Travel Blog #1 - Kristong (Peak of Chimbuk Hill Bandarban Summit) Part 1

in Worldmappin2 years ago

December 15, 2021 I start my journey towards one of the highest peak in Bangladesh. I visited Kristong, the peak of Chimbuk hill in Bandarban, Bangladesh, 2800 feet above the sea level and full of breathtaking views. At first I had no plans to go to the hills, I was supposed to go to Cox's Bazar to attend a meeting. But the next day, December 16, being the biggest holiday in Bangladesh and Victory Day, I canceled the plan because Cox's Bazar has a lots of people on this holiday and I set out for kristong with my travel group.

We left Dhaka on the night of the 15th for Ali Kadam. The bus will take us to Ali Kadam, then we will take a jeep (Locally called - Chander Gari) to a point called 22 km and from there we will walk to kristang. We started at 11.30 pm and were supposed to arrive at 8 am, but due to heavy traffic we reached Ali Kadam at 1 pm.

I hurried down to Ali kadam and ate lunch. After that I took a short walk, bought the necessary food and essentials to stay in the mountains for 3 days and went for the Chander Gari. The Jeep was already fixed. It is worth mentioning here that we were like 14 people in total, all were very friendly and spontaneous. Our guide Masum Bhai (an amazing guy) and I were sitting on the roof of our moon car. That was very exciting and dangerous at the same time. As the jeep descended the steep slope, it seemed as if I was about to fall off. Anyway, after about 24 kilometers of hilly road, we came to a place, from where we had to trek on foot. It was 4.30 PM and in winter its almost evening so we were running out of sun light soon.

IMG_20211218_162952.jpg

By the time we started walking the sun had almost set, I had gone to the mountains many years later so I didn't think of getting enough water and there was no fountain on the trail we went on. I ran out of water after a while but the rest of the team had water so there wasn't much of a problem. Anyway, I will come back to that story later, but let me tell you, none of you will make this mistake.

IMG_20211218_171656.jpg

We trekked for about 6 hours, a rugged mountain road, on which the energy of everyone was almost exhausted due to the previous day's journey. I didn't have much of a problem at first, but after two hours of walking, I was no longer able to move my leg. But I was moving forward with strong morale. After a while, of course, we took a rest and ate dry fruits. Those who go to the mountains remember that dates, raisins and nuts will give you a lots of energy. We traveled about 8 miles and reached a
indigenous hill village around 10 pm. The name of that village was Khemchong Para. We were accommodated in one of their rooms. We were all exhausted, rested for a while and started cooking. There was a mountain spring from which the only water supply came in that neighborhood. Two or three members of our team were cooking, and we looked around the area in the moonlight. It was so beautiful it simply can not be explained. As the night progressed, the incidence of cold also increased as it was mid December. We all ate our own cooked food together and got ready for bed. I was so tired and hungry that the food tasted like nectar.

IMG_20211218_163201.jpg

IMG_7189.JPG

IMG_20211218_144323.jpg

IMG_20211218_163338.jpg

IMG_20211216_164200.jpg

IMG_20211218_163649.jpg

So that's all for today. I will share the rest of the journey in my next blog. Stay tuned
Thanks

Sort:  

Congratulations @himl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You post has been manually curated by BDVoter Team! To know more about us join our Discord.


Delegate HIVE POWER to us & earn HIVE daily.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL