Surviving the Test of Time

in Pinmapple11 months ago

Growing up, I've always loved reading picture books of historical landmarks that are unknown to me. Teachers at school are best at telling stories of the past; how it was and how it is today. And that sparked my love for history.

A week ago, I took this photo of a church which became a designated meeting place with a client. We run a catering business and at days like these, we go out for an ocular visit to see their venue.

It was raining when we left home and we're lucky enough that the rain stopped when we got there. And so, while we are waiting for a few more minutes I took this picture not knowing there is an interesting fact about this church. Actually, a wedding is being held at that time. We did looked inside (since we're curious about the styling) but I forgot to take some photos.

The main door of the church is narrow. And it was new to me since it's the very first time that I've seen a chruch like that. It has two other doors on each side of the main door in which only two person could fit in. The inside is evidently old and it exudes antique vibes. Maybe like the ones that existed at the time the spaniards colonized the Philippines. I maybe wrong about that but it really feels old.

The name of the church is San Guillermo Parish Church and it is located in Bacolor, Pampanga here in the Philippines. And I honestly didn't felt that there was something unusual about it. I only knew since my cousins were talking about it at our client's party yesterday. We were on a private resort (very close) behind the church so you can't help but notice it.

And that fact is... this church is only half of the original building. Half of it is buried underground. Isn't that interesting?

Back story, there was a time in the Philippines that a certain volcano (close to our province) erupted. And from the stories, the sky went black since it rained ashes and the mudflow buried most of the properties surrounding that neighboring province. Today, you would see mountain like hills that are product of that mudflow. And so it is not surprising that half of this church was buried at that time.

Imagine how tall it originally was and the window above is now used as the main door, isn't it fascinating? One of my cousins was amazed by the fact (since she was born in 2005) so I thought about this and shared it today. This church must've been massive back in the day that there is still this big part of it that is left standing and survived the test of time.

That reminded me of a quote; "Wherever you go, keep your feet on the ground."

I guess I could relate that to a person with those values who has and will remain standing for many years.


Tomorrow awaits, so let's strive hard to be better.


copysteemit.png


© imawreader | Image is mine.

Sort:  

Congratulations @imawreader! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!