The Beautiful Wat Pho in Bangkok, Thailand - Part I

in Pinmapple2 years ago

_DSF3605.jpg

Shot with Fuji X-T4

Wat Pho is one of Thailand's most important temples in history and of course it's quite stupid for us to not visit it! It is situated beside the famous Chao Phraya river and it's just across The Grand Palace.




The entrance fee is 200 Baht and it's free for Thai nationals.



_DSF3494.jpg



_DSF3497.jpg




_DSF3527.jpg

To me, this place is like a maze. It's easy to get lost in here I bet. It's huge and you'll see great things wherever you look. :D



_DSF3542.jpg



_DSF3598.jpg

You'll see statues like this around. Apparently they're doing some poses for body pain relief.



_DSF3568.jpg


The Buddha statues are big and there's a LOT of them there lol. They are covered in gold and are so majestic to see.



_DSF3580.jpg



_DSF3585.jpg



_DSF3589.jpg



_DSF3695.jpg


There's also a lot of pagodas in this place and they range from large to woah that's f-cking huge dude!. This temple complex has the most pagodas in Thailand.



_DSF3676.jpg



_DSF3677.jpg



_DSF3716.jpg

It's home to the Reclining Buddha.



_DSF3684.jpg



_DSF3750.jpg



_DSF3685.jpg

The timing was good when we went there as it was almost sunset and the sun is hitting the temples in a nice angle. The gold on the roof literally shines and damn it was really a beautiful view.



_DSF3735.jpg



_DSF3751.jpg



_DSF3693.jpg

Here are some monks as the last photo for you.

Sort:  

I've been wondering since I was a child - how do they do it? This detail and the general atmosphere of eastern architecture is amazing. I will necessarily see it with my own eyes someday!

Hahah yeah. I also wonder that. Really impressive! Hopefully soon you will :D

Wow. So beautiful and full of intrigue! I wonder how they maintain the entire temple. It must require a lot of work.

Your pictures are crisp and full of colour. May I ask what you used to capture the images?

Yeah when we went there there were renovations in some areas and also probably repainting stuff, etc.. Thank you! I used Fuji X-T4 camera. :D

Interesting. Seems like lots of dedicated work to keep the temple beautiful.

And I might fall in love with Fuji at this rate 😍

so curious if foreigner actually amazed by small little details of all the Thai art/architecture or the temple like this!

Funny they charge other nationalities entrance fees into the temple :/

Yes!! It’s crazy to see all those small tiles in pagodas, and all the other details. A lot of hardwork has been put and it’s so beautiful to look at. Haha yeah I guess that’s how they maintain the place. To me I don’t mind

Good to know!! Please pin 'Wat Pha Son Kaew' just for the future reference next time you're here. It's crazy pretty in a different way as well.

Holy cow I googled it and it’s really beautiful!! I kinda regret not researching much about the places we could visit cos we just went there without planning hard lol but it was still a nice experience going somewhere and discovering it yourself. We missed a lot of shit that could be visited and done had we done our research so maybe next time we can finally visit it. I’ll make sure to go to Wat Pha Son Kaew it kinda looks like a magical temple :D

I've always been fascinated by templates 😍 perhaps it's a pretty common feeling for the Europeans but I simply love their architecture

Right??? And the colors, just wow!

Wow. So beautiful. I love the architecture.
Would love to visit a temple like this one day.

Wow! It look like such a nice temple and being a Buddhist I really want to visit there. And it really look like a maze.😍

Ohh you will love this and all the other temples in Thailand!

Hello @hiddenblade,
The architecture is incredible.

I have never seen such mesmerizing Buddhist temples and their architecture that is just motivating me to plan my next trip to this region!

Where's the tourists? It was packed when I visited (SF4).

There were probably only 10 other tourists when we went there. I guess cos we went at around 4pm. Although I think there's also not going to be much tourists since they just opened the country I think.

In party areas and in Phuket though tourists are packed. :D

What an amazing post! That temple looks so cool :D

Thanks! :p Time spent to pick the photos out of 300+ was worth it XD

Pretty clean photos. The temple is large. And the statues are quite interesting. The place is beautiful

It is indeed :D

it's a great place!
@tipu curate

I love those bonsai trees. I am doing some in my garden. It’s a lot of work.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people(@acidyo) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1587.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Beautiful temple!!!