A visit to Basel, Switzerland

in Pinmapple2 years ago

A few years ago my husband and I visited Switzerland with my sister-in-law and her husband. When we arrived in Basel, we planned to rest a bit and then wait for the bus to Zurich. Basel was just a passing destination that turned into a very nice visit. Although we planned to spend some time there, we stayed almost the whole day.

CH 009-1.jpg

While we were flying high above the clouds, I was very excited and looking forward to our visit.

CH 001.jpg

It was our first visit to Switzerland, a country where the streets are quiet and empty during working hours and full of life after.

CH 032.jpg

CH 034.jpg

While we were walking through Basel, we admired the architecture of this historic city.

CH 010-1.jpg

CH 011.jpg

CH 033.jpg

CH 015.jpg

CH 016-1.jpg

CH 030.jpg

CH 028.jpg

CH 029.jpg

CH 026.jpg

We saw one of the most famous sights of this city - Basel Minster, the Catholic cathedral.

CH 014.jpg

CH 017.jpg

CH 018-1.jpg

And another religious building that I especially liked because it was not an ordinary church. It is called the Elisabethenkirche.

CH 003.jpg

This church is open to everyone, regardless of what they believe. That's what fascinated me the most because I value freedom very much. This is not a typical church because it hosts various social and cultural events and gatherings.

At one of the city squares, we saw an interesting sculpture of Rudolf Riggenbach, an important historical figure of this city. Looking at this sculpture, I had the impression that I was talking to him. 🙂

CH 004.jpg

I liked the colors we were surrounded by. Each building had its own colorful stories, such as the cultural museum and the city library.

CH 006.jpg

CH 027.jpg

Or the red roses on the fence we passed.

CH 013.jpg

We came across a wedding by chance and it was interesting for us to stop and take a look.

CH 012.jpg

CH 022-1.jpg

It was so peaceful unlike weddings in my country which are very noisy. The moment they let the balloons fly was very special. Simple and beautiful.

CH 020.jpg

CH 025-1.jpg

CH 021.jpg

In Basel, I enjoyed the view of the beautiful Rhine river the most.

CH 024.jpg

CH 007.jpg

CH 023.jpg

CH 008.jpg

CH 031.jpg

The day passed very quickly and it was time to go to the bus station and wait for the bus to Zurich, which I will write about in one of the following posts. 🙂

CH 035-1.jpg

CH 037.jpg

Thank you very much for reading.

The images and writing are original and mine.

Greetings!

Jelena

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @gentleshaid ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

What a beautiful journey!

It was, indeed. Switzerland is amazing. 😊

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest TD1608.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much. I am happy to be among the honorable mentions. 🤗

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Switzerland is indeed a beautiful country, years of neutrality has preserved its wonderful architecture. The country would be among the list of ten countries I would love to visit

I'm glad to see you here. 🤗 Yes, Switzerland is beautiful. When I was there, I wanted to live in such an organized country.

Impressive shots, congratulations.👏😀

Thanks, I am glad you like it. 😊

My heart loves staring at each picture. I wanted to visit Switzerland. Looking at these pictures you shared blooms a seed in my heart to travel the place one day. 🥰🥰✨🙏

Switzerland is really worth visiting. I am glad that you got such an impression from reading my post. 😊

Wow!!
Thanks so much for sharing your experience in Switzerland and also giving us this pictorial tour.
I really enjoyed watching the pictures
It feels as though I am presently there!!
Kudos @jelenaa

I'm glad you liked my post. Switzerland is so beautiful that every view around is ideal for photography.

Amazing place ,looks how clean it is.
I will visit switzerland in my dreams hihi.

Yes, it's very clean everywhere you turn around. Maybe the dream will come true. 😊

Congratulations @jelenaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the June PUM Winners
Feedback from the July 1st Hive Power Up Day

Hey @jelenaa is this user your friend? https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@lara88/my-first-time-on-hive--self-introduction-#@jacobtothe/re-lara88-rdsetz

Is she legit? Her weekend post is fake and is not about her weekend, that, along with her overall account makes her quite questionable. Can you shed any light on it please? thanks

Hello @livinguktaiwan . I know Lara from another writing platform - readcash. She writes interesting posts there and I could conclude through communication with her that she is a very pleasant and kind person. She is a medical student. When she joined Hive she asked me to help her with some tips for the introduction post. I guess she's still exploring and doesn't know how everything works here yet. I can give her advice on how to use her photos that are relevant and in line with the community rules.