

Arrived to Bogota rather smoothly. Border check without any question whatsoever this time around. Maybe once they see few stamps from other Latin countries they calm down...no idea.

Next mission was to get cash and order an Uber to the bus station. Sounds simple but it isn't. Hear me out.

Firstly all the ATMs at the airport are a scam. They have their menu very confusing and not straight forward. So I end up being charged twice, because one machine literary gave me just ten dollars without presenting me with a menu to choose how much money I want to take. Just pay BIG attention over there.

Next is another slight discomfort - the airport's WiFi. They give out only half an hour for free. So I planned my trip a little downloaded offline map for Medellin and was off to book my taxi ride. Boy, didn't I know it will be such a hustle. There are taxi's absolutely everywhere and you have to actively search for your ride. It might be better to swallow the little extra and pay cash. However I already booked an Uber and was now running out of time for the airport's WiFi. Great I thought, so after a scamy ATM I will be charged for no show up on Uber. Surely few minutes later I ran out of my minutes. Hopeless situation. But I said to myself - you know what calm down and wait. My patience paid of and the driver showed up soon and with friendly chat we were cruising with the traffic towards the bus terminal.

The overnight bus trip was easy and I have even managed to get some much needed sleep on the way. Sadly all the hostels are not ready for early arrivals and I had to kill some time until midday before I was able to lock my stuff and head out for some "content hunt".

Medellin is a place with a reputation already. Many people visit Colombia just to come here. For my layover I don't have much of a plan and will see what happens, but for now slightly tired from the long travel, I grab a camera and head towards center.

As I will be flying frequently now, I have ditched my shoes and have just fake crocks now. This fact makes it even more interesting to cover long distances. However not having anything better to do and limited power, I walked all the way to center and back. A first thing I do everywhere I arrive to. Just to get a feeling of where I actually am and what is the vibe and pace of the city...

Soon I got quite lost in the city. For the fact it was supposed to be quite smaller than Bogota it is still very sizable. The center hence is pretty much like a busy festival. Random pop up kiosks and stores help to make the streets look alike and it is hence hard to navigate. Specially if you can't look at the map all the time, so somebody doesn't grab your phone.

I bought me an orange juice in a supermarket which I was desperately trying to locate for quite some time to boost my energy level. At this point my eyes were burning and back hurting. Just your average lack of sleep symptoms.

Before you know it annoying beggars also arrived and approached me rather aggressively. One has to raise voice to get rid of these bastards sometimes. Luckily to me they often don't expect any resistance from a foreigner and after my reaction are standing and waiting in wow, realizing they will not get anything.

So far after only very short time in Medellin I must say it has left interesting first impression. The city is very green and the streets alleys are providing much needed shade. It is no longer like Bogota - a never ending fall. It is more like hot spring days we all like to enjoy.

I am curious what will come my way on my rather short layover stay in this famous city. If you have any suggestions or recommendations I will be more than happy to see them in the comments!

All the best,

Global Local


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Medellin looks hot, what a journey you went through, it doesn't look very easy the arrival with so many complications, I see that you have a great travel agenda, I already want to see the route, I hope you have very good experiences 😉.

@yolimarag Thanks, Medellin has never ending spring, so it is not too bad :) and yeah travel is sometimes complicated to say the least...

~~~ embed:1706994562277765195?t=c_gQYnPbKVBIHo3cDJxvsA&s=19 twitter metadata:bGlsZWlzYWJlbHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9saWxlaXNhYmVsL3N0YXR1cy8xNzA2OTk0NTYyMjc3NzY1MTk1fA== ~~~

I to prefer using my camera over my phone but sometimes the phone is just handy

can I ask please only use the Wednesday Walk tag once a week

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

espero tu experiencia por acá en Medellín sea muy satisfactoria, el pueblito paisa seria un destino que te podría interesar

Gracias Moni

Con todo el gusto solo recuerda cuidar tus pertenencias recuerda que en la calle ay gente buena pero también gente malintencionada, que la buena energía te acompañe

Congratulations @globallocal! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Did you know that we recently launched the truvvl app? With truvvl, you can create travel stories on the go from your phone and swipe through nearby stories from other TravelFeed users. It is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Wow, this place looks really interesting 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂