Visiting Dahilayan, Bukidnon Not for Adventure but for a Wedding

in Pinmapple11 months ago (edited)

Family is where we find our home, no matter where it is.

IMG_0935.JPG

Over the past weekend, I flew all the way from Cebu City to Bukidnon, a province in the Philippines to attend the wedding of one of my closest cousins. This wedding was kind of unique from the weddings of my relatives since it was not done in our hometown, Iligan City. Also, my cousin and his wife and their families were also not from Bukidnon, but rather from Manila. Why would they fly everyone and decided to have their wedding in Bukidnon? I never got the chance to ask them about it but I guess I'll just lay out in this post.

IMG_0942.JPG

DAHILAYAN is situated at Manolo Fortich in Bukidnon, a province in the Philippines at a higher altitude. This place is very well-known for its adventure park boasting two 840m ziplines and drop zones. From Cebu City, you can take an hour's flight to Cagayan De Oro and then take a pre-arranged van or shuttle going to Dahilayan directly. I have been to this park a few years back and have tried their amazing rides. However, this time, we didn't get the chance to take rides due to the unpleasant weather and we spent most of our time for the wedding.

Reasons why you should have your Wedding in Dahilayan

Amazing View of Nature

IMG_0945.JPG

IMG_0940.JPG

IMG_0938.JPG

Little did I know, Dahilayan hosts several lodging and stay houses not just in the adventure park. my cousin's wedding was hosted in Dahilayan Gardens and Resort. This resort is a 5-minute drive from the adventure park and it kind of has a different vibe from the park. It features an AMAZING view of the mountains, ridges, pine trees, and many more. They have a beautiful garden for weddings and events as well.

Dahilayan Gardens and Resort also have villas and cottages for a staycation. Their cottages are distant from one another which means you would really enjoy the privacy and peacefulness of the area.

IMG_0937.JPG

IMG_0941.JPG

IMG_0943.JPG

Breath of Fresh Air

Pine trees, less pollution, high altitude, and cold weather - are some of the characteristics of a breath of fresh air. Away from stress, away from the hustling and bustling of the concrete jungle. It kinda made me reminisce about my time in Michigan during winter when the air is fresh and cold, and the smell of pine trees is so good that would let me forget about the stress in life.

IMG_0939.JPG

IMG_0936.JPG

Adventure Parks

Since Dahilayan is very known for its adventure park, having a wedding and enjoying the park would be a great way of hitting two birds at the same time, right? Especially if you are not from Bukidnon and have been wanting an exhilarating experience. They also have playgrounds perfect for letting kids be kids.

IMG_0962.JPG

For sure there are more reasons why my cousin and his wife chose such an amazing venue for their wedding. Most importantly, their love is real, and we as his family are happy to witness their union in front of our Lord. Here are some photos I took during the weeding, as a groomsman.

IMG_0946.JPG

IMG_0947.JPG

IMG_0948.JPG

IMG_0610.JPG

IMG_0609.JPG

IMG_0951.JPG

IMG_0608.JPG

IMG_0944.JPG

355634020_741857851275645_1799394555520098479_n.jpg

355512082_741855087942588_7916340759253794259_n.jpg


After the Wedding...

Pinegrove Mountain Lodge

IMG_0958.JPG

My mom's side of the family is huge so we have to scatter. Some have stayed in pension houses, some on other resorts, but in our case, we stayed in Pinegrove Mountain Lodge. It is the accommodation in the Dahilayan Adventure Park. My aunt rented 2 barkada rooms good for 8 people and a family room for 6 people for 2 days. I've heard from my other cousin that it cost my aunt P36,000 for that (sheeshh!).

IMG_0956.JPG

IMG_0933.JPG

IMG_0953.JPG

The area is amazing - peaceful, and cold, and provides an in-another-country-feels. They do have a restaurant with an indoor fireplace. My nieces and nephew enjoyed the indoor fireplace but I didn't get the chance to join because I was with my Kuya Earl and Ate Garleth, my cousins-in-law, drinking booze HAHAHAHA!

IMG_0954.JPG
Kuya Earl looking for out-of-duty employees to buy Red Horse HAHAHA

IMG_0955.JPG
Ate Garleth with her red horse and lechon HAHAHAHA

It was for sure a memorable night of drinking beer. Kuya Earl even asked some off-duty employees in their restaurant to buy us a case of beer since their restaurant doesn't sell Red Horse beers. Jan, my cousin who just got hitched, and her wife, together with their friends joined us also. It was funny how Kuya Earl repeatedly ranted about some people at the wedding bashing his experience about delayed flights, paying for his own dinner, and some miscommunications with the wedding time. We just have to laugh it out though hahahaha! Since Dahilyan is a very remote area, so there is no public transportation especially if it's past midnight. Kuya Earl, who is raised and has been in the States for years and just got back in the Philippines had to drive Jan and wifey back to Dahilayan Gardens and Resort. Even though it was just a 5-minute drive, it was through a very dark road and an unfamiliar place, not to mention we had some alcohol in our system. I don't know why but they do little to no lamp posts on their roads. HAHAHA! Good thing we were able to return back to Pinegrove Mountain Lodge safe and sound. It was for sure one for the books!

IMG_0932.JPG

Spending time with my relatives in the province will always be amazing especially if you're own family is broken. See you on my next post, Hiveans! Thank you!


34766340-06D6-42E8-BE74-6FFF277B8098.JPG

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Hi, I am CJ Estrada! I'm a content creator who loves to travel and escape the stressful life!

If you like this content, please leave a comment, follow, upvote, and reblog. Thank you so much!

Let's connect! #SHAREPEACEANDLOVE

Sort:  

Amazing blog @iamcjestrada
Check out my new travel community Wanderlust Explorers.
It would be a great help for me if you subscribe to my community.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello, brother that's a nice article from you in this you all look happy and enjoying the wedding party, it is spreading positive vibe😀.

It sure is. Thank you!

ka nice sa fog2x uy moody kaayo ang dating murag pang zombie2x

Hahaha nadaot naka sa zombie2x ser arc

Congratulations @iamcjestrada! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸

Tell me you're rich without telling me you're rich! Dzaah. Mamalik ta diri bi. Love the vibe!

HAHAHAHAHA DZAHH! Taaa mag-rides ang mga aunchie and angkoolsss

Woww Im inlove with the place💖 and congratulations to the newly wed by the way hehe.

Anyone would definitely fall in love with the place. Thanks!

And I'm one of them💗

Great text

That's such a beautiful place where to have someone a wedding to! I dream on my own wedding to happen as close as possible to the nature since my heart forever will stay with nature, but these are not very common and easy to be organized on this part of the globe, lol

Wow! Garden wedding! This is one of the most wished wedding by most girls. I don't know in men's perspective but most girls love this kind of venue for the wedding ceremony.

The place is indeed beautiful.

Beautiful place congratulations to the bride and groom.