My Journey to Balbhadra Peak (misadventure)

in Pinmapple13 days ago (edited)

Today, after a long time, I get excited and decide to go cycling to Balbhadra Peak. This distance is actually 12 km and being a hilly route, it will test your legs a lot. As soon as I prepared myself mentally and went near the bicycle, I came to know that the rear brakes were broken. I come back home, take the Allen key, fix the brakes in about 15 minutes and leave for months of cycling in the mountains.

Although there are many ways to reach Balabhadra Peak, but I want to go from Sahastradhara crossing so that the distance becomes 12 km, thus this journey will become 24 km long. It has been raining since morning and due to the rain stopping by afternoon, the weather which was very beautiful has become a little cold. I am enjoying cycling.

There is a drop from home till Sahastradhara crossing, so there is no need to walk much. The cool breeze is blowing on the face and the Mussoorie mountain is visible in the distance, whose height is 1950 meters. I had just completed 3.5 km while cycling and the rear brake of the bicycle breaks again. Since the route is downhill, the speed of the bicycle would have been around 30 km per hour.

At one point I get panicked because it is a 4 lane highway and the speed of the bicycle is not so low that it does not cause injury. I start applying the front brakes very gently. I don't rush at all because I have been injured twice before by applying the front brake during an emergency. So I gently apply the front brake and stop the cycle.


After the cycle stops, I reach Sahastradhara Crossing on foot, where I go to the cycle shop and ask them to fix the brakes. It takes about 25 minutes to fix the brakes. According to the mechanic, I should get the brake shoe changed otherwise it will keep getting damaged again and again. I obeyed him and got the brake shoe changed. As I move towards my goal, it starts raining lightly.

I pause for 10 minutes and think what should I do in such a situation? Well, the answer I give to myself is that the road is through the mountains and it has started raining, so I should not go because what will happen to me if there is a landslide. After convincing myself, I turn the handle of the bicycle back towards home.

Coming back, I think that today I avoided an accident, found a cycle shop at the right time, and at the right time I decided not to go to Balbhadra Peak. By the time we returned, the weather had become very bad. As soon as I reached home, a dangerous storm and rain started. Now after reaching home, I am looking at the rain falling on the mountains from the terrace.

Today's mission was not successful but next time I will definitely complete it. That's all for today, in the next post I will inform you about some other place. Till then stay healthy and keep smiling.

Disclaimer: This post is originally written in Hindi and I have used Google Translator to tranlate the Hindi text in English. All the photos have been clicked by me from Android smartphone POCO F1 and edited in Lightroom/photoshop.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 30.34279 lat 78.09707 long My Journey to Balbhadra Peak (misadventure) d3scr)

Sort:  

The plan of our Lord is greater than ours too. 😊 @himalayanwomb

Totally agree with your point. And I'm glad to be a part of it.

Thank you for agreeing. ☺️ @himalayanwomb

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks you 🙏

Beautiful usage of camera

Bole to jhakkas

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

You live amidst the beauty of nature. It is like a boon for you. Your photos are very beautiful. @himalayanwomb

Thank you for your kind words. Indeed it's a place in the lap of Himalayas.