Patong Beach - Phuket, Thailand

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

IMG_8467.jpg


When we arrived in Phuket from Bangkok, we stayed in one of the hotels in Patong. We heard it's a nice area and it's also one of Phuket's tourist hotspot.

We visited Patong beach which is just a few minutes of walk from our hotel.



IMG_7871.jpg



IMG_7880.jpg

The beach is long and there are lots of activities and mini-shops that you could go to. Those chairs that you see are mostly from the mini-shops (bar, snacks, and some fruit shakes stands) and most of them you have to pay if you want to sit there lol.



_DSF4067.jpg





_DSF4075.jpg

Since there are plenty of tourists in here, there are also plenty of vendors that walk around. Like this one lady came up to me and asked if I wanted a henna tattoo. Well yes, I wanted one so I got one. xD



I know what you're thinking.

"Ha, she got scammed!"

I know that there are plenty of vendors who overprice their work and take advantage of you cos you are a tourist. I am aware of them (I'm from a third world country remember :D). The price of the henna tattoo for my hand is 650 baht which is around $18 - which I agreed to before doing it. I know it's definitely overpriced and I also know how to do henna tattoo myself (it's pretty easy lol) but I wanted one and at the same time I didn't mind paying for that much. I wanted the experience and don't mind giving money to people trying to make a living.



_DSF4086.jpg

Crypto (particularly gas fees) has also fucked my perception about fiat. $18 is a lot of money for a henna tattoo, but I've been paying a lot of Ethereum fees which was like $50-$100 on some random NFT transactions so $18 fiat made it cheaper in my head. I actually often find myself spending way more fiat than I normally would... and it's because of "I just paid $100 for fees so how bad is it to spend for myself???" mentality.

Do I feel bad about spending so much fiat? Kinda.

But I also think about the receivers of that money and how it will help them so I don't feel bad at it most of the time. :D



_DSF4093.jpg



_DSF4095.jpg

To be honest I could make a better one than this. XD No ragrets though.



_DSF4070.jpg

@Acidyo was also really excited to try different flavors of Smirnoff ice lol. This one was a nice flavor but we found the Green Apple to be the best one.



_DSF4078.jpg



_DSF4098.jpg

Yeah those guys are parasailing but what's crazy about that is the only one strapped is the customer. The guy who's assisting doesn't have anything strapped on him. Literally. He was just hanging in there by good faith.



_DSF4099.jpg

This beach was a nice place to chill. There was no entrance fee so you can always bring your own towels and snacks. Most of the time when we were here the weather was always rainy/gloomy so we didn't need to worry about getting toasted. :D

Sort:  

I didn't remember Patong would be this peaceful. You really went places when you're here!

We went there just days after they eased restrictions (I think removed the test requirement or something) so there were not much tourist at that time. Haha yes we went to a lot of places and even 1 month was not enough🤣

I miss green apple smirnoff :(

Me too. Too bad it’s not a popular drink here 😭

@Acidyo would be the type of guy to get excited about wine coolers.

I can't wait to go back to Thailand. Phuket is one of the places my wife and I would like to spend a few months living in.

For sure. Our fridge is full of drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic lol

Yeah Phuket was really nice, away from the big city and was pretty much peaceful and away from the bad traffic. One thing I also noticed is that the drivers aren’t speeding like idiots unlike Bangkok. Can imagine you buying a property there lol. :D

Pattayaaaa tooo

What a beautiful beach.

I haven't been to the beach for a long time. Patong beach looks so beautiful and peaceful. It's fun to have a henna tattoo, but $18 is pretty expensive for it.

I wanted the experience and don't mind giving money to people trying to make a living.

But I also think about the receivers of that money and how it will help them

Love the way you think. Have a wonderful day! ❤️

Thank you! It's like turning the negative (that you lost) into positive haha. Although if someone's trying to scam you and immediately change prices or whatever, they shouldn't be tolerated. :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1506.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

nice tatoo, lolz, why only middle-finger? XD

So I can show it to @acidyo and have an excuse to make the fuck you sign :D

Yeah that worked a total of one time

Really a heartwarming pictures that you just shared. Thailand is no doubtedly one of the beautiful place in the world. Ihow much distance we have to cover to move to Pattaya from Phuket?

It is! Thank you!

how much distance we have to cover to move to Pattaya from Phuket?

I don't know lol

Aah no worries.... With advancement in technology we can measure the distance by just moving our hand a bit on our smartphone LOL.....

One of the amazing beaches that Thailand has, I love it.

Those beach shots are really great, love the colors and everything!