Tbilisi. Variations on a theme. September 22. A start, on a journey to the end via the middle over a few various uploads.

in Worldmappin10 months ago

Tblisi, loved this city, such contrasting contradictions of loveliness. Away from the touristy bits in the main.

I loved it that much that today I left "the ladies who drink wine and shop" to enjoy their time on an organised route march to various museums..... and holy shit! you are kidding me! churches? Oh my days. See ya tomorrow.

IMG_6495.jpeg

Be warned right here right now. This is my route march, starting to the east of the city.

_DSC7034.jpeg

YOU WILL SEE TOURISTY STUFF TOO. (at some point)

When I am wandering.
When I am snapping.
I get carried away.

_DSC5513.jpeg

I can't help myself.
I bin two thirds of the snaps.
But if it isn't in the camera.
Then who knows what I have missed.
Thank fuck I am not using 35mm film!

Upload overload.

I try to win your hearts and minds, your love, your everlasting support by keeping my content short, shortish, of medium length.

So my lovelies I have split my wanderings into bite sized nibbles. So please join me as we see random bits of

_DSC6330.jpeg

The old

_DSC7041.jpeg

And the new

"FFS cut the crap and get on with it Jesus H Christ on a bike, why have you gone all Sidney Sheldon on us?"

_DSC7141.jpeg

_DSC7162.jpeg

Just abandon your bashed up vehicle on the road seems to be the order of the day

_DSC7152.jpeg

_DSC7165.jpeg

_DSC7144.jpeg

Ancient balconies signs and gates

_DSC7149.jpeg

_DSC7151.jpeg

_DSC7153.jpeg

This little wander started somewhere waaaaaay beyond the Georgian Church (enjoy ladies!). Just me, my trusty snapping machine and two cans of red bull

_DSC7196.jpeg

Georgian firearms law prohibits convicted felons and mentally ill individuals from owning firearms.

Well that's a relief

_DSC7244.jpeg

_DSC7243.jpeg

Quaint

IMG_6661.jpeg

Begging

IMG_6614.jpeg

Russian warship: "Snake Island, I, Russian warship, repeat the offer: put down your arms and surrender, or you will be bombed. Have you understood me? Do you copy?"

"Russian warship, go fuck yourself."

Slava Ukraini

_DSC7145.jpeg

I had seen this from the city centre the previous evening, and was intrigued, the closer I got the more interesting it became. It looked like a birdcage

_DSC7188.jpeg

_DSC7180.jpeg

it was in fact the Georgian national University, a medical campus and associated medical facilities.

_DSC7206.jpeg

_DSC7209.jpeg

_DSC7207.jpeg

The Georgian offices of SOCAR, the Azerbaijan state owned gas and oil company

_DSC7214.jpeg

The Georgian Head Offices of pissheadsoftheworld.com.

"Bring a bottle a jug a jar, any size and we will fill it for you, MOONSHINE"

_DSC7187.jpeg

IMG_6589.jpeg

IMG_6588.jpeg

Colourful kids denim jackets. Gotta love the inspirational Frida Kahlo.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

cheers @indiaunited for your support and sharing the love , much appreciated

Congratulations @grindle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Wow, such a contrast with the old and new.
Some buildings look like they crumble away any moment.
Great captures, thanks for showing us these opposites 😎

cheers @littlebee4 hope you are enjoying New England

Cheers @grindle
Oh I so am 😎🍂🍁 going of the beaten path into the mountains… very interesting hehehe 🤭
Enjoy your day!

nice enjoy your day

Thanks, will do 😊
Enjoy your Thursday.

This city seems to me sensationally a city of contrasts, quite big differences between those glass buildings and those houses with bars on the windows.

yes indeed, wonderful when you get out of the city and wander through the suburbs

This is also one of my pleasures, yes getting lost on such streets in the suburbs.

I like old and new combos. I especially like grungy shots and narrow wonky streets though. You found some good ones I see.

cheers @leaky20 , yes wonky was good . tbh Tbilisi is a gorgeous city of contrasts

Just went to a Georgia restaurant for dinner tonight. Would you recommend the country for holiday?

without question, it is a stunning country, team it up with Armenia its neighbour, both offer so much to see and visit. Deffo in my top 10 trips

They're not top tourist hot spots, but sometimes it's nice to go to less popular places. I'll probably true to get to Georgia sometime to visit martibis, the guys who owns Pinmapple

yes they are not a tourist hot spot, but to me that is perfect, they still have fantastic infrastructure and places to eat and sleep

Your trip was pretty lite, loved the walk. Say those buildings sure looks old, what city is this??

Tbilisi x

Wow! Tbilisi is beautiful though I can perceive it to be an old City with lots of relics. It's indeed a 'contrasting contradictions of loveliness'. Thank you for sharing.

cheers @sashatechno thankds for stopping by, it is a wonderful city trust me lol. There are a couple more uploads to follow, I hope you enjoy those too.

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2024.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

cheers @livinguktaiwan @pinmapple thanks for sharing the love

Old back alleys great explore, modern city I like the tree. Signage pretty different, perhaps moonshine required to get home to old balconies !LOLZ

Looks interesting stark reality between two parts of the city.

Why did the visually impaired man fall into a well?
He couldn't see that well!

Credit: reddit
@grindle, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(3/8)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

yes contrasts indeed, overall I think there is more old than new

Old is interesting, new is clinical, still enjoy old town feel.

yes love vintage but admire new architecture