The Basilica Cistern, Istanbul - one of the most amazing roman places I've ever seen

in Pinmapple11 months ago

While in Istanbul last week we visited one of the most amazing things I've ever seen - the Basilica Cistern.

qBIEXofoTcOyL0tyUOEy2A.jpeg

The cistern is an underground reservoir for storing water. It sits right across the street from the Hagia Sophia. It was built by the Romans around 1500 years ago. What ,makes it really amazing is that it was built from recycled parts of older roman temples, and hence it has different stonework wherever you look.

I_vljN71TleVbHnguGaImQ.jpeg

Its quite a large cavernous area, with a beautiful vaulted ceiling that is held up by 336 columns ! It was excavated some time around the 1980s, and still has around half a foot of water in it now. When excavated it had a deep layer of mud at the bottom, and you can see the brown mud tide marks on the columns in the pic above.

r7etGaw9Rv-tP6z22TxoUg.jpeg

A walkway has been constructed to allow you to tour around the area and keep dry. In addition beautiful mood lighting has been added, which changes colours, and in tandem via reflecting from the water makes for an incredible atmosphere.

wmGZHqPjSFi0pgj6CUBQRA.jpeg

A number of cool sculptures have also been added just to spice it up further, like these fantastic jellyfish above.

CVi3XMMZT6eyf5cJJmT3ig.jpeg

I found the re-use of architectural pieces quite amazing. As can be seen above, some of them are just fantastic, like the column above.

1ntIybqtTTayaWlOI3nVVg.jpeg

But the head of medusa above is the absolute wonder of the whole site. Its upside down probably because it provides a nice flat surface for the column above it, however, some also think it was put down there to keep any invaders out of the water supply.

-Vvb3KsQTdOh6DVOlCE33w.jpeg

There is actually another one on its side supporting the column next to it. These would have been taken from a pagan temple, which may have been torn down when the roman empire started converting from paganism to Christianity - Constantinople as Istanbul was called at the time, was a major centre for that conversion - so that story stacks up quite well.

UN8bgbg9Tm-Cm76EggZ7Jw.jpeg

The medusa heads are in an alcove area in the far corner of the cistern - and this modern medusa sculpture has also been added beside them, and the shadow it casts on the wall is quite incredible and quite spooky !

0cdiPtrQTsK97h1V9f8J5Q.jpeg

I had only found out about the cistern about a week before flying out to Istanbul, and I just had to see these medusa heads. They looked utterly amazing !

8-_Jz4zWRUKj5s26eaJkbA.jpeg

The cistern was constructed because the area of Istanbul it is in has no natural water sources, and water was being carried in from a considerable distance away. As the population grew this became unsustainable, and so the reservoir was constructed, and was fed by an aqueduct. There is actually another cistern in the same area, also built by the romans, but a lot smaller - we also visited that and I'll cover it in another post.

87cXNbnyQ2ePVl7sl0aMaA.jpeg

I really like roman history and I've been travelling to see their buildings for many years now, and I have to say this ranks in my top 3 fav places, and probably does actually take the number one slot, alongside the roman baths in Bath, England, and the mausoleum of Hadrian which sits under the Castel Sant Angelo in Rome. Although there are other roman places I love like the Pantheon and Hadrians wall - those 3 places really make you feel like you have stepped back in time, and especially this one.

QO9EGXRhT92mxIqSKaZ76Q.jpeg

The column above has what looks to be a greek inscription, which is not surprising for Istanbul, and may have actually been a lintel that would have originally been in a horizontal position, that has been modified to act as a vertical supporting pillar.

mgSHPC1BTuC_QlulaAojNA.jpeg

The picture above was taken from the entrance steps, and provides a nice view of the vaulted ceiling. Clearly the metal ties have been added as reinforcement, and some columns have been replaced (not many though) to make sure the overall structure is safe.

AwB7dLGVQSeKpxtjwtHxHw.jpeg

Above is another great example of the re-use of older materials. Here you can clearly see 3 to 4 different pieces used to provide the correct height for the supporting pillar. Considering when this was built, they did an amazing job to get all of those 336 pillars aligned to the right height using odds and sods of pieces from the temples they tore down. They must have had incredible surveying and setting-out skills.

9Nxbx1NyTPeqCS7jzvegHg.jpeg

I find it hard to describe how much of an impact this place had on me, and I would totally recommend it to anyone. If you like architecture and ancient history - then this place is right up there with the wonders of the world in my book.

gV49GhatTC25ZZViYI7jWg.jpeg

I could have stayed in there all day - the lighting really help to show up various details, like the lovely flooring stones at the bottom.

DwYVy9imR7msrQAWqLqsPw.jpeg

Above is the last view I had on exciting the cistern - the lights changed colour again, and gave quite an amazing view.

l8F4XrSLQSOmlPPRPSJRxA.jpeg

The pic above is a view of the area above the cistern taken just as I came out of the exit door. There was actually a roman basilica on this site from the 3rd or 4th century, but clearly thats gone now - and by looking at what is above, you couldnt even begin to imagine what is below !

P-KnV2MESHWb1RVG0f_jkA.jpeg

I'm so happy to have been able to see this place - it really was incredible, and all 4 of us on the trip agreed that it was the most amazing thing we saw while there, noting that the other 3 on the trip dont even remotely have the same passion as I do for ancient history.

Sj3N3-r4SguaPdRzUUm9mg.jpeg

I would happily go back to Istanbul to see this place again - totally awesome ! Even looking back at the pics now is sending shivers up my spine - an incredible place !

KVPKQupWQyqXoR1yjqqonQ.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh my goodness what an awesome place… so cool in every way.
Lucky you that you found out in time to add it to your to visit places.
It’s stunning. I love places like this and would definitely visit too. I have to add it to my to go list hehehe 🤭
The way they constructed it. Using other pie pies from buildings, temples etc. is just amazing.
Love the added artworks. The jellyfish 🪼 are cute.
But the Medusa statues… wow. Love the shadow!
Outside you don’t see what is beneath. How many would just walk by and never know.
Great post! Thanks for sharing.

Somehow this does remind me of a movie… something like that pops up in one, but I can’t remember the name or what it was about.
Enjoy your evening 👋🏻😊
!PIZZA

Many thanks - it was a n awesome place. They said it was in a few movies - I think they said from Russia with love, and I cant remember the other one.
!PIZZA

You are welcome, it looks really like that.
Even more movies 🎥 it’s a great place to work with.
Have a great Tuesday!
!PIZZA

I would imagine it has to be pretty humbling to be so close to so much history. Just to imagine the people who might have shared the same space as you so many years ago. The photos are wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

Aye, Istanbul is steeped in incredible history !
!PIZZA

Too bad I will likely never get to go there.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I always found the story of Medusa intriguing and fascinating. My mind always wanders what if when I watch and read about her all over again. This place is mighty cool and somewhere I'd like to visit too. You're really killing it here! Taking us on this adventures!

Yep - Medusa is an impressive beast, and ironically, turned to stone in the cistern !
!LOLZ

I tried to starte a professional hide and seek team but it didn't work out.
Turns out good players are hard to find.

Credit: marshmellowman
@deraaa, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hoosie

(6/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Many thanks - its appreciated !

Thank you for sharing these photographs - they are amazing! I can't even imagine how incredible it would be to experience it there 'live'! :) Thank you once again.

You are welcome - it was an amazing place !

Oh my god! This place was kinda scary, but it’s cool and I love it.

So beautiful post. Thank you for your sharing 😍

Many thanks !
!PIZZA

I've been there many years ago, and it's an amazing place, indeed! Istanbul is a wonderful city and I hope to be able to visiti it again one day :)

!PGM
!LOL

The person who invented autocorrect
should burn in hello.

Credit: marshmellowman
@hoosie, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @arc7icwolf

(1/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

Its so awesome - I loved it and the city !
!PGM
!LOLZ

Cartoonist found dead in home.
Details are sketchy.

Credit: reddit
@arc7icwolf, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hoosie

(1/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

This is one of my favorite places around the world 😍 I think I was there four times hope more again! Your photos are great not easy inside the dark area... well done!

Many thanks, and I totally agree - what a great place !
!ALIVE

Hey this looks amazing. I can't have enough of it. I'd love to know more about this place. The column with 'eyes', I wonder what's that from.

It really is an awesome place - I guess we'll never quite know where all the various bits and pieces came from. It was quite clear form all of the different parts that they came from many different buildings - but a heck of a long time ago now, of which no trace is left unfortunately.
!PIZZA

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1922.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: