Basking in Tranquility: Medellin Bamboo Forest in Cebu, Philippines

in Worldmappin5 months ago

I barely go outside my little home because of the comfort I found with just being alone however I couldn't deny that I needed to get out and enjoy a little bit of sunshine. And so I made new friends with my grandmother's caregivers. Two young ladies starting their careers here in the northernmost of Cebu, Philippines. It was their first time to be far from their home and so I invited them to visit some tourist spots that I know they will enjoy.

bamboo02.JPG

bamboo04.JPG

bamboo06.JPG

Our first stop was the BAMBOO FOREST in Medellin, Cebu. To be honest, it wasn't my first time visiting this place but it was theirs so I wanted them to experience the peace and serenity this place has.

It was a Sunday. I was expecting a lot of people so we had set off early at around 8 am however when we arrived there was barely any soul inside. The entrance fee was only 30 pesos or less than a dollar so it was just a treat to enjoy the place to ourselves.

When we walked right in, there were two Japanese-looking frameboards with surfboards. I didn't know what to make up for it. 😅 But it was noticeable that the Bamboo culms were tall and almost overlapped with each other in the middle.

bamboo05.JPG

bamboo57.JPG

bamboo35.JPG

bamboo13.JPG

bamboo23.JPG

bamboo32.JPG

bamboo73.JPG

I love how the Bamboo was lined up with walkways in the middle and provided so much shade against the sun's heat. As we were walking through, I felt this sense of relief and calmness that took some weight off my shoulders. I didn't notice I was carrying some unwanted burden.

There were small cottages on the sides for family to rent where they can eat their food. There were also other stores inside which I didn't take a photo anymore. You can also rent those Japanese costumes to use for your photo ops.

Right after passing other man-made decorations, we walked under these colorful hanging umbrellas that added more color and vibrancy to the scenery. Reminded me of Mary Poppins. 😄

bamboo09.JPG

bamboo165.JPG

bamboo170.JPG

On the far end of the place, a grotto can be found. There were wooden chairs for people to sit down. It looks like a safe place to meditate pray or just spend a quiet time with nature. I find this part comforting. There were coy fishes as well found below the grotto. There were a variety of them however I feel the coins on the water are not healthy for them. 😅

bamboo78.JPG

bamboo81.JPG

bamboo83.JPG

bamboo91.JPG

bamboo79.JPG

After our short stroll, my two young companions were eager to have some photos and I volunteered to photograph them using my camera. Well, I love how charming and natural they were as models.

First, we took some photos showcasing the bamboo forest as our backdrop. Then we had some close-up shots sitting on their man-made bamboo chairs.

bamboo75.JPG

bamboo122.JPG

bamboo135.JPG

bamboo160.JPG

bamboo46.JPG

bamboo66.JPG

bamboo154.JPG

bamboo162.JPG

This lady enjoyed posing on the tractor.

bamboo92.JPG

bamboo93.JPG

It was fun, and refreshing visiting this place with them. I was glad that we had the place all to ourselves so when other customers slowly started coming in. I found it as a sign to end our short visit here.

This quick getaway wouldn't be complete without a short break at the COFFEE BAR just right across the forest. It was such a cozy coffee shop right in the middle of nowhere. We couldn't say no to a cold drink as the sun's heat was growing. Its bright pink flowers surrounding the café were inviting enough for us to take shade inside.

bamboo173.JPG

bamboo176.JPG

bamboo177.JPG

bamboo182.JPG

bamboo198.JPG

bamboo179.JPG

bamboo220.JPG

The café was simple, clean, and comfortable. I love the tables situated on the sides of the building under the canopy filled with hanging leaves. It felt a little bit romantic for me. We chose a spot overlooking a small lake/pond if I'm not mistaken.

There were a variety of drinks offered from iced coffee to frappes, hot drinks, and tea. they also served tapioca & halo-halo. For food, there were salad, pizza, cakes, and sandwiches. You can never go wrong here. I ordered an iced Cappucino, and my companions had Blueberry and Strawberry Frappes for only $3-4 dollars each.

bamboo184.JPG

bamboo190.JPG

bamboo191.JPG

bamboo196.JPG

bamboo204.JPG

bamboo228.JPG

bamboo221.JPG

We quenched our thirst with these delicious drinks. Chat a little bit about their dreams and some of their personal stories. Once we had our fill, it was time to say goodbye and head to our next stop - Camp Sadagat.

That's it for now. Stay tuned!


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a scenic place.. Cebu indeed has a lot of hidden gems, both human-made and natural features..

Thank you! That is true indeed! There is too much too explore. Pero hopefully, international napud ko sunod. haha

What a delightful way to spend your day! The Bamboo Forest in Medellin sounds like a tranquil escape, and it's wonderful that you could share the experience with new friends. I love those pictures of the Bamboo also.. Great one you shared today

Thank you! You definitely describe it better than I - tranquil escape from the noise of our minds. Well, for someone who overthinks like me, it was just the mini adventure I needed.

Lol. You are right actually. Sometimes it's needed.

wow, this is the one of my dreams to go here🥺, I think you have a good time together specifically the bamboo farm are so rare I wish I could go here soon

You should make it a pitstop if you plan on traveling around Medellin! Definitely worth visiting.

I really admire that place, but I have not gotten an opportunity to visit it, hopefully soon. The more I get excited while reading your blog miss @indayclara 😍😍

You should definitely visit it when there is no crowd so you can enjoy the place to yourselves like us!

The Bamboo Forest in Meddellin is really an amazing place if you want to unwind. I have been there, the ambiance of the place and the awesome structures on the forest really amazed me!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2112.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow, loving that coffee right there from their coffee bar....I always love this place though it is a bit far from where I am, actually planned visiting this place again soon☺️☺️