You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Old City After My Own Old Heart

in Pinmapple9 months ago

Aww shucks. Blame it on a lot of movies, I guess. Plus a lot of reading in English, that certainly helped. I'd just file certain lines and phrases inside my mind, and built from there. And a skill for foreign languages runs in the family, I suppose.

It's actually interesting, I'll take an old English book that belonged to my mom or aunt, and there'll often be little scraps of papers inside where they'd write down a certain expression and its meaning. It's weird because I take such expressions (and their meanings) for granted, so I guess that really speaks to how much access to language younger generations here have got, eh?

Sort:  

Ah

Well that also explains it. If mom and gran were learning it would've faciliated your learning as well. Just by it being familiar.

I think most of learning a new language is really about familiarity and not being embarressed to make mistakes.

Access to everything! Yes!