Losing my religion. Tirana. Albania May 22

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Or was it a case of losing the will to live? I think these were the 4th and 5th religious buildings visited in one day. I had wandered off into my own little world in the 1st!

I shall keep, for a change my views to myself, just in case a I end up like salman rushdi. or am struck down by a bolt of lightning from the heavens.

The Bektashi World Center

_DSC3345.jpeg

The Bektashi Order is a dervish sect that fuses elements of predominantly Shia and Sufi thought into a unique blend of Islamic belief and philosophy.

Source

_DSC3343.jpeg

_DSC3341.jpeg

When Ataturk founded the Republic of Turkey in the 1920's he outlawed this branch of Islam, so they upsticks and moved their base to Albania. The original building was constructed and completed in 1941. religion under Enver Hoxar was banned so from 1967 to 1991 the place was shut down. Restoration was started and completed as recently as 2015.

_DSC3335.jpeg

Lovely well kept gardens.

_DSC3342.jpeg

Hajji Bektash Veliu, a mystic.

_DSC3339.jpeg

_DSC3338.jpeg

_DSC3340.jpeg

Dead people

_DSC3337.jpeg

_DSC3326.jpeg

_DSC3330.jpeg

Ceilings

_DSC3332.jpeg

_DSC3331.jpeg

_DSC3328.jpeg

_DSC3333.jpeg

Colourful bright architecture, and some rolls of carpet

_DSC3334.jpeg

Presented by the american jewish council to the bossman baba mondi.

Resurrection of Christ Orthodox Cathedral

_DSC3367.jpeg

This will be short and sweet as well, built as recently as 2012, its claim to fame? it is the 3rd biggest building in the Balkans, allegedly.

........and that's about it really. here are some snaps.

_DSC3360.jpeg

_DSC3364.jpeg

_DSC3359.jpeg

_DSC3366.jpeg

_DSC3362.jpeg

_DSC3363.jpeg

_DSC3361.jpeg

There is no history of note of these two places, insipid, soulless and devoid of character. But ho hum, I have been called a Philistine quite often, now let me go find some street art.

Sort:  

Wow! Your pictures are very beautiful 😍.

I like to see traditional establishment. I'have visited many traditional places in my country.

I have a dream to visit all over the world to see this kind of creature.

Already I registered for Bangladesh passport. Hopefully i will obtain this soon. Then I will visit this place surely in one day.

cheers @fa-him thanks for engaging and enjoying my efforts, I hope you are successful getting your licence to travel and enjoy your trips.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hahaha yep… probably better to find some cool StreetArt. 😎
But still great captures of the interesting parts. It does show a lot actually.
The wooden coffins are interesting to see. And the frescos too.
Have an awesome Sunday @grindle

cheers @littlebee4 , sometimes I do touristic stuff, but yes I did find some really cool street art!!

Hahaha as we all do @grindle 😎😊 sometimes touristy stuff is needed to get off the beaten path 😉
Friday we fly to the US for a 2 weeks holiday, New England area… can’t wait, especially wandering around in Boston. Just there for 4 nights… the rest of the days we are in the mountains exploring little towns 😉🤓

super !!! @littlebee4 looking forward to your uploads, have a good holiday x

Thank you kindly @grindle 😊👋🏻

I love these works, they are so amazing!

cheers @afterglow thanks for engaging, I guess they are works of art in their own right.

You're welcome @grindle and have a nice day ahead.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!