Sanctuaries of Light in Lisbon, Portugal

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

You could say me and Lisbon go way back. Well, not that "way", but given that the past three years have felt like a lifetime, it works. Before traveling here, Lisbon always held this magic allure. It just sounds nice, doesn't it?

Lisboa.

tren.jpeg

Talk about a good name. Anyway, pre-pandemic, I always found reasons not to go here. Too expensive. And I could typically find my favorite artists in cheaper cities. But then, Covid struck, and I pretty much spent the first six months of that as a complete hermit and self-confessed workaholic. I made more dough than I ever had before, which isn't to say I got rich, rather that there was zero to spend on, during the pandemic.
So when restrictions loosened up a bit during the summer of 2020, I figured I better hit the road, or blow my brains out, being cooped up inside.

Not to spoil it, but I hit the road, and Lisbon just... happened. I'm glad it did, because at the time, it was a lifesaver. This March, I was lucky enough to return to Lisbon, this time with my family, for a magical week. So I thought I'd share a couple of favorite places.

Convento da Ordem do Carmo

conv.jpeg

One thing I've always said about organized religion, in particular the Catholic Church, is they sure know how to build a pretty building. Seriously. From the Sagrada Familia to the Duomo of Milano, some of the most stupendous buildings in the world are places of worship. The Carmo Convent, located right in the heart of Lisbon, has got to be one of my favorite "pretty churchy places".

Because it's broken.

carmo.jpeg

Severely impacted by the many earthquakes to rock the city of Lisbon, the Carmo Convent is no longer, in the truest sense, a convent, but a ruin site.

cross.jpeg

And I don't know, maybe I just turn up at all the wrong times, but it's always fairly free of tourists. Or maybe they pale under the immensity of the sky, who knows? Carmo is the sort of convent I'd frequent, maybe, were I so inclined, because it's more religious than any other "religious" place I've been to in this life.

It lets visitors look up at the sky, and what greater example of the wonder that is life, and this world, than being able to look up at the cosmos and the clouds?

carmoo.jpeg

It also houses quite an impressive small museum, with everything from archeological findings, to mummies, to rare books.

Street Art Hunting

pandaboo.jpeg

You could probably find a myriad of reasons to spend your entire visit to the Portuguese capital wandering the streets. The beautiful, colorful architecture, the old-timey cobbles, the hidden-gem stores. Or perhaps, the street art. Coming as I do from a city where 85% of "street art" is actually just 14-year-olds spray-painting dopey nicknames on the wall, finding a place like Lisbon is like stepping into another world.

wom.jpeg

Here, every wall is a character, a story. Takes you to another place and time, and plays on collective imagination. No wonder the artistic culture is so rich in Lisbon, when these people are surrounded at every step by art.

who.jpeg

While there, I shared the image above to my Instagram, with the caption "Fleeting figures. Us, not them.". And really, it's all I can say. Who knows how long these images will outlive us?

Jose Saramago Foundation

books.jpeg

Jose Saramago is one of the many writers I have my mother to thank for. So really, the first time I went to the Jose Saramago Museum (aka Casa dos Bicos) in the Santa Maria Maior parish, I did so more for my mom than myself. I don't know if I'd ever even read something by him (For shame, I know).

SAR.jpeg

Well, now I have. But this isn't really about that. I'd encourage anyone to visit this, as it's one of the most unusual buildings in Lisbon. Even if you've never read it, it doesn't matter. One floor is a beautiful display dedicated to Saramago's life and works, chronicling his long career from the first book to the Nobel Prize. Quite an impressive span.

It's a blend between light and darkness. The display itself is bathed in light, with white walls, dressed in the colors of book covers from all over the world. My brother and I played around seeing how many Romanian translations we could spot. Quite a few.

bookie.jpeg

Then, there's the darkness, the hidden eye into a replica of Saramago's actual office, which was very elegant and intimate. There's also a bookstore, gift shop, and best of all (I thought) a staircase decorated in quotes by the great man.

typ.jpeg

It is a place of light, and only costs something absurd like $3 to go in. So go, even if you're never gonna read him. You'll be glad you did.

I'm gonna sit on that dock of the bay...

dock.jpeg

Two thousand miles, I roam
Just to make this dock my home
Now I'm just gon' sit, at the dock of the bay
Watchin' the tide roll away, ooh yeah
Sittin' on the dock of the bay
Wastin' time

For me, there was nothing like the feeling of complete freedom, sitting by the river, at Terreiro de Paco, a takeout coffee cup in my hand, watching the waves and listening to this gem. There's a sensation of living by the water. It's a very unique, special feeling. I've written about it before, but I don't think you ever really capture it. Unless you're a water person. Unless you live by the water. And Lisbon's where I first discovered that feeling, and always will be.

...

There's a lotta darkness in this world, so you have to figure out how, and create for yourself these pockets of light, which allow you to breathe. I don't mean to be dramatic, but I don't see how you survive this life, otherwise. For me, travel is that.

I also wanted to thank @livinguktaiwan for explaining how to do the Pinmapple thing. I'm an 85-year-old technology neophyte when it comes to this stuff. Also, cheers to @wesphilbin for getting me to make a banner. It's long overdue.

banner.jpeg

Sort:  

What is that shot of a man, who looks like he's wired to explode?

I'm glad you've found your pocket of light. For me, it's walking in the woods. I become infused with love for all beings, which definitely helps me shed worries and traumas.

I loved that get-up, too. It is a portrait of Jose Saramago which hangs in the eponymous foundation :)

I become infused with love for all beings

Yes, love really is the cure-all, isn't it?

It sure is.

I just looked him up, and his books sound really good!

it chronicles the efforts of a handicapped war veteran and his lover to flee their situation by using a flying machine powered by human will.

I love that idea. Is it so far fetched that human will could power flight? I've got to read something by him.

He was very unusual. He had a bit of a rambling style of writing that can get tiring (similar to Marquez), at times, but many of his books are well-worth the read! They make you think about so many small things you live, but never think of. Death with Interruptions is quite lovely, as is Blindness. :) Have a great weekend!

Thanks for the recommendations. I'll see if they carry his work at my local library. I love Marquez! Magical realism is my favorite genre. Many folks can't make that jump, but I can easily envision the magical as real. Maybe it is.

I hope it is. Otherwise life's pretty dull ;)

@honeydue...


Also, cheers to @wesphilbin for getting me to make a banner. It's long overdue.


I am just glad I was able to help you out. That's what I do on our blockchain. Between my community, Moderating at The Terminal Discord, as well as all the 100 Discord Servers I am in... I help people... because that's what our blockchain is all about...

Community.

!LUV

Very true. It's certainly what keeps one coming back here, the connections people form with others. I think the long form format of Hive posts also helps, in that you get to express more than on other social media platforms.
Thank you, you seem like a wonderful person :) What's the The Terminal server about?

@honeydue...


Appreciate your kind words... as for The Terminal... here's a link to the community page:


https://peakd.com/c/hive-101265/about


Should you care to see where all the magic happens...

untitled.gif

Might have to check it out -- I love this place, but it often leaves me confused :D Cheers!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay, turns out I did the pin thing right! THank you!!

So much art and passion were shed into the construction of this breath-taking architecture!☺️

Indeed <3 it's a magical place. Thanks for stopping by!

Your photos and story are amazing. I haven't made it to Portugal yet, but I'll refer to your post if I ever do.

has got to be one of my favourite "pretty churchy places"

I guess this is the same for me too. It's stunning:)

Edit: Sorry, this is millycf1976... I sent this in error from the coffee community's account 🙏

It's a short-hop from the UK, so I'm sure you'll get there sometime! :D Thanks very much, and no worries, I recognized the account ;) Hope you're having a great weekend!

The weather has not been great, and I cancelled my plan to go walking. However, the sun is out nicely now, but I'm not sure if I can still fit a walk back into my schedule, so I was outside playing with my cat, who loves sunshine 😁

playing with my cat, who loves sunshine

Same :D I find it can be a balancing trick sometimes, but if you can fit some time in your schedule to spend time in sunlight, it's just such a great recharge. Enjoy!

That's very true:)

General Banners-15.jpg

OMG! What a place! I’ve never been to Lisbon but I’m pretty sure I will. I believe according to your pictures, that this is a very particular European city!

It's certainly worth a visit at least in one's life. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for showing us a piece of Lisbon, I'm Italian but I've never been to Lisbon. Beautiful photos of the Convent of Ordem do Carmo

Thank you! Italy's another love of mine, when it comes to exploring. Where in Italy are you from?

I live in Northern Italy not so far from the Adriatic Sea

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1871.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks so much! I appreciate it a lot!

Welcome to Pinmapple!!

It's been many years since I been to Lisbon myself so this is a really nice recap for me particularly the cable cars. Gonna put the Carmo Convent on my bucket list for when I go back again. I'm not a religious person, but I do like a good church.

Same here. Some of the nicest places seem to be religious, so it'd be a shame to miss them ;) Thanks for the help and the warm welcome!! Have a great Sunday!

My brother lives in Portugal, I hope one day to visit him and see this wonderful place.

thanks for showing it 😎.

Lucky man! For a long time, I dreamed of living there myself, it seems a beautiful place to call home. Thanks for stopping by <3

Loading...

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your post was amazing. The churches in Portugal is very unique and interesting. Thanks for sharing your shots of the different catholic churches and the amazing street art photography.