Searching for digital gold in Switzerland. LAAX stories #8

in Worldmappin2 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



I sometimes compare blogging to so called content hunting. Specially when it comes to travel or outdoor activity content, this statement gets its real meaning. Technically you need to dedicate your whole day for a good story. Even as basic one as I am about to share with you today. There will be no big action other than me jumping over rocks in Swiss Alps, holding camera in one hand and my vintage mountain bike in other.

So, let's get right to it. As I am finishing of my seasonal job here in Switzerland, I am running out of ideas and things to do around here. But some other day at work we drove through a valley that remained hidden to me for some reason. I got stoked to explore on my own on the weekend.

I even tortured myself a little and tried to wake up with an alarm. Didn't work though, the weather was not so great at half past seven. But around ten o'clock it started to clear out and I just finished my morning cafe and was ready to go.

Luckily my camera was still charged from previous action, so I packed some swiss cheese, apple and water and was ready to catch a cable car up the nountain.

Got a smalltalk with a colleague of mine on the way up and than my journey started at about 2000 meters above the sea.

It was still cloudy there and I had about four layers of clothes while paddling my bike uphill. Not a pleasant experience to be honest. But I was on my hunt already and couldn't go back without at least something.

The real fun started after I reached my highest point and started descending to the valley I mentioned earlier.

The terrain I was going through was harder than expected. I had an idea of where to go to, but no clue what will await me on my way there.

So there were parts of the trail that I could just slowly ride my bike and make small jumps over and around some rocks, but more often than not, I had to carry the bike and be quite careful. The grass was slippery and one small mistake could see my bike thrown down the mountain. But it went more or less smoothly and I took the chance of being off my bike to take some of my best quality photos this year...

Here you can see my oldtimer bike, which doesn't fit into the surroundings well. I stod out already in the gondola going up in the first place. Nobody goes up with a bicycle cheaper than a used car here...

But nonetheless, I did it and had a lot of fun. Specially because none of the other tourists were going my way, as it was rather inconvenient for average holiday maker.

I stopped next to some mountain hut to enjoy some of the cheese I packed for such occasion, enjoyed some sun finally and started my long awaited descent back to the civilization.

I started seeing some first houses as soon as I hit the tree line again. What an amazing day trip with some successful content hunting aka finding some digital gold in Swiss Alps.

Yes, it is popular cliché, but the scenery in Switzerland is really stunning any time of the year and If you have a chance to visit, you don't have to time it too much, you'll always find some amazing places to create your own digital gold...

Untill next time,

Global Local


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

I loved the pictures

Muchisimas Gracias.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @globallocal! You received a bright smile from TravelFeed. Our eyes were beaming while reading your post. 😁

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?

Congratulations @globallocal! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!