The Beauty and Tranquility of Cebu Simala Shrine

in Pinmapple3 months ago

Recently, my family and I visited the Simala Shrine, also known as The Monastery of the Holy Eucharist in Sibonga, Cebu. It is a highly frequented religious site because many devotees are seeking to pray to the Blessed Virgin Mary- the main reason for our visit too. Let me share with you the beauty and tranquility of this spiritual haven as we created and cherished moments together with my family.


We had to travel 3 hours to reach the Simala, and we arrived around noon on Saturday. It is my second visit; the first was probably a decade ago, and it seems like a lot has changed since then. The architecture and structure of the castle-like church are so majestic. It's just so beautiful, and I was in awe when I saw how the place has changed over the years.

The pathway was different back then- stairs were longer and positioned in the center part. The new pathway is more convenient and well-designed.

When we stopped here to rest for a bit because of the intense heat of the sun, I appreciated the scenery ;it felt as though I was about to enter a transcendent portal.

I found out that the big crown, which you can see from the previous picture, was built during the pandemic year 2020 and it adds the majestic ambience of the place.

We stood in line to see and pray to the Miraculous Virgin Mary, and the pace was faster compared to before. As we waited, again, I found myself appreciating the beautiful scenery-it is breathtaking. The natural greenery and the sky above, along with the castle-like structure, just complemented each other.

When we went in, we had to take off our shoes and slippers, just like I remembered from my first visit, especially when we were near the wooden stairs. Inside, there are many healing testimonies you can see, with handwritten letters, wheelchairs, and cranes from people of all ages inside transparent cases. We offered our prayers and felt relieved and happy as we exited. I chose not to take pictures inside, as I was engrossed reading the testimonies of healed people and I believe that people must see it for themselves.

At the exit, there are stores where you can buy colored candles, rosaries, and other religious items.

The colored candles also have corresponding wishes or meaning.

I felt grateful for the opportunity to visit Simala again after so many years. Although I only remember fragments of my memory from my first visit, I still experience the same feelings I felt back then-amazed and at ease.


While waiting for my family as they lit candles and offered prayers, I explored and found a grass formation saying "We love Mama Mary" and what seems to be a fishpond, though we couldn't go down there. As you can see, the whole place is huge, and it truly makes me feel like I'm in a medieval period. Even with some parts under construction, I love the whole place—it feels like a safe haven.

The large statue of Miraculous Mama Mary of Lindogon in Sibonga, Cebu is situated just near the main exit. It is truly beautiful and cannot be overlooked.

By the way, this is the parking area for visitors of the Simala Shrine, and you can find cottages that you can rent at 400 pesos.

We rented one for our lunch there and enjoyed our time together.

I prayed to Mama Mary for my uncle's safe journey back to work abroad. I also asked for our family's safety, good health, and many more years together. Even though some family members couldn't be there due to commitments and distance, they are in my prayers.

If asked whether I want to revisit Simala, I would definitely say yes, but only with my family. It's better when you're with your family. No matter how hot it is under the sun and how long the travel takes, I wouldn't regret it.

When you arrive at the place-you'd surely be amazed and feel so peaceful. It's not something you see everyday, but the beauty, tranquility, and the miracles of Mama Mary make it a really special place.

All photos were taken by me.


If you wish to visit the Simala Shrine, bring lots of water and an umbrella, sweeties! Safe travels, and I hope that all of your prayers and wishes will be heard and fulfilled!

Sort:  

One of the place I always love to visit in Cebu

Yesss. It's such an uplifting place.

it's been so long since the last time I went there 🥹 such a beautiful place indeed.

Wow! Please take me there sis. I so loved Cebu when I went there for the first time.

Hi! I'm glad you loved Cebu and I think I've read before how much you wanted to come back here again, haha.

I'm not familiar with the directions to the place, but I'd be happy to help in some way, hehe.😄

Beautiful place to visit with family indeed. Someday I hope I'll have the opportunity to visit Cebu and your lovely country 😊

Definitelyyy. I really hope you get to visit someday. You'd be most welcome here! 😊

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2146.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hi, @livinguktaiwan! Thank you for the honorable mention! I appreciate the recognition and support from the @pinmapple team.😊

!LUV the sharing. Good job on your blog, Erika. Hope to read more from you in the future. 😎

Thank youuu. I appreciate it! More coming soon!

Is Cebu the definition of beauty? Like real now... until a few years now when some people started writing about it, had no clue it exists, and ever since all the posts revealing a bit more of Cebu are yet so beautiful!

Oh, yes! Cebu has so much to offer. I'm glad more people are discovering its beauty, especially here on Hive. 😊

We're planning to visit soon. Thank you for sharing your experience while visiting the church @ikaycutie 🤗❤❤

Have a safe trip with your fam!😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much, @pinmapple!

Great place to say our prayers.

Indeed.😊

Beautiful photos! the places looks really beautiful 😀😀

Thank you! I'm glad you liked the photos. 😊

It looks so beautiful!!

Awesome architecture!