Stanley Town: The Once Pirate Hideouts And British Army Barracks, Now A Small French Town

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

October 30, 2022

Reveal spoiler

Do you still remember my travel blog about the Twin Peak? This place below is the Stanley Town. Look how pretty this town is.

IMG_20221028_194646.jpg
Our plan after our hike that day was to visit this town. Unfortunately, due to a lack of time, we failed to do so. Until then, I was yearning for seeing the town and its beaches. And just this month, I finally visited this town and my solo trip was so worth it.,


#TravelHongKong presents - Stanley Town: The Once Pirate Hideouts And British Army Barracks, Now A Small French Town

I love exploring and venturing out to different places in Hong Kong, may there is a travel buddy or solo. Traveling solo isn't new to me as it has been my way of unwinding after a long week of toxic work. Under any circumstance, I would travel if I want to. This time, I went a little farther alone just to see this town that I'd been yearning to visit ever since. Traveling along the peninsula of Hong Kong island offers stunning views of different beaches, trails, and outlying islands. Boats of different sizes sailing on and off the vast ocean are some of the scenic views.

Beforehand, I patiently queued at the Central bus terminus where buses going to Stanley and other towns along Hong Kong island can be found. If you guys want to visit Hong Kong and this town someday, you have to take either of the buses with these numbers: 6X, 6A, 66, 6, and 260. Now I'm curious why vehicles have the number six. If my memory serves me right, the fare costs me HK$12 or US$1.53. Not bad for a great city escape.

IMG_20221002_111025.jpg

After more than half an hour, the bus stopped at the parking space on the upper platform of Stanley Plaza. Since it was my first time visiting the place, I wasn't sure where to head to.

IMG_20221028_213535.jpg

Some elevators would bring visitors to the lower floors of the plaza. A noob I was, I thought of going to beaches so I didn't ride on any of the elevators. Later that day, I found out that it will actually take me to the bottom part of the plaza and conveniently go out to the main area of the town.

IMG_20221028_214131.jpg

Nonetheless, I took the escalator instead and I came across what they so-called The Lover's Terrace.

IMG_20221028_213408.jpg

Indeed, love is in the air with the presence of this sweet couple on the terrace.

IMG_20221028_213452.jpg

When they vacated the terrace, I took over the place and that's when I found out that Stanley Town's main area is at the bottom part along the waterfront. I was looking for the beach where I was supposed to watch an event, and I thought it was located down the place in the photo. Excited I was, and the thought of using the elevator to get down there had been blown out of my mind. Because I became busy taking photos, lol.

IMG_20221028_213655.jpg

The left side of the lover's terrace, I presumed, was the rooftop of the plaza which has a wide area for resting and eating. There were benches and tables, as well as umbrellas that offer some shed to visitors. Since it was noon, I opted to devour my food before continuing my journey.

After devouring my food, I inquired about the direction to the beach and one of the visitors cordially told me the direction. My initial plan was to watch the dragon boat racing competition, but for some reason, I had an unexpected detour. I headed down the first alley I saw, although unsure if it was the direction the lady told me, lol.

At the end of this alley, my real adventure began.

20220826_142549_0000.png

Welcome to Stanley Town!

Located in the southern district along the peninsula of Hong Kong island is Stanley Town. With its picturesque sceneries and tranquil environment, surely, Stanley stood out from all towns along the HK island peninsula. Thus, making it the most visited place by tourists, locals, and foreigners.

IMG_20221028_185736.jpg

The town was named after Lord Stanley, a prominent Secretary of the UK during the treaty of peace between the UK and Hong Kong. The town is also known as Chek Chue in Cantonese which was the first name of the original town. Meanwhile, its Chinese name is 賊柱 which means Bandit's post.

IMG_20221028_230730.jpg

Where it got its name has some implications, and the reason why it was called Bandit's post is that its history says it has been a hideout of a notorious pirate named Cheung Po Tsai. But the cave that was once their hideout has been filled. Moreover, the Cantonese name which means red pillar was associated with red cotton trees which folks believe were massive in the village in old times.

IMG_20221028_190350.jpg

Meanwhile, during the early 1840s, the town's fort became the barracks of the British army where they mounted their last stand. It also served as the temporary administrative center of the British. Then the troops subsequently moved to Central HK, which was formerly known as Victoria City by that time.
Source of information

IMG_20221029_093920.jpg

20220826_142549_0000.png

From pirate hideouts to British army barracks, the town is no longer under any foreign administration or some bandit's post, it is now a harmonious town with picturesque spots in all corners that attracts healthy numbers of tourists, most especially during holiday seasons.

IMG_20221028_185901.jpg

Given that Hong Kong has been under British Colony in the past, it makes the British people travel and migrate to the country easily. There is a substantial number of the French population in this country who are looking for a living, mostly the young ones working as French and English teachers. A sizeable community of them is found in this town. So this doesn't just attract many tourists, because some have preferred to settle here.

IMG_20221028_181742.jpg

There are several tourist attractions in this town, and I was able to capture them while strolling around. The weather just gave me a perfect day to do it. The promenade offers a scenic view of the town, and outlying beaches and islands.

IMG_20221028_175040.jpg

From the distance are windsurfers that appeared tiny from the surface. They are from neighboring beaches that are only a few distances away from the town.

IMG_20221028_190250.jpg

Meanwhile, on the waterside along the promenade are several fishing boats owned by locals. Some can be rented for private water tours. Ferries are going to this town as well, for those who prefer to travel by sea and see the more stunning views of HK shorelines.

IMG_20221028_181142.jpg

This part with red rock formations is also one of the attractions which are found before walking to the promenade.
IMG_20221028_174807.jpg

It offers a panoramic view of the sea, the town on the right, Stanley's secluded beach, and neighboring villages on the left.

A little farther is the Waterfront Market with several alfresco restaurants serving different cuisines: Asian and Western.

IMG_20221028_175839.jpg

IMG_20221028_185639.jpg

There are some outdoor shops too selling apparel and souvenir items.

IMG_20221028_175124.jpg

20220826_142549_0000.png

As I stepped onto the Stanley Main Street, I was confused if I was in Hong Kong, or somewhere in a European village. The exterior designs of the buildings have some touch of British architecture, and the fact that there is a sizeable French population here makes it, "a small French town of Hong Kong."

IMG_20221028_181354.jpg

I learned that this building kept changing colors, which probably depends on the season. This time, the owner chose the yellow color.

IMG_20221028_180100.jpg

A curious cat I am, I looked into Wiki and I learned that there are 25,000 French citizens in HK by 2019. So certainly, there is more French citizen by this time. There are even Italian restaurants and cafes in the area.

IMG_20221028_181907.jpg

The whole main street is lined with restaurants, cafes, and bars, which serve as the hangout place for visitors in the town. It probably is good to sit in one of those with a bottle of beer, coffee, or tea, while overlooking the picturesque ocean.

IMG_20221028_181558.jpg

At the end of Main Street is Stanley Plaza with another one-of-a-kind architecture. It was only opened in 2001. It houses a supermarket, an arcade, several shops, and more cafes, fast food, and restaurants serving Western and Asian cuisine. The well-known Starbucks, McDonald, and KFC can also be found here.

IMG_20221029_230343.jpg

IMG_20221028_171810.jpg

Just in front of the Stanley Plaza is an outdoor amphitheater. This is certainly where events in the town are held. The wide area on the sides also serves as a resting place for visitors.
IMG_20221028_181002.jpg

There was an ongoing event when I visited the place which was part of Oktoberfest. There were several games in each booth with different prizes.

IMG_20221028_172048.jpg

Beside it is a playground for kids.

IMG_20221029_132822.jpg

A few more walks from the playground is the Tin Hau Temple.

IMG_20221028_180708.jpg

20220826_142549_0000.png

Some remains from the British colonial era are still noticeable in the town. I thought these houses below are villas since they are located in front of the secluded beach on the western side of the town's promenade. As I searched its name, it is called Pak Kan Uk which means eight houses. These connected eight houses where the local farmers from a certain village were resettled while planning to strengthen the coastal defense of the British army barracks.

IMG_20221028_180451.jpg

The uniform architecture with traditional Chinese tiled roofs, red bricks, and green painted doors is what makes them distinct from other houses in the town. Nowadays, some local residents are occupying the houses. Source

Another British remain is this Victorian-era building, Murray House. It is one of the oldest Victorian-era buildings in HK, and has served as an army barracks during the British colonial era and was named after Master General, Sir George Murray. The house was also occupied by the Japanese during WWII.

IMG_20221030_101532.jpg

Nowadays, it houses several shops like H&M and restaurants like Ocean Rock. It has been a top spot for wedding photoshoots and reception areas. For German visitors in HK, this place is perfect for you. King Ludwig buffet restaurant is on the top floor that offers German cuisine and other delicacies. You could feel the German ambiance in it.

IMG_20221030_101410.jpg

Heading straight next to the house along the waterfront is the Blake Pier named after Henry Arthur Blake.

IMG_20221028_185955.jpg

It was formerly known as Pedder Wharf and originally situated in Central HK which served as a landing port for governors and royal British dignitaries. It was dismantled twice in Central and situ respectively different times for reclamation purposes and finally rebuilt in this town in 2007.
You can find the information in this information board below, located before the pier.IMG_20221002_144346.jpg

This now serves as a pier for locals and tourists traveling by water. It is also a top tourist attraction in the town. The architecture is extraordinary and worth capturing.

IMG_20221028_190054.jpg

The pier also serves as a resting shed for visitors waiting for the ferry to arrive. There are a few benches in it where old visitors can take a rest. This also serves as a fishing spot for anyone who wants to catch fish; may they be locals or tourists.

IMG_20221028_190159.jpg

This boat was rented by a family for a water tour.

IMG_20221028_190518.jpg

The pier is also a perfect spot to watch windsurfers from the distance, and ferries and boats coming in and out of the water. The outlying islands are much more visible in this area.

IMG_20221028_174428.jpg

20220826_142549_0000.png

One of my favorite attractions in the town is the Stanley Market which has a long array of outdoor shops and stalls with different merchandise, apparel, toys, electric items, souvenirs, and gift items.

IMG_20221030_110643.jpg

But among shops, my favorite is Art Galleries with stunning paintings with different textures. There are murals and other forms of canvas and art too.

IMG_20221030_110533.jpg

IMG_20221030_110414.jpg

Inside the art galleries are where those paintings are being made by the painters. There is even an art school at the end of the market where anyone can attend art workshops and learn how to paint and make other forms of art.

IMG_20221030_110451.jpg

It seems like artists are everywhere in the town. I spotted an old man making caricatures for visitors who opt to get them for themselves. His artwork is truly incredible. His location is along Stanley Main Street, in case you want to find him.

IMG_20221028_180257.jpg

IMG_20221028_180137.jpg

As you wander around the town, you can see more shops and stalls with art displays. There are even murals on some walls. Just like this cute cat in summer mode at Market Road.

IMG_20221028_175940.jpg

At the end of the long walk around the town, there is a perfect spot to visit, the Stanley beaches. It would be a great therapy to walk barefoot on its golden fine sand while appreciating the beauty of nature.

You can either bask and swim on the secluded beach on the western side of the town.
IMG_20221028_191630.jpg

Or on the bigger main beach on the eastern side of the town. Both can be crowded on special holidays. I was glad they weren't that crowded when I visited them.
IMG_20221030_112818.jpg

I had some me time on the main beach after my long walk around the town. There are actually more spots in the town that I wasn't able to visit, such as Ma Hang Park, the military cemetery where British armies were buried, the famous school in the town, and the oldest police station, and I missed hiking the nearest mountain.

I'll be back to this place someday and make sure to soak on either of the beaches and hike the nearest mountain to make my journey more worth it.

That concludes my travel journey in this beautiful town. For more stories regarding this town, you can check these travel blogs below.

Related Articles:

Murray House

Stanley market

Art galleries

Stanley Beach

(All photos are mine)
Don't forget to sub, like, and share my Youtube video. Gracias 😊

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXDhCdbKLssUZHyzgV8BMivE5JBKjj6Z1mXGKEa2poFtSmgk8UUkkrURjvkmRJDTSPWo525rjc3ZyuTfsicGv3jrGn5u45Mc3UzoYhkXFZRSLN.webp

20220809_221527_0000.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jane1289 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Whoa, seriously madam, this is really a beautiful place. And dami mong napuntahan na part jan ah, UwU. Lalong mas maganda yong nasa may seaside. 🤩

Sobra hndi enough one day para libutin to..

Every time you post on hive, I know you're having a great day, and I always admire you. I absolutely love all of the photographs. It was professionally handled. I had no idea Hong Kong could be so amazing.

It so amazing jehe. You should visit someday

I hope I have the chance to travel far. Btw, my hometown is known as the "little Hong Kong" town. (Sandakan) 🤭🤭🤭

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow - it looks so pretty there - lovely pics !
!CTP

Thank you

Fantastic work Jane! Awesome video.

Thank you

I love your pictures. Very very nice post.

Everything looks so beautiful and i like your hair too ❤️

Thanks 😊

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @jane1289.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hong Kong is so amazing, and the cities are beautiful too... I really admire it... and I really want to visit this place one day...! Have a good day...

Thank you.. It's worth visiting 😊

That's funky that they actually have an art school.

Yep.... You can attend the class if you come here 🤣 it will be worth HK$350 per session 😂

hmm and I wonder how much that is

I watched the video above and I was just smiling because you indeed took so much effort capturing every view. Such a beautiful place to visit and unwind. I admire the clothes you are putting on plus the chair you sat on. Those chairs and tables are amazing.

Thanks that you love it 😊..

Wow dami afam! 😆😆😆 Joke lng. I love that you added the history of this town. Love the rock formations on the beach too

Yes dami like everywhere 😂..

Being part Chinese I can feel a bit at home here.
I know my grandmother spoke Cantonese but I am not good at the language.
Love the naval history with Cheung Po Tsai and the Red Flag fleet, related to the famous pirate queen Ching Shih.

Of course, you'll like the pirate stuff hehe..

Super cool shots and you really captured the vibe of this place. Love it! (And want to visit now hahaha)

Haha...come to HK 😁

Grabe ganda nung mga places ate! sa mga may bato bato tsaka paglakad sa dagat ako sumasakit mga paa ko pag usapang dagat. 🤧

Toinks? Bkt? Kakarelax ng eh

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1684.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you 😊

Hi @jane1289, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you 😊

Jane, please take me there. What a very beautiful place. If there is a superlative that could tantamount this spot, then that would be it. A gorgeous lady in a very mesmerizing view and the foods were very delicious too. How I wish I could explore there one day.

Tara punta ka dto. Gala tyo hehe

Congratulations @jane1289! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022

Oh @jane1289, your post are so great. It is absolutely amazing to have an trip like this, I love the pictures most, They are very vivid.

Thank you 😊. It was an amazing place

Hong Kong is beautiful, I hope one day I will be there for a fun trip with you.

You can, if you want 😊

Hit me up the next time you go out so we go together😁

I can imagine how fun it was for you to explore that place. I enjoyed the tour through your stunning photographs.

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @jane1289 and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/12 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

I'll bring you another beautiful place next time 😁

Looking forward to that sis :) TIA

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@jane1289, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @ifarmgirl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Ang ganda naman jan😍Nakakarelax ang tanawin.
Ang ganda oa ng mga kuha mo miss jane😍

Salamuch 😊

Wow Stanley Town is so beautiful. I can understand why British and French people like that place. Thank you for sharing a beautiful place today @jane1289

The place was inspired by British people hehe.. Thanks for stopping by

Taray mo madam! Ikaw man ngayan nagdaog. Mauli na ako. Hahaha
Jane Philippines-Hongkong! Oh Di ba! Bongga! 😀😀
Panhatag barato madam An bungkag la akon madam Hini NGA imo post. Hehehe

Huna ko afam imo bet. 😂

Hahaha. SA Una ato madam... Imagine almost decade ko ato na trap...hahaha
Ig let go la diay ako 😁😁😁

It's amazing how many stunning places there are in the world and we don't even know about them... Beautiful and colorful!

I am not at all used to the Asian way of life, the cities, and the landscapes. I read your blog carefully and will have to re-read it. You did a good alternation of text, information, and pictures and I enjoyed reading it. Thank you!

Welcome 😊

Congratulations @jane1289! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022

Grabehan,ang lawak at ang ganda ng town na yarn! Thanks for touring us around! 😊

Thanks sa pag daan hehe

What a beautiful place indeed Miss Jane! I really want to visit Hongkong very soon because of you! ❤️

Kaya mo yan mam hehe

The man who is making caricature might steal all my full attention..Hindi na siguro Ako makaka Alis doon katitingin..ahaha..

Wow, What a beautiful place. For sure you enjoyed your travel. Thanks for sharing.