A Winter Wonderland Experience in Lillehammer , Norway πŸ‡³πŸ‡΄

in Pinmapple β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard about the series Lilyhammer? It's about this certain guy from New York who is relocated to Lillehammer, Norway and fell in love with the town. I think, I also have the same experience as he has. Well, I did not watch the whole series but a friend narrate most of the important scenes in the series. So, let me share with you why living in Lillehammer is special.

Lillehammer is a town and municipality in Oppland county, Norway.

IMG_20220323_224920.jpg

It's two hours away from Oslo, the capital city of Norway. Either you'll go by car or train and there's also a bus connection from Oslo airport to the town. The region has a special place in the hearts of many winter sports fans. Since the 1994 Winter Olympic Games has been played here and the Youth Olympic Games in 2016. I was lucky enough to experience the 2016 Winter Olympics and see for myself. Yeeeeyyy! (I think, that's one of the highlights of my stay)

There are two famous ski resorts in Lillehammer. A few minutes away from the centrum. The Hafjell is famous for downhill skiing and SjujΓΈen is for cross country skiing. As they said Norwegians are born with skis on their feet. It's just a lot of activities to do during the wintertime and tourism is booming as most skiers come to visit this place.

Living in Lillehammer for two years is another life experience. People described Norwegians as cold but warm at heart. They are very friendly and easy to talk with. They speak English fluently.

Maybe you'll ask? If I learned how to ski? Yes, I had my first cross country skiing in Lillehammer together with my host family and my first snow sledge trip. It was not that awesome but it was cool. Got some videos saved which until now I can't stop laughing every time I watched them. πŸ˜‚

IMG_20220323_230816.jpg

I'll show you some of the great pictures I've captured during my stay in Lillehammer and why I call it the Winterwonderland of Norway.

IMG_20220323_230639.jpg

The train, bus, taxi stations at night as it's filled with snow everywhere. Maybe you'll ask. Why does this train station look like a hotel or something? It's a hotel. Yes, it is! It's called Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel. Where you can stay for your winter holiday.

IMG_20220323_225005.jpg

This beautiful restaurant looks like an old renaissance mansion and it's really beautiful during the autumn season. Like the leaves, that's covers the walls turn orange, yellow and red.

IMG_20220323_224952.jpg

Lillehammer is a diverse town with different people, cultures coming together to study such as in the film industry. I met a lot of them as they were my classmate at the language school. There's also a small Filipino group here that I get to know back then and still get connected with until now. We met mostly in the Catholic Church during Sunday masses shared with Filipinos and the Polish community. Most of the Filipinos who live here are married to Norwegian, mostly health care staff like nurses, caregivers and hotel workers.

I did study some language courses way back then. So, I'll be able to speak Norsk (Norwegian) until now. I think that's the beauty of living in different places. You discovered the culture, love it and learn from it.

IMG_20220323_225359.jpg

This bridge is called Vingnesbrua. A bridge that connects the other side of Lillehammer to the town itself. I mostly walked every weekend from our house because I'm not good at catching up on buses. We only have one bus every hour and since it's snowing. The bus could be late or it arrives earlier. So, I ended up walking most of the time. Which I also love. Even though it's negative Celcius degrees sometimes.

IMG_20220323_225346.jpg

The overview pictures of Lillehammer.

IMG_20220323_225250.jpg

The powdery snow that covers the town.

IMG_20220323_225221.jpg

I lived on the other opposite side of the town called Vignes, We only have a few neighbours around the area but they were the warmest kind people I've ever met during my European stayed. One of the reasons why I'm fell in love with the country itself. It's not just because of the abundance and beauty of nature every season. But, the hospitality of everyone that surrounds me. That I always felt at HOME.

IMG_20220323_225413.jpg

A beautiful winter sunset picture from our living room. Showcasing the beautiful town on the other side and the famous Olympic ski jump.

IMG_20220323_230936.jpg

Winter sunlight ✨

IMG_20220323_230800.jpg

This view never gets old. This is my room window view. Every day for two years.

IMG_20220323_230551.jpg

One of my host kids' rooms faces the town ☘

IMG_20220323_225237.jpg

IMG_20220323_230946.jpg

Our kitchen views have the same view as my bedroom windows.

IMG_20220323_232515.jpg

IMG_20220323_230537.jpg

And yes, we grow flowers and herbs indoors πŸ₯΄

IMG_20220323_225139.jpg

IMG_20220323_224934.jpg

These are some pictures from my walk during sunset in the neighbourhood. Like a painting right?!✨

Did you know that Norway is one of the most expensive countries in Europe aside from Switzerland? Yes, it's freaking expensive. They pay higher taxes but their government system is quite good. Aside from being expensive 😜 it's one of the best countries I have lived in so far. No bias, as I mentioned in the first few paragraphs of this blog. That this country feels like HOME to me. Even though my Swedish in-laws know about it. I'm just so happy that when I was sharing Lillehammer with them. They decided to visit the place and took some pictures of where exactly I had my pictures back then, my walking area, the place I had my food and more. Until now, I'm still wishing to be back.

To my host mom who never gets tired of sending me our bike routes, the wildflowers I usually picked up during summertime and my not so little bananas that I left behind. (My host kids) it's been like years. But the memories, connections and relationships remain. That I'm forever grateful for. The gift of family around the world.

IMG_20220323_230458.jpg

Who'll never get tired of this sunset view in the wintertime?

IMG_20220323_230607.jpg

Why there are so many glass Windows? Since it's almost winter half of the year and it's slowly getting darker early during the day. The glass windows help to have some light around the house. (But, it's not good in the summertime as it's getting a lot of light and it's hard to fall asleep)

IMG_20220323_230738.jpg

Our neighbour who's from Mindanao whom I met during my walk wrote this one. And it's awesome! 🀩

IMG_20220323_225113.jpg

IMG_20220323_230432.jpg

IMG_20220323_230415.jpg

These beautiful colours 🧑 I missed this everyday 😍

IMG_20220323_230923.jpg

I'm already a cat lover back then. This is my friend's host Family's cat Petra. And she's a black adorable cat.

IMG_20220323_230654.jpg

Every season is beautiful but I will always love the wintertime. Aside from the pink, purple, beautiful hues from the sky and powdery snow everywhere. The aurora borealis. The northern lights. Lillehammer is not a place to watch this phenomenon but there's a time in wintertime that it appears. And it's very seldom. But, girl! I was lucky enough to see and experience it.

IMG_20220329_131746.jpg

IMG_20220329_131759.jpg

Impressive isn't right? The night that I will always remember 🀍

IMG_20220323_233613.jpg

So happy that I was able to live in Norway and experience the amazing winter wonderland moment with friends.

IMG_20220323_230622.jpg

This town will always be my favourite and I can't wait to be back one day.πŸ•ŠοΈ

Sort: Β 


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh my. Suuper nice sa Norway.. ^^. kuyoga ko sunod ha~ :)

Yessss, Sure! This year naba?! 🀩😍πŸ₯³ Haha

untitled.gif

Hahaha I love :) murag true oe.

wow that really looks like the color of the painting.
that must really have been very nice memories you have there during your stay in Norway.

Totally agree with you @ekavieka ..

Thanks for dropping by! A lifetime experience and a very memorable one. πŸ€πŸ•ŠοΈπŸ₯³

untitled.gif

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

@priyanarc I hope you are still doing well with Gigi. Thanks! πŸ’›πŸ•ŠοΈπŸ’™

@diyhub untitled.gif

Congratulations @itsmiessyonpeakd! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 5000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I love those photos!

Awwww, Thank you! 🀍untitled.gif

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1514.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hello there @livinguktaiwan Thank you so much! Wish you a great day ahead 🌸

untitled.gif

Norway is one of the countries I badly love to visit. They say the best site to see the Northern Lights is in Norway. I also have relatives there. Shoutout out to all Filipinos living in that beautiful country.

Super! You'll never regret gyud once you visit the country. Labina ug nature lover ka or outdoor nga tao. Every season has a lot to offer! As they always said nga there's no bad weather.only bad clothes. Kaya! No matter what the season is. Kung kabalo lang gyud ka musoot ug proper clothing. Di gyud problema ang laag didto. Hehe

Asa dapit imong mga relatives nipoyo? You should ask them if they could invite or sponsor you for a trip. It will be a lifetime experience gyud. Hoping that you'll visit Norway one day. πŸ€πŸ™πŸΌπŸ•ŠοΈ

wow! ka nindot sa northern lights, sana all oi...

Super kaayo Jay! Bisag phone photos lang. Super nindot gyapon kaayo. ✨✨✨✨✨

Wahh ka nice😍 We’ve always dreamt of snow and northern lightsπŸ₯°

Nyayyyyyy. Manifest lang. Basin puhon. Puhon πŸ₯°πŸ™πŸΌπŸ•ŠοΈ

WARNING - The message you received from @aston.villa is a CONFIRMED SCAM!

DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

It's cold....but, it's so beautiful! πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘
πŸ₯¦ !love πŸ₯¦

Nice keep it up.
if you haven't receive 300 HIVE than vote Drakos for witness
Drakos is a well known and great guy so i am vouching for him
Vote for Drakos and get 300 HIVE

VOTE NOW CLICK HERE

EVERYONE!!!

untitled.gif

Se ti Γ¨ arrivata una notifica da parte mia NON APRIRLA, non sono io, Γ© qualche delinquente che si Γ¨ appropriato della mia chiave.
Grazie

If you have received a notification from me DO NOT OPEN it, it is not me, it is some thug who has stolen my key.
Thank you

Si has recibido una notificaciΓ³n mΓ­a NO LA ABRAS, no soy yo, es un matΓ³n que me ha robado la llave.